We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The funniest hotel I ever tried”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Salmiyah
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“The funniest hotel I ever tried”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Welcome to the funniest hotel I ever tried?
I booked a 3 bedroom, ambassador suite in this 5 stars hotel, since I am paying 800 dollars per night, I expected to have an acceptable standard, I know in Arab region (except Dubai) the star rating always fake?
The funniest think that you cannot get ac cooling for the 3 bedrooms at the same time????? Why I booked 3 beds , since I will use one only with the sitting area?
Terrible and not even 3 stars, I feel sorry for the money I will pay???
The hotel engineer suggested to close 2 air grill by news paper till the bedrooms is cool enogh????????
Very old interior finishing, maybe the last refurbishment is 15 years ago.

Room Tip: try to avoid the 2 and 3 bedrooms suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maldeiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    229
    80
    33
    35
See reviews for
276
81
49
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Hotel layout is more like a cheap US chalet hotel than a 4* property. The hotel is poorly maintained and very dirty. The furnture in the rooms is cheap, tatty and looks like an after throught and needs to be replaced immediately. My room had a full size white fridge that had been stuck in the corner and looked completely out of place and a complete mess. The sea view rooms are better but still reminscent of a 2* hotel in the US and UK.

The pool is also poorly maintained and dirty with light fixtures floating on the surface!!. The areas around the pool are filthy and dont look like they have been cleaned in months. The breakfast is also extremely poor and cheap with a limited selection of healthy food options such as skimmed milk, low fat yogurts and decent muesli.

The gym is good and the gym staff very good. The beach is a mess and guests are unable to swim in the sea because of a sewage problem!. All in all the hotel is poorly maintained, dirty and in urgent need of a makeover. Realistically this is probably a 2* hotel but prices do not reflect this.All in all a hotel to avoid. The Regency and Hilton Beach Resort are better options and also the soon to open Jumeriah Messila.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best option of a low overall standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is beautiful from the lobby to the room. The staff is always ready with a gracious smile to handle any of your needs. I would stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool are most beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khadija M, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Lynn 1980,

Thank you very much for your comment and looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Although I went to Kuwait for business and stayed in Movenpick Kuwait Al Bida'a which is perfect for families. I stYed one night and my room had direct access to the pool. Excellent food and good service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binshakir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khadija M, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Mr. Binshakir,

Thank you very much for your comment and looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The suite was very good and the service was great. Breakfast buffet was nice as well as room service

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I visited Kuwait for a business combined personal trip and stayed at here as it was conveniently located to both the office place as well as the residence of a relative of mine. The hotel as it is was located on the beach front with wonderful and uninterrupted views of the Persian Gulf from most of the restaurants.

The rooms were spacious and the welcome basket of fruits and Arabic sweets was the icing on the cake. Talking about the breakfast, it is probably one of the finest and sumptuous breakfast spread I've ever experienced in other hotels across the globe.

If one doesn't want to enjoy food at the hotel, there is a huge strip of restaurants and cafe's right on the doorstep of the resort. No matter how many times I shall visit Kuwait, I'll always prefer this hotel to any other.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazilbadrudeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Had breakfast here this week with a friend. The restaurant downstairs has a full sea view, beautiful view at any time of day! The sevice was fairly good, regular tea/coffee top-ups & change of cups were offered. The buffet had a lot of variety but lacked some basics like maple syrup for the pancakes and only 1 type of sambosa (cheese) & again the stuffed saj (bread) was only available in cheese too. Either it's a cheese loving chef was on duty or they lack imagination. The hostess was polite and gave a 10 minute notice to each table prior to closing the buffet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmiyah
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
0.2 mi away
The Regency Kuwait
The Regency Kuwait
#2 of 13 in Salmiyah
532 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#10 of 69 in Kuwait City
612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#8 of 69 in Kuwait City
439 reviews
9.4 mi away
Safir Hotel and Residences Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait

Property: Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
Address: Al Taoun Street, Salmiyah, Kuwait City 22084, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City > Salmiyah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salmiyah
#3 Business Hotel in Salmiyah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salmiyah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait is situated on a stunning beach with white sand merging into azure waters. Located just 15minutes from Kuwait International Airport and ten minutes from Kuwait'swell-known shopping district in Salmiya, the hotel has a location that suits business and leisure travellers alike.With 280 rooms, five pools, two restaurants, two shisha terraces, a 200-metre private beach, health club, kids club and spa, Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a is a delightful destination for a day, a weekend or longer. Furthermore,wireless internet access is available in all rooms and public spaces of the property, including the beach area.Shopping destinations, restaurants and a cinema complex are also located nearby for those who would like to discover the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel And Resort Al Bida`a Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing