We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Mermaid Dive Center tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Mermaid Dive Center
from $65.00
More Info
Resort Course
1 Review
from $90.00
More Info
from $120.00
More Info
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
298
38
19
17
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
38
19
17
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat captain lion fish refresher course watermelon great diving diving experience the reefs safety stop safety oriented these guys marine life octopus visiting aruba awesome experience wendy hubert carlos
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 396 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2016

In July 2016 i went with a friend for diving to Mermaid Dive Center. Carlos and his Team were very nice, friendly and helpul. Security is the first rule, so I was not able to dive, because my last dive was a bit ago. But this was fine and went instead to snorkel. You feel the passion from Carlos and we enjoyed the stay with Mermaid in total. Unfortunately, on the boat they went into a bit time delay because preparation tooks bit longer,i guess, and after the first dive the atmosphere changed from a happy to rough team. we were a bit shocked. for the second dive everything was under pressure and the stuff not that friendly like in the beginning. Even I feelt that the dive was much shorter to get into timetable again. But maybe this was an exception.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Kerstin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

I am a 20+ years PADI DiveMaster and Master Scuba Diver, with over 400 dives. I mention this so that you can distinguish this review (with every respect) from one from someone new to diving who might be thrilled with rather less.

I dived on three days (6 dives) with Mermaid, with my wife (who is newer to diving - OWD with 20 dives) in May 2016. From our very first interaction with the company when we booked our diving online in advance, it was clear that this was a well-organised outfit.

We went to the dive centre (which is just off the main 1A/B road) the day before our first dives to look it over, and to fill in our waiver forms. We met the business owner Carlos, who is an out-and-out diving professional (commercial diving background). The centre is lovely with small pool, seating area, and BBQ (see photos). The shop is reasonably well stocked, and the rental kit in very good shape. We were offered free hotel pick-up, but chose to drive to the shop each day (for our convenience).

Mermaid does two dive trips most days - a two-tank in the morning and a one-tank in the afternoon. Each is preceded by an intelligent safety talk from Carlos. It is factual, helpful, and (frankly) overlooked by some companies I have dived with. You are made to feel REALLY safe. Carlos's took us in a beaten-up minibus from the shop to the boat, which is located in Oranjestad harbour 10 minutes away. The dive boat is my favourite sort - big enough, but not too big (hate RIBs for diving). It holds 8-12 divers perfectly. It has a fresh-water shower (hose), marine head and easy access points at the rear.

Hubert drives the boat (really nice man) and there are a couple of dive leaders. We thought that Caniciou was a truly FANTASTIC 5* dive leader. Really knew his stuff, and where to look for interesting sea life. He taught me to spear-fish for (the hated) lion fish, and we caught three - which he fed to morays.

There are some great dive sites here - we liked the DC-3 wrecks the best. But all six dives we did were excellent with lots of sea life to enjoy.

When all was done, we stamped our dive logs, and Carlos gave us a Mermaid t-shirt each (free) as a souvenir. In my opinion, this is a perfect dive centre and I highly recommend it to you.

If my review has informed you, please reward me with a "Helpful" vote - thank you.

Date of experience: May 2016
7  Thank StephenGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016

My husband and I are relatively new divers, and we did the 3 dive package. It was our first trip to Aruba, and we had no idea what to expect. From the first email I sent asking a bunch of questions to the dive experience itself, Wendy and Carlos were incredibly kind, helpful, and professional. They picked us up at our hotel which saved us time and money. Canicio, Hubert, and the other dive guides were very professional and top notch divers. They are very safety conscious, but know how to have a good time They point out interesting animals and reefs underwater so we don't miss anything. They made us feel at ease and helped when needed. I learned how to be a better diver on this trip, while enjoying the amazing views!!! We will definitely be back, this entire company is so fun, professional, and the ideal company to dive with!!!

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Ewink456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016

This is the second year I have used Mermaid dive center and its the only place I will use while on the island. Very friendly and professional and safe. Last year I was going to use them and I obtained an injury and could't dive so they graciously gave me a credit for this year. They dive the south side of the island which is the best side to dive.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

Did a four day package dive with these wonderful people . Eiight GR E AT dives, wonderful boat, great equipment. Canicio is a GREAT dive master, professional. Made sure everyone was safe and taken care of. Captain Hubert was always there to get us quickly out of the water at the end of the dive. Entire staff and owners are friendly and helpful. I wouldn't dive with anyone else.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank nikkiln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews