We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fenwick Islander Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value and location!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This was a great little motel located far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Ocean City but still close enough to enjoy the fun. The boardwalk was only a 15 min car ride away, but I much prefer the beaches of fenwick island. The motel was very clean and quaint. Each room has a private balcony; I paid extra to overlook the bay which was nice. The only cons were the tiny tv and bathroom, and the fact there wasn't an elevator; we stayed on the third floor, so lugging all our stuff up the stairs was a trek lol. Other than that I highly recommend it, good price for the location!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ral480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    52
    25
    12
    11
See reviews for
52
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

You have to pay for ice!!! Need I say more? I have been in expensive places and very inexpensive places... I must say this is a first fir me. Ice machine is on bottom floor only if your on 3 rd floor running up and down can get old quick. Clean but very dated. Don't bring a lot of luggage if your not on bottom floor... No elevator. Kitchenette has not stove and no dishes/ utensils etc... Staff seems friendly enough.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GIRL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fenwick Island hotels

Wilmington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

First, let me start by saying that my wife and I have stayed at the Fenwick Islander many times throughout the past years, often several times per year. We've loved it and considered it a great value (considering proximity to the beach and other motels in the area). The staff is and always has been wonderful - very welcoming, kind, and helpful. A few years ago, they updated the rooms by painting the walls and trim, painting lamps, installing new screen doors, installing new air conditioning units, wallpapering the bathrooms, painting the vanities, and installing new fixtures. This year, they added new bedding/pillows, although, I'm not impressed with the trendy new duvet covers. But one thing remains the same year after year: the old fiberglass tub/shower enclosures that just can't be cleaned. They're all filthy, caked with soap scum, dirt and mildew. After our first visit this year, we brought along Tilex and Mr. Clean Magic Erasers to clean the tub - after a half hour of cleaning, it appeared a bit better, but certainly not clean. The interior rim of the toilet also required a full cleaning (the filth that remained on the sponge was disgusting). This year, we noticed that the shower curtain had not been changed all season - same exact one with the same mold/mildew marks in the same spots. Nor had the extra blanket been changed or cleaned - ours had a very distinctive marking on it in the beginning of the season and it was still there at the end of the season. The balcony was dirty during each stay and we brought a broom to sweep the cigarette butts off of it. The newer screen doors are already showing significant signs of wear and the carpeting needs to be steam cleaned or replaced because it too has become very dirty. There are bathroom/shower facilities for guests to use at the pool and after check-out, but they're rarely cleaned and the showers/shower curtains are terribly dirty, covered in mildew. Now, I can imagine the difficulty in obtaining quality housekeeping, as it's they're typically seasonal positions, but it appears that someone is not supervising the housekeeping staff and/or inspecting the rooms prior to new check-in. Fenwick Islander, we have a long history with you and we're willing to give you another chance, but at a very minimum, please address your issues of cleanliness. We don't need fancy accommodations at the beach, but we do need clean accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJMess2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSites, Manager at Fenwick Islander Motel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words about our wonderful staff and your loyal business with us! . It is disheartening to hear of the disappointment in your last stay. I can assure you cleanliness is a high priority to us. We address any issues of concern with our housekeeping staff and will work diligently to prevent oversights to slip through the cracks in the future. We take pride in being a small, clean, family based motel. Each season we try to make improvements for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

this was our 3rd visit to the Fenwick Islander Motel in Delaware. Clean, friendly service. No coffee pot in room, but they have it in the lobby. King size bed, microwave, sink, refrigerator with small freezer compartment included. The pool is lovely and clear. The staff was great; knowledgeable about the area etc.we will certainly stay there again as we have relatives nearby. There is a Royal Farms convenience store right across the street for any thing you need . Close to beach and shops too. Take a room at the back for the canal view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back can see the canal and are more quiet. No elevator and there are 3 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmpressBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here with two small children around Labor Day. The front desk staff was very nice and you can't beat the proximity to the beach...but DIRTY!! our room was full of mold! Mold on the drapes,in the shower,on the mini fridge...everywhere. I even found half eaten crackers on the floor(that didnt belong to us)- if things like this matter to you- go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexandAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location was perfect and the cost affordable even on a busy Labor Day weekend. Beds ok. Inexpensive looking toiletries but they worked. Parking was difficult when we got home around 11 pm so I would suggest you either keep your car parked or be sure to come back early if you want to have a parking place at the hotel. They told us the parking lot fills up often. There is coffee available in the morning but no food. Plenty of place in walking distance for breakfast or a special coffee drink. The staff was friendly which helped make the stay pleasant. Also a small pool is available at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gimberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boys and I stayed here for the night this past August. The motel was very clean and the staff was friendly. We ordered some pizzas from a local pizza place and sat by the pool at the nice tables they have set up and enjoyed dinner outside. The motel is close to everything. Will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick Island
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
886 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
367 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenwick Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenwick Islander Motel

Property: Fenwick Islander Motel
Address: Ocean Highway & South Carolina Avenue, Fenwick Island, DE 19944
Location: United States > Delaware > Fenwick Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenwick Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Fenwick Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenwick Islander Hotel Fenwick Island
Fenwick Island Islander Hotel
Fenwick Island Islander Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing