We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food in Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe 080

Cafe 080
Ranked #21 of 51 Restaurants in Noord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Really nice people, food Dutch hutspot, really nice. In holland the say: Stampot.. Friday.. really busy we meet a lot of new friends... Thanks for the good time crew cafe 080!!!!
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food in Bar”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great home style Dutch food - but in a "beach bar" setting. We were lucky that no one was smoking - it is allowed - that would be my only concern. However, you can eat outside - smoking allowed there as well. My wife having lived in Holland says this is the real Dutch food that people eat at home - meatballs, sausage, stompot (sp?) - basically glorified mashed potatoes, French (or if you prefer Dutch) fries covered in a variety of sauces. All of patrons were local Dutch - kind of like a Cheers (TV show) crowd. Will certainly return - even if we have to put up with a little smoke.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCJCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Neighborhood chill”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Aruba is all about tourism and resorts, but if you get a few blocks away you find a different island. 080 Cafe is simply a great locals hangout, Dutch expats and islanders. I'd driven past several times and was intrigued to stop in. I finally did and it was just what I expected. Friendly staff and clientele, good music, and great food. Not 5 star cuisine, but great food to go with a cold beer on any evening. Highly recommend owner Jaap's handmade meatballs and kroquets, and the frites (fries) are better than McD's. When in Aruba I always stop by a couple times a week.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

A Dutch bar with great people and great food, great atmosphere.
Crew is very spontaneous, help full well tell you all tips and tricks on and around the island

Helpful?
Thank Rene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great find, friendly staff and yummy bar food...”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great find away from the madness of the high-rise hotels, with locals and expats. Service is attentive, friendly and quick. This is a great place to try Dutch bar food and meet friendly locals ("Hello Janice and Andre!"). We will be back on our next trip!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dirigible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New favorite hang-out spot in Aruba”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Cafe 080 is now our new favorite spot to chill when we go to Aruba. Though it is a predominantly Dutch bar, the owner, Jappe and the other patrons are fun, welcoming and just all-around great people. Great atmosphere is a quiet area of Noord. Tasty bar snacks and well-made drinks. Just an all-around great place away from the typical tourist traps. As a restaurant worker, I like that its mostly an industry bar, so the prices are not outrageous like in Orajanestad or Palm Beach. I will always go back to Cafe 080, and I will tell all of my friends to do the same! Thanks for a great experience Jappe and see you next year...probably every night!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pilotgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 080 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 080? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing