We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite places to eat in Aruba” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wacky Wahoo's

Wacky Wahoo's
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in Noord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Near all the high rise hotels, just up the street from a Wendy's
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places to eat in Aruba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been to Aruba three times now and every time I go back, I make this a must stop. Their fresh sea food prepared uniquely by the chef/owner is to die for. Do not bother looking at the menu... just get the chef's special or the fresh catch of the day. I love washing everything down with local Balashi beer (brewed in Aruba). This place is tiny and is always packed. I highly recommend going between 5-6pm if you don't want to wait in a long line but strongly suggest that you make a reservation before showing up. It is actually a must. Be patient when you call them as they don't always pick up (too busy serving customers) but it's well worth the effort to get there. Also because they are very busy, there's no wasting time. They will prepare you a fresh meal (very hot plate) quickly so don't spend too much time sitting at the table hanging out as many others are eagerly waiting to sit and enjoy the meal. Again, it is well worth the visit - so check them out next time you're in Aruba. Just don't forget to make a reservation! :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,341
    341
    103
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favorite place on Aruba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This was the only place my girlfriend and I ate at more than once on our trip. We both got the catch of the day Wahoo fish, and it was perfect. The fish is cooked perfectly, and the sides are wonderful, I like the baked plantains on the side. It's small and crowded inside, and can be rather noisy. We never made a reservation, but I would suggest making a reservation. If e ever go back to Aruba, this will be my first dinner stop for the night. The service was also excellent, everyone was very friendly. Great service, great food, and the best fish on the island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank captaind172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The food was amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This small restaurant easily accommodated our party of 9 people, including 5 children. The swordfish special was the best fish I ate all week. The non-fish eating children loved the fettuccine alfredo. It was a nice walk from the high-rise hotel area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rastack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Favorite place to eat in Aruba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is wonderful! It is the best bang for your buck for sure. Fresh fish everyday. The German chef is formerly from the Buccanear. It is walkable for the North eagle Beach area or about 6ish dollar cab ride.

When your arrive Aruba make sure you get reservations for this place since it is quite small and sought after. For starters the ceviche is a very healthy helping and delicious. An app for two for sure. Too much for one person you will see.

Daily specials that they will thoroughly explain to you. The mixed grill platter is a great sampling of fresh seafood. It is a very filling dish. Any dish will be worth your time and sharing as well. The location is next to a sex shop. Dont be alarmed. This place is the real deal. The attention to detail, the presentation, and the food is full of flavor. Don't make a rookie mistake and miss this gem of a place. The locals will eat here too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hyperboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson
Level Contributor
144 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great fish dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Wacky Wahoo provides a large serving of fish and very nicely prepared al dente vegetables to accompany it. Seating is a bit crowded and it can get noisy, so this is not the place for a quiet, romantic dinner. But it is the place to get a generous sized, well prepared, tasty fish dinner. This restaurant is always on our list when we come to Aruba. Serving size, preparationa nd taset earn it a five star in my book.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joesunshine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wacky Wahoo's also viewed

 

Been to Wacky Wahoo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing