We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Way to Have Fun”
Review of Coastal Kayak

Coastal Kayak
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coastal Kayak is the most experienced rental, tour and instructional business at the beach - since 1994. Coastal Kayak rents kayaks, Stand up paddle boards, and sailboats. They also offer guided kayak & Paddle board tours to all areas of Delmarva including the back bays of Rehoboth Beach, Bethany Beach and Assateague Island. Coastal Kayak also offers instruction from ACA certified instructors in both kayaking and paddle boarding. In addition CK is a certified "Pro School" of the American Canoe Association. CK has over 125 kayaks, 50 paddle bords and 6 catamaran sailboats all available for rent directly from their bayside beach rental location. Call for hours off season 302.539.7999.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Way to Have Fun”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was my birthday present. And let me tell you, the perfect gift. I came here with 7 members of my family, and we rented 3 double kayaks and 2 singles. Although we did not go on a tour, we still had a great time exploring the bay. You can go at your own pace, so this is ideal for pretty much anyone. A few members of the family even spotted a horseshoe crab near the shore. If you love to go fast and test yourself, feel free. Or, if your the laid back kind, paddle out, sit there, and just relax. The equipment is in great condition, the staff is informative and friendly, and the prices are very reasonable. This is a great place to be and I truly recommend this during your tip to the shore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    10
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Snarky Employee Ruined It For Us”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This small business has a lot going for it. The location is right off Coastal Highway and is on a picture perfect part of Little Assawoman Bay. The prices are very reasonable and the equipment is in good condition.

We were a party of 11 people, including five kids between 8 and 15 for whom this was their first paddleboarding and kayaking experience.

Their experience was ruined by the employee who gave them their quick lesson. He belittled them for asking simple questions (should we were shoes?) and gave them sarcastic answers. In short, he made our children stupid in front of all the other customers there and he did it on purpose.

I find it hard to believe that the business owner, who was there and was told about it, did not go out and fire him on the spot. Poor customer service has a ripple effect: we won't go back there, we will tell friends and family not to go there, and we are putting our experience out there via Trip Advisor.

Coastal Kayak has a lot of competition. They may have made a few bucks on us today but we will do what we can in the future to make sure other people aren't abused by their staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank 9-0-nylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch m, Owner at Coastal Kayak, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I did speak with this man who came in and said our employee had belittled his children. His comment then, and what he wrote in this review, shocked me. In the more than 10 years that this particular employee has worked for us we have never, ever heard a negative comment about him. Just the opposite - he is one of our best liked and most requested employees. Kids especially like him because he is like the grandfather that every kid wants - fun-loving, teasing, yet so enthusiastic that he wants everyone to love these activities as much as he does. Every business owner should have an employee that takes as much pride in his work as this man does.
Because we are always trying to improve, we take customer complaints seriously. Superior customer service is extremely important to us. After discussing this with our employee, we are 100% certain that this was a case of our employee being misinterpreted. So while it makes me so sad that this particular customer had such an incredibly bad experience in the five minutes he was listening to our employee that he desired another person to lose his job, it would make me sadder still if this particular employee, who has had a stellar record with us, were to lose his enthusiasm and sense of humor over this comment.
At Coastal Kayak safety is our number one concern but we also like to have fun. Our goal is that every customer who visits us has a great stress free time and that we will be the highlight of their vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We rented a 2 seat sit-on for 5 days while down for the week to see if we then would want to purchase one of our own. We were able to paddle from there to our trailer. The people are great and so helpful. A good place for families and beginners. We did end up purchasing one just like the one we rented and love it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluewater76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great people”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

we rented 4 sit-on kayaks with intent of staying out 1 hour. there was a sudden rain storm, which cut our trip down to 15 minutes. we hurriedly paddled back to the rental office, soaking wet. the nice lady behind the counter checked our time out, and saw we were soaked, and said "No charge!"
we will definitely go back when the weather is more accommodating and kayak some more..

would definitely recommend.. Oh, rental costs are way less than at most other water sport rental places in the region as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were aimlessly driving around on vacation when Coastal caught our eye. This was an amazing experience. The instructors give you a quick rundown and then the bay is all yours. The prices are unbeatable, and the experience itself was something I won't forget. Definitely give this a shot if you come by it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Kayak also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing