We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely, friendly pousada near everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Porto de Cima
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Morro de Sao Paulo
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“lovely, friendly pousada near everything”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

There are resident pets, well-cared for landscaping, hammocks, fridge in the room. A friendly, trilingual Argentine staff. Great location close to all the beaches, but more importantly, the more tranquil side of the island.

The wifi doesn't work in the room. We were very close to the lobby area, too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMoveALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    52
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
40
140
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The gardens are absolutely wonderful but the accommodation needs updating. Restaurant in the evening was not available/advertised. The staff were very well coming and helpful.Located on an up-cline, sobe prepared to walk to the beaches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirbar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We travelled with our two small children to Morro in October for a week. Porto de Cima has a perfect location, five minutes walking on a sandy lane to the village centre with all restaurants and shops but secluded in a garden on a hill overlooking the sea. Peace and quiet guaranteed, only the waves and the tropical birds to be heard! The rooms are simple and clean, each one has a terrace with a hammock. The breakfast was very, very tasty. The cherry on the cake is the personal effort the managers put to welcome each guest, give them advice, help out with our little kids...a real antidote to mass tourism :-)

Room Tip: Room 9 has the best view, but you need to climb a hill
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LaureBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco Region, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to Salvador purely as the weather in rio wasn't expected to be that great. So we had heard very little about morro de São Paulo. With such a high rating on trip advisor, Porto de Cima was an obvious choice, and when we called they could not have been more friendly and helpful. We were met at the boat station by the lovely Luciana and taken to our room- number 9- with the best view of a little secluded bay- absolutely gorgeous! The rooms were cleaned daily and simple but comfortable. Just perfect for an island getaway, they are set in lovely gardens and feels very private. The location is unbeatable. Breakfast was delicious- freshly made pancakes and other Brazilian treats! The owners were so helpful and made it such a great stay. Our tip- spend lots of time on 4th beach and have prawns at the Piscina restaurant just before it! Paradise.

Thanks Porto de Cima for a memorable time!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Westley21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
now4steve
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Was met at the port by Lucianna when we arrived. Our luggage was handled by a local who is registered by the local tourism board. Safe and secure. Fluent English, Portuguese and Spanish. EXCELLENT breakfast. Pancakes as good as I've ever had. Highly recommended.
A+A+A+

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank now4steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here for a week. location is perfect. Short walk to beach 1-3 and almost at the town center but out of the way so its quiet at night. Individual cabins are close enough to each other to socialize if you want to, but if far away so you can keep to yourself if you want. Would be perfect for couples and singles/ groups of friends alike.
Breakfast always fresh and served with a smile. And staff goes out of their way to help you have a great time.
Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for a few nights when visiting Morro de Sao Paulo. It is a wonderfull place. A very peacefull place that is close to deserted beaches as well as the lively centre of Morro. The staff is great. They can book great boattrips for you and will arrange your boat ticket back to Salvador if you want and are allways in for a chat and like to tell you what there is to do around the Island. If you like a simple, friendly hotel with sweet people this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Femke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
#5 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
264 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Praia do Encanto
Hotel Praia do Encanto
#17 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catavento Praia Hotel
Catavento Praia Hotel
#12 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portalo
Hotel Portalo
#6 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
#2 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
#11 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Porto de Cima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Porto de Cima

Property: Pousada Porto de Cima
Address: Rua porto de cima 56, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 45428-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#3 Family Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Porto de Cima 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have five bungalows with two private apartments, each with 20 meters, with private bathroom, television, air conditioning, refrigerator, Wi Fi, and large porch with hammock, we have large double rooms, triple and quadruple. We are green in an area of 10,000 square meters with an exuberant nature, with a painting workshop. We also have the traveler's library where you can enjoy reading the various titles and subjects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Porto de Cima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Porto De Cima Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing