We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Che Lagarto Hostels
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great people”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed a week there and it was really great.
The people who worked there were great.
They made a lot of activities with us and they are very friendly.
It was a good atmosphere in the Hostel and they made good drinks.
The rooms are little bit small but ok.
we would come always again if we have the chance.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Baiileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    153
    47
    8
    3
See reviews for
6
39
124
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hostel is very nice, good fun, with very friendly and helpful staff. My only negative comment is about the quality of the mattresses in the dorm-rooms, I think they could be improved a bit and make the experience for the visitors even better.
My friends and myself had a great vacation there!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bochaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Good structure, but the room was very very hot. A little bit far from the beaches and the buzz. Good common parts. Not so much social activities. But the price is very good if you are not looking for a expensive trip.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RogerCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hostel is Incredible. When I was there, e feel like my own home, thanks very much for everyone.

I definitely recommend this hostel to every traveller, nice location, very clean and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiagotomasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had stayed on Morro de Sao Paulo for a week around Xmas time just around the corner from Che Lagarto and the Hostel caught my eye every time I walked past. I said to myself, if we get a chance we must stay at this spot.

It turned out that after new years we spent 1 night on Morro de Sao Paulo, so I thought I would try get my wife and I a room. The very friendly and helpful staff assisted with booking a room. I was very impressed by the service I received at reception, the young staff were efficient and organised, the systems in place were effective and my checkin was seamless.

Our room was very clean and comfortable, especially the bed and pillows. The bathroom was quite small, but it was a hostel, so all that concerned me was the bathroom was really clean!

Downstairs there was an entertainment area, a bar and a breakfast room. The bar served very affordable drinks and put popcorn out for us to munch on. There was a great vibe downstairs and I believe this was due to the entertainment facilities like the pool table and ping pong table.

The breakfast in the morning was tasty and we got to chat to the lovely black kitty cat, so friendly. When we checked out we were able to leave our bags in a secure storage area for the morning while we headed down to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feedmymedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at Che Lagarto for five nights, the booking website did not pass our booking through to the hostel so they had no idea we were coming, luckily the staff were very accommodating and immediately arranged a room for us and made us feel at ease! Great atmosphere, very good value for money, the people that work there are very helpful and really friendly, we had an amazing time! Will definitely go back, and have no problems recommending this place to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights.
At arrival I had to wash some underwear and left it to dry at the balcony over the stairs.the mext day half of my underwear was gone but the staff said they didn't find anything... Really strange.

Breakfast is really poor. Just some dry breads with nothing on it (not even butter or jam)

I would not recommend this hostel to anybody because it is expensive compared to what you get.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
#3 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portalo
Hotel Portalo
#6 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Porto de Cima
Pousada Porto de Cima
#14 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Patachocas Beach Resort
Patachocas Beach Resort
#4 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Bahia 10
Pousada Bahia 10
#6 of 120 in Morro de Sao Paulo
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Bahia Bacana
Pousada Bahia Bacana
#2 of 120 in Morro de Sao Paulo
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Che Lagarto Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lagarto Hostels

Property: Che Lagarto Hostels
Address: Rua da Fonte Grande 11, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 45428-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Che Lagarto Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and HostelWorld so you can book your Che Lagarto Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Che Lagarto Hostels Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing