We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware”
Review of Atlantic Coast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Coast Inn
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have not stayed at this hotel. However, I made reservations for a week-end in July. We were going with other people and I needed to check with them. The reservations clerk, who might have been the owner, urged me to make my reservations in case they booked up. I asked about the cancellation policy since I knew that I might need to cancel and he told me that as long as I cancelled at least 9 days in advance of the reservation there would be no charge. I checked again and asked him if there was any cancellation charge and he said emphatically no.
I cancelled the reservation 4 days later, way in advance of my due date and at that time he told me that there would be a $30 charge per room per night. When I reminded him that I had specifically asked about this before making the reservation he told me that he had mentioned this fee when I made the reservation. Since this is a he-said/she-said situation I don't think I have any recourse but I certainly will not consider staying there.
This is an older facility and I asked questions about mold, etc. Since I was duped about the cancellation fee, I don't trust that I wasn't duped about my other questions.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank homxpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    31
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
37
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've stayed at the Atlantic Coast inn on several occassions and have never been disappointed. Just your average small, motel room, but very clean. Nice touches include a small refrigerator, microwave and small table and chairs. The pool is big and always sparkling clean.Rates are reasonable and close to mini-golf with a small boardwalk area. A good place to stay for a weekend trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Atlantic Coast Inn, in Fenwick Island, DE for a weekend visit to Ocean City, MD. This hotel is right on the outskirts of Ocean City – a quick 10 minute drive on Coastal Highway & we were in ‘downtown’ Ocean City. And The Atlantic Coast Inn was half the price of hotel rooms in Ocean City. The room was spacious and clean – 2 double beds, table, 2 chairs, dresser, flat screen TV, and microwave & coffeepot. Hotel refrigerators are usually college dorm room size. This refrig was twice that size, with a separate freezer compartment! Very nice! The room even had a back door that led to a little patio with 2 lawn chairs. The hotel had a huge pool but we didn't use it. The shower had great water pressure and the water heated up instantly. I liked that the sink was outside of the bathroom. This hotel still uses actual keys; it felt strange not to have a ‘slider card’ as a room key. There was no continental breakfast bar, and that’s okay (they’re not very good anyway). This place was great! No complaints. I’ll be staying here again on future visits to Ocean City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a king room for 1 night on August 29, 2012 based on other reviews. Although the king room had a view of the parking lot, we didn't care since we were just there for the night. The motel seems to be very old, but the room had been updated. It had a table and chairs, counter top with sink, plus microwave and fridge, which would have been great if we had stayed longer. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed. When we unlocked the door, the smoke detector was chirping. We called the office and someone was there to replace the battery within 5 minutes. Pool was large and very nice. There was also a gazebo that we enjoyed later in the evening. We will definitely stay here again. It's within walking distance of Harpoon Hannah's and Nicks Rib House. It's also a short walk to the bus station for Ocean City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayaker201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

we needed a last minute place to stay for a night at the beach, the Atlantic Coast was an acceptable beach motel. Nothing fancy, short walk across the highway to the beach. AC worked good shower pressure, mini fridge was cold enough to freeze my water (i made it too cold) bed was springy for my taste, but not horrible. Most importantly it was clean!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have stayed at more expensive hotels in Ocean city located on the boardwalk w/ocean views. They were not as clean as clean as the Atlantic Coast Inn. The front desk people are friendly and very helpful if you have questions. This was our second summer staying here,we like being on Fenwick away from the all night partying and car noise of Ocean City. Check out Fenwick Island state park seashore, for small fee you can park and they have a bath house and Consession stand.The price is much more reasonable than other less clean motels in the area.

Room Tip: We prefer the back building facing the bay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is a great hotel for the price. I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and most said that it was a clean hotel and a good deal for the money. I agree. The hotel was clean, the pool was basic but clean and nice. We rented two rooms and we were all happy with the hotel. Lots of nice families staying there. It was close to Fisher's Popcorn, several nice miniature golf courses, Nick's Rib's and several candy and ice cream stores. The beaches across the highway were nice. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick Island
0.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
904 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
321 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Coast Inn

Property: Atlantic Coast Inn
Address: 37558 Lighthouse Rd, Fenwick Island, DE 19944-4050
Location: United States > Delaware > Fenwick Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fenwick Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Coast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Coast Hotel Fenwick Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing