We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel by the Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fenwick Islander Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fenwick Island is a land lost in time, and the Fenwick Islander Motel reflects that atmosphere.
You are neither in Ocean City nor Rehobeth or Bethany, but someplace in between.

The Islander is great for families with middlin' age kids:
Need to cross a busy road to get to the beach.
Teens love it because of proximity of the board walk in O.C.

The staff is so nice. The place is clean, though not much more than serviceable,
but for the reasonable rates, you can't beat it. Get a room with a canal view and you really feel like you have made an escape for a few days.

Room Tip: Canal Views on rear of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePardlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 152 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have been coming here for 6 years now and I highly recommend it! I always stay the first week in July for a couple days. They price is usually lower then the other motels/ hotels around. Its very close to the beach, right across the highway, in walking distance. It has a clean pool and very friendly staff. One year I got there earlier then the check in and they told us our room wouldn't be ready for at least 1 1/2- 2 hours, so we drove around and went to the beach and when we came back it still wasn't ready so they gave us a different room. I've never had problems here always good. They even remembered me when I came back a year later! I highly recommend Fenwick Islander Motel!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMBettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here during the OC Sunfest September 20 – 23, 2012. This was our third stay. We are always pleased with our stay and look forward to next year. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable, very airy feeling with a screen door that can be left open on the balcony. There is a hanging open closet and dressers with big deep drawers that hold alot. Each room has a sink, microwave and small fridge. The beds are comfy and the noise from the AC unit drowns out any street noise or noise from other guests. The tub has always seemed a little bit dirty but I think this is due to the high sand content and is maybe just some staining that won't come out. Overall room cleaniness is fine. If you are looking for luxury, like the Hyatt, this is not the place. This is a quiet, quaint motel that is a great value for the price. It is within walking distance of the beach, mini-golf and some shops; but away from the hustle and bustle of main Ocean City.The beds are comfy and the noise from the AC unit drowns out any outside noises and other guests. There is a very nice pool if you don't want to walk the two blocks to the beach. Overall this is a fine little motel!

Room Tip: Have stayed on the second floor three times, once in the front and twice overlooking the canal in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debinskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My sister and I stayed here over Labor Day weekend. The room was clean and comfortable for the most part, but could use some updating. Big deep drawers in the dressers accommodated everything we brought with plenty to spare. Tub was a bit dirty when we arrived. Not sure if it was just some staining that just can't be removed after prolonged use. Room was a great size with microwave and small fridge. Overall we were pleased with our stay and would probably stay again. However, if you are looking for luxury, go elsewhere. This is not that kind of place. It is a decent run of the mill motor inn that was fairly close to the beach. Don't expect more. We both slept very well as the beds were comfortable and the noise from the AC unit drowned out any street noise or noise from other guests. Hotel is convenient to beach, shops and restaurants. Bus service is available nearby to Ocean City restaurants and attractions. Only 2 complaints - first, we had the end unit on the 3rd floor and they had a trash can placed directly outside our room. Not exactly inviting, but they kept it emptied so it wasn't a major issue. The other minor issue was that we had to pay a quarter each time we got ice and the only ice machine was on the first floor. Very minor things. As I said, not a luxury hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. They also have a very nice pool, but we didn't have a chance to use it during our stay.

Room Tip: The 2nd and 3rd floors have private balconies, some with a waterview and some with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Fenwick Islander two years ago. It was nice, but was in need of some work. Well, they sure have been working on the place. It is newly painted, inside and out. New ceilings. Just totally freshened up. We had a king-sized bed that was so comfortable, as were the pillows. Neither of us wanted to get out of bed to go to the beach! The staff was helpful and check-in went very quickly. Perfect location. Beach is just a block away and it wasn't crowded at all---and it was Labor Day weekend. Happy stay.

Room Tip: Stay in a canal view king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glomom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stopped by to visit family staying here. The motel is very nice from what I saw. My daughter has been here twice and has been quite pleased. Location to the beach is great, one block away. The room was very clean and had nice appointments. The kitchenette has a sink, small refrigerator and microwave...just enough! Each room has a private balcony and if you spend a few extra $$$ you will have a wonderful view of the canal. Even though I haven't actually stayed there, my next trip to the Delaware Shore will be booked at Fenwick Islander Motel...it's just so centrally located.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the canal view...if not, your balcony will be facing Route 1...just depends on wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank FunPlacesToCheckOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

this was our second visit to the Fenwick Islander Motel in Fenwick Island Delaware . Pool was great. A/C in room was very musty smelling, the room got cold but was very damp the whole visit... possibly we should have complained the first day... maybe they could have changed the unit or moved us. Otherwise, the price was right, its very central to every thing we wanted to do. We would stay there again. Staff is nice. Plenty of parking.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are more quiet and have a view of the canal which is nice. NO elevator, its 3 stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmpressBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick Island
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 104 in Ocean City
955 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#38 of 104 in Ocean City
386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#73 of 104 in Ocean City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenwick Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenwick Islander Motel

Address: Ocean Highway & South Carolina Avenue, Fenwick Island, DE 19944
Location: United States > Delaware > Fenwick Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Price Range: $108 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenwick Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Fenwick Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenwick Islander Hotel Fenwick Island
Fenwick Island Islander Hotel
Fenwick Island Islander Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing