We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood with a home cooked feel”
Review of Wacky Wahoo's

Wacky Wahoo's
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Noord
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Near all the high rise hotels, just up the street from a Wendy's
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great seafood with a home cooked feel”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you're looking for good seafood...look no further. The fish special depends on what is caught on a daily basis at Wacky Wahoo's! This is the real definition of fresh caught. It can be challenging to get a reservation, but our concierge (we stayed at the Marriott Stellaris) had no problem getting the time that we wanted.

The restaurant is very small and only has approximately 20 tables, so the seating is tight. It can get a little loud, but my wife and I never had to raise our voices too much in order to hear each other. All of the waiters and waitresses work together to make sure that you are getting taken care of in a timely manner and are very friendly. All of this said, the food had a real home cooked feel to it. We both had the special for the evening - fresh caught wahoo filet with a lobster ravioli on top with a side of plantains, vegetables, and cornbread palenta..AWESOME! We've been to Aruba 4 times and never ate here, but now it will definitely be a staple for our upcoming visits. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TatG024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,428
    354
    108
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The other reviews correctly state that the decor is friendly without being special. But that shouldn't keep you from coming. Our meal was amazing. There were six of us at dinner and each was delighted with their dishes. Our server, Harold, accurately described each dish. The ceviche appetizers were huge and filled with amazingly fresh fish. The blackened snapper was off the charts. We had a terrific time at Wacky Wahoo's and can't say enough good things about our meal there. It may be a few blocks off the main Palm Beach strip, but don't let that stop you from dining at this restaurant!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ansnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island,ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Deeeelicious!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband, 2 young sons and I ate here last week. We called our hotel concierge, giving him 3 choices and to pick a place for us out of barefoot, wacky or pinchos and he chose this without hesitation. We walked there from the holiday inn and were seated immediately. They didn't have a children's menu but they let our boys split a dish of filet mignon and spaghetti which they devoured! I had the ceviche which was amazing. Hubby had the grouper aruban style and I had the snapper grilled-we would have licked our plates if we could!! I also had a reasonably priced cosmo and hubby had a huge mug of balashi. Wish we had a restaurant like this at home. Oh and service was top notch!!

Helpful?
Thank starjules76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzyqeue
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best fresh fish on the island”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you want truly the freshest and best prepared fish on the island go here. Their fish is caught fresh each morning so the fresh catches of the day (there are usually about 4) depend on the ocean conditions that day. Each day is a surprise! The night we went it was barracuda, grouper, snapper, and tuna. You then have the option to have the fish prepared in one of four options, or you can choose an a la carte entree. This is definitely a popular place so make a reservation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzyqeue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome restaurant!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Very small, so you need a reservation. The food is awesome. Very fresh and made to order. A must try in Aruba!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ladyfish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wacky Wahoo's also viewed

 

Been to Wacky Wahoo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing