We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salmiyah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The Movenpick is always my first choice when I travel to Kuwait. The rooms are large and always clean and most have balconies that overlook the hotel's many pools.

As a business traveller I typically need quietness and Internet - this can't always be guaranteed at this hotel. Loud families and sports teams sometimes take over the hotel. Though reception is quick to deploy security when called, guests don't always heed the warnings. All rooms have free Internet but wifi is only available in the lobby. On my last trip I was told that wifi is coming to the rooms within the month.

The most attractive feature of the location is a popular string of restaurants that line the front of the hotel. You don't have to drive to dinner!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindyOaksAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khadija M, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Windy,

Thank you very much for your comment . Your feedback will be shared with the Front Office Manager and his team, to make sure they allocate quiet rooms far from the noise for all business travellers.

Thank you for staying at the Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait and looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 910 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had Friday brunch here last month where we really enjoyed Beef Wellington perfectly cooked and barbecued lobster. Outside of these 2 the selection seemed pretty ordinary and the service and furnishings did not measure up to peers like The Regency and the Missoni.

OK but needs more consistency and to perhaps a bit of refurb

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Lewis_Ma_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khadija M, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Mr. Lewis,

Thank you very much for your comment and feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Beef Wellington and barbecued lobster. Our Executive Chef and his team will make sure that they are always available . Meanwhile, if you have any suggestions of other food items we can include please let us know.

With regards to the furniture, we are currently finalising a project to refurbish all the rooms and the main areas of the hotel .

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I recently stayed at the Moevenpick Al Bida'a in Kuwait for a few nights. Check in was speedy and courteous. I had a large, comfortable room and was greeted with a nice fruit plate and large bottle of sparkling apple juice.

For being my first stay at a Moevenpick, I was a little disappointed. The trouble was in the details. The room had a kitchen with sink, cupboards, hotplate, tea kettle, microwave, but the dishes consisted of one mug, one plate, one glass, one fork, one knife (with the fruit). There were makings for tea and coffee, but no spoon and no other dishes to use if I wanted to eat in. The mug was a strange shape and spilled or burned my hand every time.

When the room was cleaned, I had used both tea bags, but they didn't replace them. They didn't replace my washcloths/face cloths in the bath. Not everything was in working order...

I was on a business trip. There was Internet, but not wireless in the room--fortunately the concierge pointed out that I might pick up the lobby wifi if I faced my balcony because my computer has no ethernet port. This must be an increasing issue with so many people owning iPads and other tablets these days.

Then the buffet food was okay, but outrageously expensive--14 Dinar or nearly $50 for quite varied, but so-so food, even more with water and a mocktail added in. I would stick with a mocktail overlooking the water at moonrise and walk out to eat at the nearby restaurants. There was good pizza and salad at Pizza Express and surprisingly nice salads and tapas-type food at the oddly named Prime and Toast. And there's a Pinkberry for tart frozen yogurt.

I slept well and had pleasant encounters with staff. I just wish it had a little more polish.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khadija M, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Mrs. Heather,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us .

For the kitchen appliances and utensils, we would like to let you know that we do provide them upon request .

And regarding the WIFI, we are currently working on a project to improve the signal and will be ready very soon.

Thank you again for staying at the Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here on business for several weeks. I changed rooms several times hoping to find a quiet room, but to no avail. Outside the rntrance layout of the hotel is a small oval shaped car park, which runs from the entrance roundabout to the hotel reception. Traffic builds up here easily and cars are parked badly. At night, (when the locals come out), traffic jams and cars that are stuck in their parking spaces sound their car horns without any regard for the guests staying in the rooms surrounding them. If they are not sounding their horns, they are revving their overpowered engines in their expensive cars. Usually its at it's worst on Wednesday through Saturday nights between 11pm and 1am. Just when you are about to nod off asleep you'll be woken by the car horns outside your room. One fellow was right outside my door beeping his horn at 12midnight, literally meters from where I was lying down! Thats just the noises outside the room.....
Inside the room the AirCon rattles, the fridge is squeeling, and I can hear the people in the room next door using their shower/toilet/sink which is probably the most annoying of all because its right behind the wall on the other side of the bed. I switched the fridge off but had to use it a few times. I ended up having to turn it off and let the food go warm because the noise was so loud I couldn't sleep.
I tried other rooms. But for single room they are all the same. LOUD
Apart from the noise, the hotel is quite good. Breakfast is excellent and the staff are very friendly. The swimming pools are very nice. Its in close proximity to restaurants at the front of the hotel which is handy instead of relying on the hotel restaurant dining.

But its just too loud....
I didnt sleep properly, and I colleagues staying here all said the same.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with quiet AC, quiet fridge and away from the entrance road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crank1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

......................right next door to Chilis and TGI Friday's!

Having spent three very pleasant nights here, I can really reccomend this hotel.
Breakfast is served from 6am and all tastes are catered for.
Rooms are comfortable and the quiet air conditioning keeps you at a pleasant temperature all night; despite the 41o/c here currently. Beds are comfortable. Free internet. balcony over-looks the beach / sea.

Located 30 mins from the airport, the hotel will arrange to collect you personally.

All staff met very faultless........well done!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. They have lots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _forevergreen_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I arrived very early in the morning from Dubai at about 04.00am.
Check in was very pleasant and helpful.
Got to the room and was happy to have a sea view.
Bed was comfortable but room was a little sparse with few power sockets. It was quite obvious that this is actually a family holiday hotel and I had made an error. The wifi was awful in the room although ok in the lobby - annoying.
The next day was free as my meeting was in the evening. I decided to stay by the pool. I was completely alone and although the pool is large and clean the furniture and umbrellas are of poor quality and seriously corroding.
A few more people arrived and children played but absolutely no one approached me and asked if I needed anything. I wandered down to the water's edge on the beach and the sea looked filthy and cloudy.
This is not a 5 Star hotel, it's a family 3 Star and needs to get its act together on the detail or it will remain half empty. These problems plus the law against alcohol probably mean it won't attract many foreign visitors in a Dubai way.
Finally, the room rate was over £200.00 which frankly is outrageous given what I've just written.
'Mocktails' in the bar are fine...... if you're 9 years old!
It is what it is and I would suggest that any business visitor sticks to the main names in the city.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Welcome to the funniest hotel I ever tried?
I booked a 3 bedroom, ambassador suite in this 5 stars hotel, since I am paying 800 dollars per night, I expected to have an acceptable standard, I know in Arab region (except Dubai) the star rating always fake?
The funniest think that you cannot get ac cooling for the 3 bedrooms at the same time????? Why I booked 3 beds , since I will use one only with the sitting area?
Terrible and not even 3 stars, I feel sorry for the money I will pay???
The hotel engineer suggested to close 2 air grill by news paper till the bedrooms is cool enogh????????
Very old interior finishing, maybe the last refurbishment is 15 years ago.

Room Tip: try to avoid the 2 and 3 bedrooms suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maldeiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmiyah
0.3 mi away
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
#1 of 14 in Salmiyah
613 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
10.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#8 of 72 in Kuwait City
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#2 of 72 in Kuwait City
602 reviews
9.5 mi away
Safir Hotel and Residences Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait

Address: Al Taoun Street, Salmiyah, Kuwait City 22084, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City > Salmiyah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salmiyah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salmiyah
#3 Business Hotel in Salmiyah
Price Range: $228 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait is situated on a stunning beach with white sand merging into azure waters. Located just 15minutes from Kuwait International Airport and ten minutes from Kuwait'swell-known shopping district in Salmiya, the hotel has a location that suits business and leisure travellers alike.With 280 rooms, five pools, two restaurants, two shisha terraces, a 200-metre private beach, health club, kids club and spa, Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a is a delightful destination for a day, a weekend or longer. Furthermore,wireless internet access is available in all rooms and public spaces of the property, including the beach area.Shopping destinations, restaurants and a cinema complex are also located nearby for those who would like to discover the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel And Resort Al Bida`a Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing