We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wacky Wahoo's

Wacky Wahoo's
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Noord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Near all the high rise hotels, just up the street from a Wendy's
Burlington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This restaurant was highly recommended to us but we were a bit disappointed. We made a reservation from home for 7:30 but had to wait outside for 20 minutes for our table. We don't mind waiting if there is a bar to sit at but the restaurant is so small there is no room. The tables are very close together. The portions here are very generous so I didint have an appetizer. My husband had the black bean soup. It was good. All our fish dinners were good but they cook with a lot of butter. The vegetables were too buttery. They have an amazing spicy sauce you can have on the side. The rice with black beans was tasty. Once we were seated the service was good. If you want an inexpensive fresh seafood dinner with no atmosphere then this is the restaurant for you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanceBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,374
    346
    103
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We call it "fusion of Aruban Cuisine with Western Cooking". But most importantly, the fish is fresh. Wacky has never disappointed us. The fish is amazing! Only the vegetables on the side can be done better. Highly recommend!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberlyRooijakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wicked!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This resto was highly recommeneded .We made reservations which you need a week in advance.Don't delay ! The food was PHENOMINAL! I would definately go back. I had the Conch with spicey shrimp and my wife and friends had the Wahoo. Cooked to perfection! Service was impeccable. No complaints here. A definate must if you're going to Aruba.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Epicurean seafood without the 'tude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a find! We had a great meal of fresh Wahoo, Caribbean lobster tail and yellow fin tuna. The tuna was blackened and probably the freshest serving I have ever tasted. The Lobster and Wahoo was in a garlic basil lemon butter sauce and equally fresh. The salads and plates were colorful aesthetically pleasing to the visual palate. Wait staff was attentive and food was served hot with minimal time between courses. The black bean soup was good but not exceptional as were the main courses.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arguseyes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the time or money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Sad to say but this restaurant is not as good as reviews have recommended. After years of returning to Aruba I finally gave this place a try with family. Long turnaround time, had to wait 30 minutes above our reservation. The Wahoo was tough like rubber, the ceviche was ok, I have had 10 times better and its pricey. Wife an teens left half their entrees. A small diner not worthy returning to and service needs a touchup.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wacky Wahoo's also viewed

 

Been to Wacky Wahoo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing