We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Papiamento

Papiamento
Ranked #8 of 53 Restaurants in Noord
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $45
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We went here on our first night (first time in Aruba) and loved it. I didn't get a table around the pool as I had requested, but the ambience is still there. I had the lobster, Mahi Mahi on the stone and it was delicious. The only negative were the little leaves falling into our food and a bird pooped on my arm (we were under a tree and it was 10:30 at night so it was unexpected). I had finished eating so it didn't freak me out (and wasn't their fault). I immediately told my husband we should go right to the casino since the last time a bird pooped on me, I won a 50/50 raffle. Well he played his birthday (an hour away) on Roulette and hit twice. Paid for four nights of nice dinners for my family of five. We were also treated to a tour of the inside house which was very nice. We will definitely be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,029
    376
    198
    77
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenlawn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“enjoyable atmosphere; not inexpensive”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice looking outdoor seating area enviroment, but seats were resin chairs covered with table cloth-type material. We were seated under a tree that kept dropping seeds of some sort on our table. I had to keep my water glass covered to prevent these seeds from getting into glass. Live music the night we were there; food was very good, but not inexpensive.
Good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevesully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We hadn't heard much about Papiamento but as soon as we arrived we knew that we had found a special place. It was absolutely beautiful with all the trees. I highly recommend food on the stone. Without a doubt, one of the best restaurants in Aruba.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidB1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Table around the pool was romantic, food was great. Ate seafood on the stone, had a great bread pudding dessert. Took a walk through the "home", loved the old feel of the place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gumb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible food, amazing atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Papiamento is by far the best restaurant we've been to on Aruba. It is situated in what looks like the backyard of a home- the tables are set around a pool and under trees. It's breezy but not as much as a beach restaurant on Aruba. The food was absolutely amazing. We ate the honey goat cheese and tuna tartare appetizers which were both delicious. My husband had the champagne casserole- which had scallops, crab and some fish fillet in a champagne cream sauce with cheese- heavy but amazing. Mine was the Cazuela (sp?), shrimp and lobster in a coconut milk sauce that was light and aromatic. The favors were perfect. Even the whole okra and island purée (plantains, maybe) were perfectly delicious. The wait staff were attentive, friendly and courteous. All in all, a perfect meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W4536BNemilyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papiamento also viewed

 

Been to Papiamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing