We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of Villa Sunflower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Sunflower
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Noord
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I spent one week at Sunflower, and I would come back anytime. I was staying in a nice studio with outdoor kitchenette offering all the convenience one needs before and after returning from the beach. I think, some of the negative reviews that point out there is no hot water do not relalize that this is customary on Aruba unless you go to much more expensive places such as the high rise hotels, which charge more for that and more for other things that are actually free at Sunflower (such as high speed internet, snorkeling equipment, etc.). You get a lot for what you pay at the Sunflower.
Independent of the studio, the grounds are very beautiful and the pool is just gorgeous. The owner (Rienke) works hard to provide a sunny, pleasant atmosphere all around. I paid $55/night and highly recommend this place if you are after value (I've been to Aruba many times, btw.)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jirin1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    3
    2
    9
See reviews for
12
22
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2010

I just spent the most relaxing five weeks of my life at the Sunflower Villa. Rienke and her staff certainly know how to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. I loved the studio with its small private terrace, the well-kept grounds and the magnificent swimmingpool. For those of us who like to feel at home away from home this is THE place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilafeatherston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth ma
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2010

IT funny after reading one of the rieviews I happen to stay in the Orange room with two guest and they love it, it was very comfortalbe and I slept like a baby. The service and just feeling at home in the sun by the pool was awesome, no crowd of the hotels and the fighting over chairs.....what a way to spend a vacation relaxing like it should be, just a walk away from the beach and no rental car needed, I love my stay and I will be back each year, I just hope the Orange room is arrivable...Jim

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmac8061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We had an unfortunate experience of booking a stay at Villa Sunflower based on their website - pictures and description looked good. That is until we actually arrived to Aruba and saw the place for ourselves - the rooms were completely unsanitary, the pool area was unkept. No hot water in the shower, mildew, air conditioner is barely working, roaches creeping in all the time, dogs barking. This place completely ruined our vacation.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo37, manager at Villa Sunflower, responded to this review, June 15, 2009
Hello Jennifer247,

I can't find any reservation of you in December 2008, so i can't find which studio you used in that time.

But i think your message over here may be with a another name.

At first.

We are all doing a job, and we'll try to do it as good as possible.
We've got a pool man, cleaning lady, and a technical service.

When something is not like you expected, please tell us, then, and only then, we have a possibility to change or explain something.

When people leave our Villa, and tell us having a good time, thanks, see you next time, we don't know, we don't learn....

About the airco.

We constantly try to explain people that when you turn your airco on, and the door and / or windows open, the airco won't work.

You will be surprised how many people turn the airco on 16 deg Celcius. and the windows open 30 deg Celcius.It won't work....

Roaches creeping in.

It's a tropical island,
We do what we can, provide bug spray (for free) and for the rest, keep your studio clean, don't keep your food on a table, or on the floor. That will help a lot.

The first thing to remember is that you rented a studio, that means that there isn't a person walking behind you, like in a hotel.
When you drop your towels on the floor in the morning, you'll know where to find them in the evening.

We change towels and linnen 2 times a week.
But when you need something, please ask.

For know, its a pitty we can't figger out who you are, so we can't do anything at the moment.

but who ever you are, sorry for your vacation, and please, in the future, where ever you stay, and you're not satisfied, tell the people, or send a email when you're back home, they are there to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We booked a room for 7 days but were out in 24 hours, as soon as we found a hotel. The room was small and dirty, no proper ventilation, bugs and roaches creeping in. Toilet did not work well and neither did the shower. Linens and towels were dirty as well. We were shown other rooms but they all were in similar condition. Photos on the website completely misrepresenting the property. Also, we posted on villa sunflower's website our negative review and it got deleted right away. So, don't go by the guestbook reviews - they are made up. Have we known this, we could have saved a lot of money on last-minute hotel reservation but at least our vacation was saved.

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven5689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo37, manager at Villa Sunflower, responded to this review, June 15, 2009
We did it in person, and again by this website.

Sorry whe were not be able to give you the studio you expected.
And i'm sorry for the bugs and roaches in a tropical country.

But i didn't read anything about your expenses in Sunflower Villa.

Pick-up service, $15 for free
The night in the studio $ 65, for free.

We gave you the maximum discount (100%), and i'm sorry to read how and what you did, but not what we did about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

I and my wife stayed for 3 days on a studio in Aruba Sunflower Villa. If you are the kind of traveller that don’t need 5 star luxury accomodation and like to have your own kitchen, this is a good place to stay. Why spend 3 ou 4 times more money in a hotel if you probably will be out the most part of the day? Aruba Sunlower is well located, close to the Marriot Hotel, on Palm Beach. Of course, for the price, don’t expect to stay in front of the beach, but walking, you will take only 5 minutes to reach it. The Bus Stop is even closer and if you don’t have a car, it is very convenient. We only rent a car on our last day, to explore the rest of the island and return to airport. The ambient is very familiar and the owner (Mrs Rienke) was very helpful and friendly. She has 3 smart dogs (female) and we did’nt hear any barking at night.

We asked for the airport pickup (U$ 15,00), and Mrs Rienke was expecting us at Airport on the scheduled time (7:00 AM). The path to the lodging was like a city tour, with Mrs Rienke explaining us the main attractions of Aruba. On arriving, she prepared a coffee for us. As we were there in low season, we didn’t have any problem with early check-in and late check-out.

We were asked to turn off the airco when leaving the apartment and not flush our toilet paper. We don’t see any problem on these environmentally correct recommendations. Altough there was no hot (boiling) water, the temperature of the shower was warm, ideal for a confortable bath.

The swimming pool is big and excelent for swimming day or night.

I think that Aruba Sunflower has a good cost-benefit and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 9, 2005

We stayed at the Aruba Sunflower for 6 nights this past week. I would not recommend it to anyone. The photos on the wesite are very misleading. When we arrived, we got shown our apartment and were in shock. There was bug spray and a fly swatter immediately when you walked in. We were told that we could not flush our toilet paper under any circumstances. There was construction being done to make another apartment on the already crowded property so it was very loud all day. You have to ask for towels and can only get them if the lady is home at that time. Everything there is line dried so the towels and sheets are very rough and smell kinda funny and I think the sheets might be 150 thread count. Also, there was no hot water and our shower did not work very well. (on Aruba the fresh water is stored above ground so the water was not cold - just room temperature) There is no maid service on Saturday or Sunday. The person who owns the place stays on property and has three dogs who bark a lot and are not very well mannered (don't set anything down or it's gone). We tried to get a hotel room after we saw the place and stayed there one night, but most were all booked up and the few that were left were VERY expensive (over $250 a night). We had family on the island who had a hotel room so we went over there and borrowed towels and showered most of the time. I would recommend saving up a little bit more and staying at a resort - you get what you pay for.

Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noord
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,993 reviews
0.0 mi away
Perle d'Or
Perle d'Or
#17 of 28 in Noord
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Del Rey Apartments
Del Rey Apartments
#8 of 28 in Noord
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sebrina's Resort
Sebrina's Resort
#20 of 28 in Noord
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#4 of 4 in Noord
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sunflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sunflower

Property: Villa Sunflower
Address: Rienke Bosch-Wentink | Salinja Cerca 25e, Noord, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Noord
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Noord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Villa Sunflower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sunflower Hotel Noord
Villa Sunflower Caribbean/Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing