We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tip”

High Stakes Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good Tip”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I asked where to go in Fenwick after a visit to a place down the street left me more than disappointed. I was told High Stakes so we checked it out. I would go back. Dinner for 2 and 2 beers $20. Can't beat that! The crowd was a little older but I guess that is to be expected especially this time of the year,

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margaritasinmexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBG54, Owner at High Stakes Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Margarita,

Glad to hear that you had a good time at High Stakes. Yes, we have a very diverse crowd and couldn't ask for anything better! We make sure that customers of all ages can enjoy themselves here at any time. Please stop in and visit us again!

Thanks!
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Almost Philadelphia!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

High Stakes is a place that you would drive by if it wasn't recommended. It's not as though the bar is not attractive....it just seems like the usual place. But how wrong you would be because this place is not the usual. It is a warm local hangout that is attached to a carry out. Soft lighting comfortable bar seating - both at the bar and tables that will accommodate 10-12. The menu is made up almost exclusively of sandwiches, bar food and a few salads. The deal here is their subs! Wow... I am a Baltimore boy so I know a thing or two when it comes to places using local food names....there are VERY few place that sell Maryland Crab Cakes that even resemble Maryland Crab Cakes and the same goes for Philadelphia Chesse Steaks. Most are nothing more that some thinly sliced "steak" on a run of the mill sub roll. Well High Stakes is different. They bring in all of the meat and the rolls from Philly. The meat is rib eye cut paper thin and cooked with onion and peppers if desired and you have a choice of provolone or Cheese Wiz.....Cheese Wiz is the bomb and the rolls are just special. They use these rolls for all of their subs including the huge Itailian...salami, cappicola and pepper ham along with provolone and your choice of topping. The salads are large and come with a number of meats or cheeses. The price for thes culinary delights? Cheese Steak - $7.75, Italian $7.50, Salads @ $6.50 not to mention that domestic pints are $1.50 during the long happy house 11:00 Am - 7:00 PM. Serice is quick and friendly. If you are looking for a good sandwich and cold beer without Ocean City prices you have to come here. BTW there are not taxes on you food or drinks in Delaware!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ComeflywithmeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBG54, Owner at High Stakes Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hey Comefly,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoy HSBG so much... Don't expect anything to change anytime soon. We are thankful for your business!!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best deals around!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a great little bar with weekly specials, my favorite being Mini Mondays. Mini steak (& veggie) sandwiches for about $4. You can't beat it. The rolls are so fresh! Sometimes, my husband orders 2!

Get in there on Tuesday & you'll be $2 for any bottled beer - another great deal!

They also host bands on the weekend so you can hear some great local musicians, like Lower Case Blues and Chris Button & Joe Mama. It's a fun spot right our Lighthouse Road.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leesem25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBG54, Owner at High Stakes Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Leesem,

Thanks for reviewing us. We are glad you enjoy our specials and our entertainment. We try to keep everything as fresh and entertaining as possible. Hope to see you again soon. Check our website for our full 2013 entertainment schedule!

Best,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claymont, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peppers???”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

food above average---never have seen green peppers on a philly cheesesteak-lived in south philly for 40 years-go to 9th and wharton

bartenders only take care of locals

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelseytydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBG54, Owner at High Stakes Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hey Kelsey,

Funny that you say that about the green peppers and you are absolutely right. People LOVE them down here! At first we didn't carry them but there's was such a high demand for them that we had no reason not to. We do our best to bring in what our customers want... both local and not!

Thanks for your review!
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worth going everyday”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

every summer i stay in selbyville close to fenwick island, about 15 minutes from highstakes, and i honestly have never had a better cheesesteak. (and my winter home is near philly). so this is great, i dont even think any food was over 10 dollars. my favorite is their fried pickle spears, going beyond the simple fried pieve of a pickle...they do the whole thing! after about two visits, melissa (one of the employees) remembered the names of everyone in our family, and greets with a big smile. no matter how crowded our food ALWAYS gets to us very quickly, and the entire staff keeps an eye out for refills, or missing condoments. also after i waitress at a resturant in oc, i always stop for a carryout on my way home , and they never take longer than 10 minutes. wonderful people , only thing odd is that the crowd is usually 50+ , but my parents love it because they feel like the youngest hottest things there. i highly suggest everyone stop in to this wonderful locals bar

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OCgirlxo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBG54, Owner at High Stakes Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hey OCgirl,

Thanks for such kind words. We are very thankful for you and your family stopping by. We get all kinds of wonderful crowds of all ages in here, it's great! Our take-out stays busy and we do our absolute best to give the same service that we would in the restaurant side. See you soon!

Thanks!
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Stakes Bar & Grill also viewed

Fenwick Island, DE
 

Been to High Stakes Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing