We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Old Cunucu House

Old Cunucu House
Ranked #11 of 53 Restaurants in Noord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant while looking for another, but were happily surprised! The service was top-notch, and the food was quite good - try the Beef Stew - it was awesome!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaSandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    225
    78
    40
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

What a cute place and the service was so friendly! Okay, I'm a sucker for authentic and locally owned restaurants and this place definitely hits the nail on the head. Yummy Keshi Yena, fantastic drinks, great pan fried grouper, delicious pumpkin soup, and a fantastic outdoor area. I loved it.

This isn't fine dining. It's local Aruban cooking at its best! Thanks to Yasmine (I'm sure I'm spelling that incorrectly) for her great service!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LKCandACC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Local Aruban Food”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We asked a local Aruban for a suggestion of a restaurant with local food, and where the Aruba's eat dinner, and we were very pleased. The setting is local and cozy, with seating on a covered deck. The food was excellent, and the service was even better! Jasmine makes you feel like a guest in their home. Also ask if there are specials not on the menu, as we had two fabulous desserts that did not appear on the menu. The location is 5 minutes from the high rise hotels, The food is reasonably priced and well worth the money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siikajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice and cosy place with more authentic atmosphere”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had nice lunch here with my family. Place is something different among other "multinational restaurants" in Aruba area. Food more local/authentic and house with it's history is very interesting. Do not visit here in hurry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A Genuine Dining Experience!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Old Cunucu House was truly a wonderful dining experience from the waitstaff to the food and hospitality. Jasmine and Corey were wonderful hosts providing us with information about the island, as well as a delicious meal. We had a group of four and all had the traditional chicken dish, which was absolutely amazing. The chef even came out to meet us so we could share how wonderful it was. Lovely little restaurant with a welcoming atmosphere, a must visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly1387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Cunucu House also viewed

 

Been to Old Cunucu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing