We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very appealing for tourists”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Gamboa Beach

Gamboa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not very appealing for tourists”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I took a walk round to the other side of Morro De Sao Paulo to visit the Gamboa Beach, but we were not very impressed with the beach. It is not the prettiest of beaches and was hit by a wind that swept through, the other side of the island is sheltered from the wind. The little town was not that attractive either.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank feedmymedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    669
    220
    28
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
“Gamboa in Morro de sao Paulo_ clay bath_a must-see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

During High tide you can reach Gamboa by boat in 5 min for just 2 BRL while on low tide just walk from Morro, 15 min. It is a beautiful walk, rocks, fishermen taking fish from permanent nets underwater, peers looking at the orizont, pink and yellow clay mountains where you can have clay bath while sipping fruit juice or cocktail from little kiosk of locals. Then you can swim basically alone in the see... and arrive until the peer where boats from Morro come and go and enjoy a nice dinner on the beach or walk for 5 min and get into the town of Gamboa and eat in native restaurants (such as Mira, and others along the way)
Morro is nice, but it is even nicer if you get a local guide (better if native) to tell you all about it and get suggestions on how and when to visit the islands around (Boibepa, Cairu). When there I met a very nice authorised local guide Joy who lives in Gamboa and also takes you for walks in the forests behind Morro and Gamboa for little money and advice on best place where to stay and eat, places you would actually never find on your own. His a very honest and friendly young guide, everybody knows him there, who really enjoys the company of the tourists, he speaks Italian, English, French, German and Spanish. definitely worth contacting him even when you are already there, to have a real taste of the island. Best way to contact him via Facebook page: Morro de Sao Paulo_with Joy or calling him on the phone contacts shown on the same page.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank isabella p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the walk over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fun, laid back, casual.
40 min walk from 3rd beach
"mario" was a great host (the red umbrella place)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank margie4044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro de Sao Paulo, BA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The future of Tinharé Island...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I believe that in a near future Gamboa will be the place for living here with quality of life. In Morro everything is double price compared to Gamboa. And the nature is becoming dirty because of us. The Fountain of Water of Morro de São Paulo, important 300 hundred years as the principal fountain of water of Bahia, now is a drain. But the begining of the dirty lake is a STILL CLEAN inicial lake, on the TOP OF THE ISLAND. THAT'S THE MEANING OF TINHARÉA, WATER OF THE TOP...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank afontedomorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazon Gero Tours on the beach / Gamboa such nice a nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Such a nice beach one of the best option , my daughters felt very happy it an excellente place for travellers with children I do not remember the name of the Restaurant but just infront of the beach a very good one friendly staffs Wifi for free , my children happy , happy
a charming hammock under green trees
We loved it just near to Morro de Sao Paulo
I am going to add photos when I get home

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank amazongerotou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gamboa Beach also viewed

Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare
Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare
 
Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare
Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare
 

Been to Gamboa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing