We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laguna de los Tres

Laguna de los Tres
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.99*
and up
Laguna de los Tres Hiking Day Trip from El Chaltén
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
bay area, ca
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The weather in El Chalten is very capricious and seeing Fitz Roy very much depends on this.

We took a van from our hostel to El Pilar Hosteria and started our hike from there. I would highly recommend this - you get views of the Piedras Blancas Glacier from this and the return is a different path.

We started off with an overcast day and it also snowed for a bit. We gave up all hope of seeing the mountains . Once we reached Laguna de los tres, we hung out for a while. slowly the weather started changing and we were awarded with gorgeous views.

I would recommend the following :

- Be prepared to spend a few hours at the base. The weather can change in minutes. Some people who hiked with us left and they missed out on the views.
- Take the alternate route from El Pilar Hosteria. Ask your hostel to arrange for the bus. There are three timings that the buses ply.
- Don't carry too much water , like other places, there are streams you can fill it up . But these water sources start a few miles in. Carry enough for that initial distance.
- Hiking Poles : The return is all a big downhill , and if you want to go easy on your knees, do carry some hiking poles
- Climb up a bit more on the hillock and see Laguna Sucia . It is spectacular.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank kelvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    26
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hike!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I agree with the other reviews, it's a must do hike. Gorgeous at the top, and I'm attaching a photo of the glacier calving into the lake. The color of the lakes is stunning, and the hike, although arduous, is so worth it. Takes 9.5 hours round-trip, but really only the last bit is really difficult. We loved it, and were able to do it even though we're "older" :).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FoothillsNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
195 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is one of the must do's in El Chalten. Waking up early and checking out the sunrise on Fitzroy is a must. Colors are beautiful and the trail is well marked. Once you are the laguna, you can find a quiet place to enjoy the views.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hike”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great hike, awesome views - definitely worth the effort. Be sure to check out the other lookout that you can get to by following a track along the left side of the lake. This looks down on another beautiful lake and glacier. Can be ver windy up top.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VornC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unteraegeri
Level Contributor
234 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Most spectacular trail”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This trekking tour asks everything, stamina, physical fitness,and patience. However, when you finally reach the very top it is just amazing, a truly spectacular view of the Fitz Roy, mirroring in the ice cold lake. This is Patagonia at its very best and impressive. Trekking time 9.5 hours.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank peterp_knobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laguna de los Tres also viewed

Los Glaciares National Park, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Laguna de los Tres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing