We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Mermaid Dive Center tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Mermaid Dive Center
from $65.00
More Info
Resort Course
1 Review
from $90.00
More Info
from $120.00
More Info
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
298
38
19
17
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
38
19
17
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat captain lion fish refresher course watermelon great diving diving experience the reefs safety stop safety oriented these guys marine life octopus visiting aruba awesome experience wendy hubert carlos
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 396 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2016

I was a scuba instructor at one point and I had been out of the water for about 11 years. Called Mermaid up and they told me I should do a refresher before going diving, which I agreed to.

Carlos picked me up at the hotel on time and Wendy got me to set up my gear and go through the motions. It was very nice doing all of this in a controled environment before heading out to the sea. Great shop service and customer service up this point.

The average part of the experience, even though the dive itself was very nice, was the sheer lack of any kind of briefing from the divemasters before the dive. They simply told us to suit up and be ready to jump in 5 minutes, the time it took the boat to reach the dive site. No pre-dive safety checks, no directions as to how we'd be entering the water, method of descent, geography of the dive site, marine life, what do to if separated, and so on and so forth.

I could tell they were pretty eager to get it done in 30 minutes, and so it was. I could say I had a good time, despite of the divemasters. Boat captain was nice.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Rodrigo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

My wife and I have been diving with Mermaid for nearly 10 years now and could not be happier with another shop. Wendy and Carlos take great care to make sure the dives go well. Reading the reviews over the years it seems some people don't like the safety talk Carlos does before each group goes out, but my wife and I always appreciate it. This is a great shop that values safety and who does not like that? If there was room for 6 stars I would give them. If you are looking to dive in Aruba you cannot go wrong when you choose Mermaid divers.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank jason48353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Diving since 1983 many dives. However; been out of water for a while. Took their refresher course. I recommend. PADI has added a few new aspects for safety.
Mermaid runs a safe operation from start to finish. Carlos and Wendy the dive team and captain are great. All equipment including boat worked as you would expect.
Dive packages and prices are good. I am planning another Aruba trip in February.
Mermaid divers are a key to my dive plan

Chuck Gunter
South Carolina

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank rebarguntet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

In July 2016 i went with a friend for diving to Mermaid Dive Center. Carlos and his Team were very nice, friendly and helpul. Security is the first rule, so I was not able to dive, because my last dive was a bit ago. But this was fine and went instead to snorkel. You feel the passion from Carlos and we enjoyed the stay with Mermaid in total. Unfortunately, on the boat they went into a bit time delay because preparation tooks bit longer,i guess, and after the first dive the atmosphere changed from a happy to rough team. we were a bit shocked. for the second dive everything was under pressure and the stuff not that friendly like in the beginning. Even I feelt that the dive was much shorter to get into timetable again. But maybe this was an exception.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Kerstin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

I am a 20+ years PADI DiveMaster and Master Scuba Diver, with over 400 dives. I mention this so that you can distinguish this review (with every respect) from one from someone new to diving who might be thrilled with rather less.

I dived on three days (6 dives) with Mermaid, with my wife (who is newer to diving - OWD with 20 dives) in May 2016. From our very first interaction with the company when we booked our diving online in advance, it was clear that this was a well-organised outfit.

We went to the dive centre (which is just off the main 1A/B road) the day before our first dives to look it over, and to fill in our waiver forms. We met the business owner Carlos, who is an out-and-out diving professional (commercial diving background). The centre is lovely with small pool, seating area, and BBQ (see photos). The shop is reasonably well stocked, and the rental kit in very good shape. We were offered free hotel pick-up, but chose to drive to the shop each day (for our convenience).

Mermaid does two dive trips most days - a two-tank in the morning and a one-tank in the afternoon. Each is preceded by an intelligent safety talk from Carlos. It is factual, helpful, and (frankly) overlooked by some companies I have dived with. You are made to feel REALLY safe. Carlos's took us in a beaten-up minibus from the shop to the boat, which is located in Oranjestad harbour 10 minutes away. The dive boat is my favourite sort - big enough, but not too big (hate RIBs for diving). It holds 8-12 divers perfectly. It has a fresh-water shower (hose), marine head and easy access points at the rear.

Hubert drives the boat (really nice man) and there are a couple of dive leaders. We thought that Caniciou was a truly FANTASTIC 5* dive leader. Really knew his stuff, and where to look for interesting sea life. He taught me to spear-fish for (the hated) lion fish, and we caught three - which he fed to morays.

There are some great dive sites here - we liked the DC-3 wrecks the best. But all six dives we did were excellent with lots of sea life to enjoy.

When all was done, we stamped our dive logs, and Carlos gave us a Mermaid t-shirt each (free) as a souvenir. In my opinion, this is a perfect dive centre and I highly recommend it to you.

If my review has informed you, please reward me with a "Helpful" vote - thank you.

Date of experience: May 2016
7  Thank StephenGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews