We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, superfriendly owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Farol das Estrelas
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Morro de Sao Paulo
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This place is not a top notch luxury resort or a boutique hotel, like some other neighbouring hotels on Morro de São Paulo, for us it was exactly right.

It is a small, budget pousada with only 5 or 6 rooms (2 with ocean view), situated on the quiet 3rd beach which is, in our opinion, the best location. The house is between the 2nd beach and all its action (bars, restaurants) and the 4th and 5th beach which are great for swimming and relaxing and much less crowded.

The rooms are simple, very clean and with A/C (we were missing a fan however). The breakfast is at the pousada next door and absolutely amazing. The best breakfast we have had in Brazil so far!

The owner, Federico, just took over the pousada and has been running it since October 2010. He is very relaxed and friendly and makes an honest effort for you to have a good stay without being pushy or overly involved.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mila_y_Joao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

We have booked 3 double rooms. But when we arrived in the third beach we found a bad surprise!
The Pousada there was not, in the some place there was a market. This Pousada is close.
I think it will be better if the website (tripadvisor) check the pousadas/hotels before.
A terrible experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesKorg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
federicobarolo, Proprietario at Pousada Farol das Estrelas, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2011

Dear James, I'm sorry for what happened. The Pousada is rightabove the market, I started managing it on Oct 1st and after a quick refurbishing we opened on oct 10. We had no evidence of your reservation with the previous management. You are my guest for a week end in a time of your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We stayed in morro de sao paulo in november 2009 with a package with hotel studio do carmo in Salvador- 7 nights.
The value of this package is good because is ALL INCLUSIVE!
The room was with a balcony in front of the sea and to stay in a place like morro de sao paulo, it is perfect!
We loved morro de sao paulo!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luism75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This pousada is very good located.
We bought (with my friends) a package Salvador/Morro de sao paulo.
The room was small but good for us.
The breakfast was good.
The location is very very good, fantastic...in front of the sea on the 3rd beach.
I would reccomended this pousada (it's better the package salvador/Morro on the site) for all turist.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benoitquesnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Nice place to stay!
The room was clean.
The beach was fantastic!
The breakfast in front of the sea was wonderful.
Many thanks to Alfredo!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed at this pousada for four nights and had a wonderful time. The receptionist is friendly and very helpful, although she speaks very little English. It seems that she was also responsible for cleaning the rooms and putting out the breakfast, and sweeping sand away. She would leave by around 6pm though, so you needed to make sure you had any questions answered by then. Our daughter , who was along with us, speaks some Portuguese, so we had very few problems communicating.
The third beach is a great location to stay as it's within walking distance of everything you need. The fourth beach would be ok if you want a lot more privacy. The fifth beach is for those who want to feel isolated and dont mind taking a horse and cart to town, which is about $R50 round-trip, less if you're a good negotiator.
The breafast was very good and included juices, fruit, cakes, rolls and some typical Brazilian foods.
Our room was very small for three people, with barely enough room to move around, but it was clean and functional. This was the same for the bathroom. Overall, I think this may be a very typical pousada in this area and we were very satisfied with our stay here.
We met a local guide by the name of Joy who we highly recommend using if staying on the island or even if coming just for the day. joy.msp@hotmail.com He speaks English! This was very helpful and we took a few different excursions with him where we learned so much about the island's culture. Highly recommended is his walking tour.
We would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gneeaugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

The pousada is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are painted with bright colors and have Brazilian pictures on the walls. If you are lucky, you can have one of the room with a sea view, where you can enjoy the continuous flux of the tides, romantic sunsets or simply the sea breeze.
I still miss the great breakfasts I used to have there: fresh fruit, juices and hand made cakes.
Perfect location: the third beach is a quiet place, very close to both the most beautiful beaches and the zone where most of restaurants and bars are concentrated.
A special thanks to Francesca and Massimo, who made our holiday really special.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pigi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
#5 of 23 in Morro de Sao Paulo
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
#2 of 23 in Morro de Sao Paulo
600 reviews
3.0 mi away
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
#7 of 23 in Morro de Sao Paulo
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catavento Praia Hotel
Catavento Praia Hotel
#12 of 23 in Morro de Sao Paulo
123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Portalo
Hotel Portalo
#6 of 23 in Morro de Sao Paulo
323 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada Villa Marraro
Pousada Villa Marraro
#9 of 23 in Morro de Sao Paulo
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Farol das Estrelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Farol das Estrelas

Address: Terceira Praia, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 40300, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range: $35 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Farol das Estrelas is located on one of the most gorgeous beaches of Morro de SÃo Paulo. The perfect place to relax, and enjoy the quiet and peacefulness of a tropical paradise. At the hotel, you will find simple rooms, in a welcome atmosphere and in the morning you will enjoy a delicious breakfast. On the 3rd beach there are various restaurants and shops. The reception desk speaks Portuguese, English, French, Spanish and Italian. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada Farol Das Estrelas Hotel Morro De Sao Paulo
Pousada Farol Das Estrelas Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing