We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fenwick Islander Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
SHINGLEHOUSE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic motel”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We have stayed in this hotel during September for the last several years. Each visit has been excellent. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The building and pool are also well maintained and clean. The staff are extremely accommodating, helpful and nice. The rate is fantastic especially for being just 1 block from the ocean. The location is in a quiet part of this resort area and the beach is never crowded which is what we like. I hope that we can continue to go in September.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomsites, General Manager at Fenwick Islander Motel, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Thank you for your review of our property. We hope that you return this year during the second -season. The rates are more reasonable and we made a number of improvements during the offseason that have been a big hit with our repeat guests.

Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    52
    24
    12
    11
See reviews for
51
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC metro area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We booked our rooms based on the reviews we read on TripAdvisor. It sounded perfect for our needs, and we were not disappointed. The motel is serviceable-- not fancy nor modern (hey, it's a motel!)-- clean rooms, a well-maintained and a well-run place to hang your hat for a few days.

We loved the canal views and felt it was worth the extra $10 per night to see the sunset and enjoy the peaceful side of the motel. The pictures on the website do not do these views justice! Lovely! The beds were comfortable, though the synthetic blankets and coverlets were not to my liking and the air conditioner was quite loud. Next time, I would bring my own blankets. Cheerful and helpful front desk and the housekeeping service was good, though we hardly let them in but once in five days. The only area that left something to be desired was the halls and stairwells, which got grungy and were not vacuumed once in the five days we were there.

The kitchenettes are functional, with microwave and fridge, but we REALLY wished there was a coffee machine in our room, since there is no good coffee to be had anywhere, except for the pricey Java Shack nearby.

Our teenage children had a room to themselves on another floor right below us, and this suited us well. We all enjoyed the motel pool each day after the beach. And the beach was really wonderful: you do have to cross the coastal highway, but it's not a bad two block walk to the lovely uncrowded beach, with sand and surf as fine as the Outer Banks in NC. This is what we have been looking for for so long: A low-key, quiet beach experience with attractions a close drive away. We will be back to visit the Fenwick Islander again, as long as it is such a wonderful, quiet, reasonable place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePardlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomsites, General Manager at Fenwick Islander Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2009
I was very pleased to read that your stay was pleasant and that our services met your needs. We pride ourselves on clean rooms and a friendly staff. We are not a flashy motel but we do have a great location and comfortable rooms. As stated in your post, our canal view rooms are worth the extra money and the website just doesn’t capture all of the views. I appreciate your criticisms as well; I forwarded the critique to my head housekeeper who has looked into the blanket situation as well as the halls and the stairwells. We look forward to seeing you next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Staying here for several years. Helpful staff, great location, clean rooms, close to the beach and restaurants. Will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktmsolja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, De
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2009

The rooms feature a small kitchen with a microwave, sink and small refrigerator. Although the towels are on the small side, the bathrooms are clean with plenty of shower water. There is only a short walk of about a block and a half to the dune and the large uncrowded beach in Fenwick Island, De. We enjoyed the motel pool in the evenings. This is not a fancy motel but a clean and affordable place to stay especially for families with small children. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoosterDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrstown
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We stay at the Fenwick Islander every year at least twice. We like to come in the spring and fall and catch the off season rates. I have stayed in a number of motels in Fenwick and Ocean City and the Fenwick Islander is without a doubt the BEST! The motel is in a great location, the rates are fair and the rooms are always clean. They have the same staff year after year from the management, clerks and housekeepers and we have got to know them very well. It's definately a family motel! The rooms on the back side are very quiet and we love to wake up and drink our coffe on the balcony overlooking the canal. We will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houndcoachmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

A real dump of a hotel. The TV didn't even work. I was probably the only one in the hotel. And, I was still given a road-front room that was noisier than the backside rooms.

The furniture and bed are old. The hotel smelled even though it was just opened for the season.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fenwick Island hotels

Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Took my family to the Fenwick Islander in August and had a great stay! The room was wonderful and the staff outstanding! From the time we were greeted at the front desk by Julie, the stay was just what the doctor ordered. The Fenwick Islander allows you to enjoy both the Delaware Beaches and Ocean City, Maryland without being stuck in the middle of the bedlam. Our room was clean and any needs we had were handled immediately by Tom and his staff. The price was so much more affordable then other local places. I know we'll come back again to the Fenwick Islander!

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Biscuit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick Island
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
886 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
366 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenwick Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenwick Islander Motel

Property: Fenwick Islander Motel
Address: Ocean Highway & South Carolina Avenue, Fenwick Island, DE 19944
Location: United States > Delaware > Fenwick Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenwick Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Fenwick Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenwick Islander Hotel Fenwick Island
Fenwick Island Islander Hotel
Fenwick Island Islander Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing