We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Not Great”

Twining's Lobster Shanty
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bowie, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This place is packed every night so I figured it must be awesome. It was good, but not great. The lobster cake was very good, but the crab cake was undercooked. My son ordered oysters and was constantly picking little bits of shell out of his mouth. I'd go back, but there are better restaurants in the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank dtb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    144
    59
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Neck, Delaware, United States
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Views, Delicious Lobster Salad”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I've been to the Lobster Shanty twice for lunch and I haven't been disappointed. The views out over the bay were fantastic! I've had the lobster roll both times ($15). It is served on a fresh butter grilled roll and comes with chips and a small coleslaw. My friend and I decided to share the Chunky Lobster Guacamole as an appetizer ($12). It comes on a platter with a small compote of the lobster guacamole (delicious) and a second compote of the pico de gallo (salsa) along with taco chips. It is a meal in itself! Of course the service was terrific! My only caveat does not deal with the restaurant it deals with my cars navigation system. I plug in the address and both times it delivered me to an address about one block away from the restaurant. If this happens to you just be aware and look for the yellow building bay side, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Egg Harbor
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Although this was not one of the best meals I've ever eaten, the service was. We had one of the best waiters ever, Karl. He was very personal, explained items on the menu, came back often to check on us --just a super guy!!!! The wings were fantastic (a suggestion from Karl), tossed in butter and Old Bay seasoning. We then shared a lobster and mac meal, pretty good, a little dry for our taste. Will go back again when on vacation next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chocolatemartini2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Food was good, a bit noisy inside”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Here in October on a beautiful weekend, no wait being seated. Had chowder, mussels, and the duo salad, which has shrimp and lobster on it. All was quite good, service was prompt and pleasant. No complaints.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VATraveler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good Food, Spectacular Sunsets”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We dined here in early October, and were treated to a spectacular sunset over the bay on the shore side of Ocean City's barrier island sandspit. The food was about average for a beach restaurant, the usual mix of seafood and burgers. My lobster and shrimp combo was well prepared, with Old Bay spice on the shrimp. The lobster was just slightly over-cooked, but then, I like my seafood really juicy, so your taste may find it just fine. Others in our party of 4 raved about the shrimp salad plate. My wife thought her chicken wings, tossed in an herbed Parmesan sauce, were, "Interesting. Good." In all, a great place to watch the sunset and bay birds, with good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twining's Lobster Shanty also viewed

 

Been to Twining's Lobster Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing