We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the first time”
Review of The Regency Kuwait

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Regency Kuwait
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Salmiyah
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not as good as the first time”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Regency on a long weekend.. Unfortunately it was not as good as the first time we stayed there... I made the reservation for a junior suite online through (I Prefer) website and at the time of check in I arrived early before my husband and I gave all the documents to the reception desk (my ID + my husbands ID + the marriage certificate) later on when my husband arrived they refused to let him in saying that the suite is reserved for single occupancy!!!! I had to speak to the reception and find the person who checked us in then they apologized and allowed him in. Later at night my husband went out and when he came back again they refused to let him in until I spoke to the reception again!! Another issue was that when I reserved the suite through IPrefer website it mentioned that I was allowed to access the executive lounge and that the minibar inside the room was free of charge but when I checked in they said that they have allocated a slightly bigger suite for me and so they will not allow me to use the executive lounge and I have to pay for the mini bar use!!!! And they called that an Upgrade!!! The first time we stayed there our overall experience was pretty good although we faced some problems which I didn't mention in my first review as I thought that it was minor issues and I have contacted the manager regarding those issues and they have promised me to resolve it. Unfortunately the I have experienced the same issues this time, which I reported again and there was no action taken to resolve it. One thing was the lighting issues as the lightnings buttons were a bit odd and when you click on the toilet light for example the room light would turn on ! we experienced the same problems during both stays. Also they still have no tea/coffee facilities and we needed the kettle for baby food as my baby was with me this time so we had to bring one from home. On the other hand the room was great, the staff is very friendly and the breakfast is magnificent.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the Deluxe rooms with great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Muneera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Dr. Muneera,

Thank you for your feedback which we reviewed following your recent visit. You have experienced a list of concerns which I consider to be of the greatest importance.

As a hotel which is operated under Sharia’a law we are attentive to ensuring that the appropriate check in procedures are completed to guarantee that the guests staying in each room comply with regulations. Unfortunately on this occasion you have arrived separately from your husband and a miscommunication between shifts has caused this misunderstanding. In many ways I am happy that our team is observing the correct process, but I apologize that we have caused you inconvenience.

As a return guest we value your loyalty and thank you for your returning to The Regency. We recognize loyalty through offering our guests an upgrade and, without doubt, this includes the benefit that applies to the upgrade level.

As far as your observations on service levels and your experiences I have implemented immediate changes to ensure improvement.

Tea and coffee making facilities are available in all suites and for families with small children we are, upon request, able to supply kettles.

I appreciate your positive comments regarding rooms, staff and breakfast and would ask that you contact me personally on 2576 6666 or gm.pa@theregencykuwait.com to further discuss your thoughts.

I look forward to hearing from you and hope to see you back at The Regency very soon.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    89
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
83
50
23
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have just had a night stay during my business trip to Kuwait in this hotel. I really enjoyed my time without any problem and full support from each and every staff. So supportive and motivated. I seriously appreciate the manager created this atmosphere. Internet was easy to access and use, entire facility is very nice, full of roses around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuriye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Nuriye,

Thank you for the valuable comments on Trip Advisor. We noted your very kind and positive comments, for which we are very grateful.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and do hope we can continue the good work.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at The Regency, Kuwait.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana,Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been traveling all over the world but it is almost impossible to have such a great service that The Regency hotel in Kuwait offers. We were all very happy for choosing The Regency.
Comment goes as well to the food which is absolutly amazing.
No need to mention the General Manager Aurelio Giraudo which is after our opinion one of the best hotel managers

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Katarina,

We were delighted to read your positive comments posted on Trip Advisor!

We are extremely grateful for your kind compliments about the hotel services and quality of food we have shared these with the management and associates.

Thank you for taking time to offer us your valuable comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at The Regency, Kuwait.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our stay in The Regency has been very pleasant. Staff was very knowledgeable and helpful, service was striking the right balance perfect execution and pleasant communication, and the place is the best place in Kuwait we have ever been. The professional exclusive business atmosphere offers also a relaxing experience on a personal level.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BusinessTraveler028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Maastricht,

Thank you for your valuable comments on Trip Advisor. We noted your kind and positive comments, for which we are very grateful.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and do hope we can continue the good work.

Thank you once more for the useful feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon at The Regency, Kuwait.

Thanking you,

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

WOW, it’s a small expression about the bed available in the room. after traveling 3 hours from Dammam i have just put my back in the bed and take small nap. it is the best soft bed ever i have laid on. in addition the breakfast was fantastic with a lot of variety in the food and even fresh food make in front of you. i love the stay and i will recommend to visit the hotel as it is the best one and near to a lot of restaurants on Gulf Street

Room Tip: Best Location is Infornt of Beach Don't Lose the View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Fahad,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and recommend us so highly.

Thank you for taking time to offer us your valuable feedback. We are grateful for your kind compliments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Regency!

Yours,
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

"Amazing location and atmosphere... I heartily recommend it!
Everything is perfect: comfortable and very clean rooms, excellent quality service and availability of the staff. A very special thanks to Ram!"

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Mariachiara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Mariachiara,

Thank you for your excellent review on tripadvisor.com. We have noted your very kind and positive comments, for which we are very grateful.

We have shared your kind praise with Ram, all senior management and associates. Thank you for putting forward your review.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Regency!

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I am still staying at the Regency and have been here for three weeks so far. It is a super hotel, excellent food and super facilities.

The staff are simply the best that I have come across for a long time. Friendly, helpful, polite. I would like to mention people by name but the list would be too long to be practical.

I simply cannot fault this hotel...........oh, perhaps I can and only because I have stayed here for so long - I wish they would change the music played at breakfast sometimes!

I would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maric960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Tszil,

Thank you your wonderful review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you are enjoying your stay at the hotel and would stay here ‘again and again’.

We noted your comment regarding the music played at the Silk Road and have advised the concerned Manager to look into the matter, as thanks to your suggestion, as of today the ‘Fur Elise’ melody has been changed!.

We hope you return soon to The Regency!

Yours,
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmiyah
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
3.3 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#3 of 69 in Kuwait City
501 reviews
10.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#10 of 69 in Kuwait City
606 reviews
8.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Kuwait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Kuwait

Property: The Regency Kuwait
Address: Al Bida'a, Al Tawoon Street, Salmiyah, Kuwait City 22012, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City > Salmiyah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salmiyah
#1 Business Hotel in Salmiyah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salmiyah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Regency Kuwait 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Kuwait, a five star deluxe property, is Kuwait’s most exclusive hotel and the ideal haven for both business leaders and discerning leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Regency Kuwait reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regency Kuwait

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing