We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant--surprising for a shopping mall location”

White Modern Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
White Modern Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 53 Restaurants in Noord
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant--surprising for a shopping mall location”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at White Modern Cuisine. Very imaginative menu, prepared perfectly. The staff was attentive and well informed about the menu selections. Despite its shopping mall location, this was a very chic restaurant and not your typical Aruban (or other tourist destination) eatery. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    80
    38
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Exceptional”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here for dinner. Everything was delicious and meticulously prepared. Highly recommend the seabass.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We did much research on dining options for our most recent trip to Aruba and we were so happy to have found a new restaurant. The restaurant concept and menu looked great, however it was the most disappointing restaurant experiences we have actually ever had. We booked a reservation for 2 and was seated at a table right behind the bar, next to the kitchen and bathrooms. Not very appealing. Among the chatter of the staff, we could hear the clatter in the kitchen. But we were very excited about the menu so we put our seating location aside. We waited 15 minutes to get our waiter who was flitting about (the restaurant is not very big). Once we finally ordered our drinks, it took another 15 minutes, at least, to receive them. The specialty drinks were too bizarre and just tasted disgusting with hard bubbles floating in them. Once we finally ordered our appetizers and our main course, it was another 25 minutes before we received our cold appetizers. Then another 20 minutes for the main course. In mid meal of our main course, which was actually great, we asked for the check. Knowing full well that we would be waiting some time to get that. While the restaurant boasts their 'plating', they should focus more on their timeliness and temperature of food as well as their staff management. Sadly we will not return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant Paradise in Paradise”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just came back from a great week in Aruba. Everything about the island is wonderful and I guess the reason we have been back for the past four years. Last year, we found this gem of s restaurant in Aruba. This year, we again stayed at the Hyatt and White is just up the street. I guess if you go to a restaurant three times in a week, it must mean that you love the place That is the TRUTH.
It is not just the great food, but really how it is prepared and served. It is more a work of art then just food. We had a table near the open kitchen and to see how they carefully place just about each ingredient on the plate is captivating. Tastefully prepared, artfully served and so delicious.
Special thanks to Xalsky our server on two occasions and a special "well done" to AJ, the genius behind the bar who doesn't just serve drinks, he crafts them with style and lots of tasteful substance . We will be back to both Aruba and of course White Modern Cuisine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IraK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“White for my birthday”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

It was my birthday and I choose White since it had so many great reviews on here. After waiting quite a while for our table when we were finally seated the wait told us they were out of 3 out of 4 fish dishes on the menu and also a few other things. At that point after looking over what was left to order we told the waiter that we would not be staying for dinner and instead of a least offering an apology or trying to explain something else on the menu, he just said ok and let us leave. In my book one strike and you are out and White you are OUT! There are to many other good restaurants in Aruba.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fifigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Modern Cuisine also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to White Modern Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing