We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like dining at someone's home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Cunucu House

Old Cunucu House
Ranked #12 of 51 Restaurants in Noord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Like dining at someone's home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

The food here was very, very good. The ingredients were fresh and well prepared. The service was very personal and prompt. We appreciated that it was almost like going to dinner at a friend's house. And, as a couple of added bonuses, it was not crowded and it was not expensive (and in Aruba, that's amazing).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agatha56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    224
    78
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
254 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service in a Quaint Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We visited the Old Cunucu House twice whle we were in Aruba. The first time our food was excellent, but the second time it wasn't quite as good.

First visit: I had the whole pan fried snapper that was cooked the Aruban way. It was served with vegetables, plantains, and a corn dish. My husband had a grouper filet that was also very good. Evruthing was so good that we decided to return.

Second visit: We both had broiled grouper filet with the same sides that were served on our first visit. My fish was salty and the sides were cripier. I wonder if there was a different cook. The food was good (other than the salty fish) but different. We also had flan for dessert. It was just okay.

There is seating inside and outside. The weather was wonderful, so we chose to sit outside. Both provide a nice atmosphere. The place is really cute!

The restaurant is a couple blocks off th main street in a neighborhood. Just watch for the sign and drive a couple of blocks. Look for the place with the little lights.

If traveling to Aruba, I would go again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cshager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Next trip, we’re dining here twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We love trying local cuisine on vacation. We had lunch at The Old Cunucu House our last day in Aruba. I wish we would have eaten here early in the week, because we would have come back for dinner another day. This restaurant is off of the main hotel area, it is a peaceful place where you do feel like you are a guest in someone’s home. The owner is Mireila, she is a lovely hostess and a talented chef.

Rather than bread, the meal started with wedges of pancakes and butter. It was a nice change of pace. We had asked for an authentic Aruban dish and Mireila recommended the Catch of the Day (grouper) pan fried. It was a nice portion of fish and was wonderfully light and crispy, with great spices, perfectly prepared, not greasy at all. It was served with fresh vegetables from Mireila’s garden, rice, potatoes and a wedge of fried plantain and fried cornbread. Every item tasted fresh, skillfully prepared and seasoned. I am a fan of spicy hot food and here they had a hot pumpkin sauce that was fantastic on my fish, it kicked it up a notch! And now we’re fans of Old Cunucu House, too! This place is one of our ‘have to go to’ restaurants for Aruba.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Found this place while we were poking around the neighborhood where our hotel was (Coconut Inn) and we're glad we did! Super tasty Keshi Yena and pan-seared barracuda. Service was well-paced and lovely. We also told lots of locals that we went there and they all said that it was one of their favorite spots! Great looking place and very authentic.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“real local food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

we wanted to have a taste of real unique food!we had iguana soup!!is like chicken!!then we had red snapper fish!!delicious!!!and also my husband had a piece of goat!!we love it!!!we spend around130$.the place is nice but not on the avenue,also they had a guy who was playing the guitar and he did it very very well.you must prepare your tips!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank nenann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Cunucu House also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Old Cunucu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing