We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Food at its best in Kuwait!!”

Zafran Indian Bistro
Ranked #14 of 99 Restaurants in Salmiyah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Kuwait City
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Indian Food at its best in Kuwait!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Me and wife always complained about the Indian food in Kuwait always tasting the same so we tried Zafraan on the insistence of my boss who is also a huge fan.

Ambiance is pretty ok but can be a bit loud and we felt the glaases looked like Candle holders.

We started with the Kebab platter which was really nice with different kind of meats. The mutton kebabs were gently cooked being tender yet firm to bite. The fish kebab was perfectly spiced with mustard paste & spices and being from East India we just loved it.The single prawn was a let down as we wanted more. And the Chicken Tikka after all this felt standard, The mint Chutney was fresh and we were happy it had no curd in it. JUST THE WAY it should be !!:)

We ordered the Bread Basket in which we chose the Cheese Naan , Butter Naan and the Paneer Kulcha. The Butter Naan was nice and the Cheese Naan was ok. But the Paneer Kulcha stood out and we loved it even without the curry. The curry we ordered was the Lucknowi Ghost which in one word was completely divine. Perfectly cooked and the lamb was perfectly done rather than being too Tender. Spices were perfect as we had had asked our dish to be spicy and rather than being only hot we could really get the flavor of the spices.

The icing on the cake was the Gajar ka Halwa. We ordered one to be divided between myself and wife and loved it so much that we went ahead and ordered one more. We completely recommend this for anyone visiting and love it from the bottom of my heart.

Including drinks i.e. Diet Pepsi and Water our bill was around 16.5 KWD.

Service was impeccable and we were left to our antics and had someone attending to us as soon as we finished with our courses. Servers were happy to inform us and we are definitely going back for more especially for the last Iftar Buffet this weekend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank runtothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    38
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Upscale Indian Food”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The food here is not cheap, but not overpriced for what you get. There are some unique combinations of flavors that will tickle your tastebuds. It's not traditional, but it is Indian. And it is good. The atmosphere is also great. Beautifully decorated restaurant and they have take away and delivery!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ATbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
120 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Expensive Indian nothing like the real thing”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Living in Malaysia and having worked in India often I have become accustomed to good Indian food. This is my first experience of Zafran but it will be my last. Nice looking restaurant but food is not their strength. Overly sweet curry, slightly moist Naan and mint leaves decorating the rice that had turned black (some time ago I reckon). I am sure there are better places to eat Indian in Kuwait. At least I hope there are.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chlli-Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A decent Indian restaurant- best dal makhani in Kuwait”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Living in Salmiya, I regularly order from Zafran just as I used to from its predecessor in the same location called JUNGLE.

The Positives:
1. The best dal makhani in Kuwait is to be had here. They call it Dal Bukhari on their menu but that is another matter :-)
2. Ambience and decor - Unlike the Jungle, the decor of Zafran is aesthetically well done - well spaced out tables and a good ambience overall. Nothing fancy like Soul and Spice in the Mariott downtown, but still impressive nevertheless.
3. Service - good service quality, consistently.. both in terms of home delivery as well as dining in the restaurant.. good staff... polite.

The negatives
1. Smaller food servings than expected - The Zafran staff have spent a lot on enhancing the ambience and decor of this place. Commendable. But I have observed a steady decrease in food servings.
2. Price - Zafran is not as inexpensive as is sometimes portrayed. A decent meal for 2 comprising of 1 dal bukhari (my favorite), 1 shahi paneer and 4 breads (kulchas and rotis) comes to around 6 KD.
3. Limited vegetarian options. A glaring example of this being seen in the absence of something as standard such as MATAR PANEER. The non vegetarian options are quite wide...

OVERALL, A GOOD PLACE TO HAVE INDIAN FOOD...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PrinceAnuraagMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of Salmiya!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

When we went to Zafran, we didn't know what to expect. This used to be the Jungle Restaurant before. The place is beautiful, they did such a good job renovating it. The service was superb, and the waiters went our of their way to make recommendations and accommodate our requests. Then the food came, and this was the best part...it was simply delicious! I had Indian food in India on many occasions, and this place just does it right. Everything we had was just perfect. With so many overpriced and poor restaurants in Salmiya, it is nice to have one that we can always go to when we are in the mood for excellent Indian food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Neptune-salacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zafran Indian Bistro also viewed

 
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Kuwait City, Kuwait
 

Been to Zafran Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing