We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but OK”
Review of The Masada Hostel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ein Bokek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Masada Hostel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The name of this place is "youth hostel and guest house" - I think that what's meant is dormitories as youth hostel and private rooms as guest house. We travelled in three, so the only reasonable option for us in Dead Sea region was either of the 2 youth hostels here. The hotels here, including those in kibbutzim, have no rooms other than single/double. We got a studio, I'd say. Two rooms with two beds each (in one room they are placed next to each other); cupboards in both rooms. The "main" room also houses a table with 1 chair, TV, fridge, and kettle. The bathroom is surprisingly large and composed of 3 rooms: wc, shower, sink area with a large mirror. Plenty of hooks for towels. There is also a terrace with a round table and 3 chairs. If I had to say what's missing or not ideal: only one bed has its own night table - the others don't even have a shelf to put glasses on (but each bed has its own night light); the fridge's door shelves are unprotected (the 'barriers' are missing) so that for example a milk carton cannot stand on them; one chair in the room is not enough (but one can manage using the terrace table or bringing one chair indoor); the mattress on one bed was incredibly hard (while the others are reasonably OK); all the party was only given 1 keycard (and then when we asked, also another key - but it would be better to have 1 keycard per person); only 3 hangers for clothes in the cupboard), lack of soap to wash hands (1 sachet of shampoo and 1 sachet of "soap" per person are provided, but it's not convenient to use it for hands; a dispenser at the sink would be more handy. I had taken a small soap bar from home so no problem). What are the positives: quite a lot of electric sockets, plenty of room in cupboards, good lightning. One light was out of order (over the table), it was fixed within 30 minutes.
No problems were noted with cleanliness. Towels were exchanged after the 1st night.
WiFi works fine, although it drives me nuts that it wants me to log in to the network each time I come back to my laptop (but it's just a minute). There is no landline phone in the room. When using your mobile, if you have an Israeli SIM card, please make sure to check first what your phone "is seeing". One of my phones knows it is in Israel while the other believes it is now in Jordan :-)). As you know, this type of problems is best prevented by switching to manual mode of choosing connection.
The hotel is equipped with lifts.
Upon check-in, the receptionist spontaneously said: "it will be quiet tonight, we have no groups, but tomorrow it may be loud, we will have a large group of school youth, but you are in the opposite end anyway". This is mentioned in many reviews here and indeed, this is a youth hostel and this type of noise must be taken into consideration. The children did not even scream too much and their soccer match (?) was not too loud, but at present (22:15 local time) some kind of concert is going on outside and unlikely to end soon,
The breakfast is included in the price. I saw in other reviews that people's opinions vary. I guess it may be influenced by the fact that us, Europeans, normally expect meat for breakfast (cold meats and/or hot sausages). However this is by definitione excluded here :-((. Dairy products are served for breakfast, therefore, as all canteens in Israel must keep kosher, meat cannot be served at the same time (no matter that you are not a Jew). This morning the choice was quite OK: scrambled eggs, hard eggs, toasts, French toasts, one type of bakery product with spicy filling, several types of pickles and cold fish products, several types of soft cheese (cottage cheese, cheese with olives etc.) - but no hard cheese; some types of typical Israeli spreads (t'hina?), 3 kinds of jam, butter, a choice of vegetables (lettuce, cucumber, peppers, tomatoes). Coffee was awful (as usually in most hotels and hostels all over the world - do they produce a special make "breakfast special"?!). Juices from a dispenser were artificial - no surprise either, it is typical. There was also hot water and tea/coffee/cocoa mix powder. I also saw milk and several types of cereals.
Dinners are available at about 57 NIS. We went downstairs to see - food looked tasty, we would have taken it but we had plenty of own food taken from home.
The parking lot is large, and free, of course.
Swimming pool was empty and closed (not a big deal - the weather is not very hot today). When we were walking to see it, I saw a vending machine, apparently with soft drinks, in a niche. It is not in the main lobby. Therefore, those reviewers who complained here that a bottle of water cannot be purchased at the hostel beyond opening Times of their small kiosk, may be wrong and just had not asked where the vending machine is situated. I saw it had logos of Visa and Mastercard, so I think it may even accept credit cards.
I would have given this place 5 "stars", however 160 $ per night (even for 3 people) is quite a lot. It's just an expensive region with limited numer of accommodation options.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agulha68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 216 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

I found this hostel a real breath-of-fresh-air. It is so clean, modern and the food was fantastic.
The buses stop right out front and you are at the very foot of Masada. From this hostel it is also very quick and easy to reach the resort town of Ein Bokek where you can enjoy the Dead Sea.
My recommendations would be to check into the hostel sometime in the morning or early afternoon, leave your bags there as the room isn't ready until 2 or 3 pm, take the local bus to the beach and enjoy the Dead Sea for the day. Enjoy dinner back at the hostel and then have a relaxing night. Wake up early and join the dozens of Trekkers up the snake path where you can see the lights from Jordan and then the sunrise over the Dead Sea. Finally, when it is fully light you can explore the old fortress on top of the mountain and see how the determined Romans conquered this place. By the afternoon you are ready to move on to the next, exciting location.

Room Tip: They have dorms and private rooms. Book ahead as the dorms fill up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

After travelling through Israel for a while, you start to see similarities between IYHa hostels. They're all big, set up for large groups, with descent and clean but simple rooms, and mostly a helpful but sometimes grumpy staff. Overall, I like the concept.

The Masada hostel was no exception. Nice, clean rooms. Big complex, that was supposedly fully booked, but I think they only rent out part of the rooms. The dinner was simple but ok. The breakfast was very good, and very much needed after a sunrise hike to the top of Masada. The guy behind the reception helped us with everything we needed, but that's about it. The location of this hostel is great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris_Peeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Better than a tent... But that is about it! Private roms are like tiny college dorm rooms with zero atmosphere, however they are clean, and breakfast is pathetic with instant coffee and tang to drink. Location is great in Masada, and they are the only place to stay unless you drive 15 mins to another area. I would not stay again as it really is depressing.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank FromNYCtoTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was huge - it was actually two rooms, One with 2 twin beds pushed together, and the other room was large with 2 beds on either side of it. We took advantage of both rooms as we love to spread out! The washroom was also very large and was equipped with soap, shampoo and double the towels.

We had a good sized balcony and this was the first place we came across that actually had a large screen door so you could sleep with the door open. There was a nice view off the balcony.

The room also had a kettle with complimentary coffee and tea.
There was a large outdoor area where you could sit and have a drink and there was also a huge swimming pool which looked very inviting. Also a grassed area in the courtyard. Lovely outdoor surroundings.

The hostel was full of school kids, we are mature travellers but we mellowed with the ruckus. We made a point of getting down to the cafeteria before the mobs of kids came down and there were plenty of tables by windows (with a view), where you could almost escape from the hoards.
The cafeteria was a very nice airy bright room.

The supper was excellent and varied, as was the breakfast. Plenty of food, even enough to make yourself a little sandwich at breakfast, so you could eat it at lunch time.

The hostel also had a small store where you could purchase snack and sundry items.

We really enjoyed our stay here, especially since it was right at the foot of Masada.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Unbeatable location for exploring masada especially if you want to climb the snake path to be at the top of masada for dawn. We had a twin room , which was very large( could have slept 6) with a bathroom with shower..all very clean and functional but very basic decor. There is full air con and also a tv with some English channels

We are a mature couple and this was def not out usual type of accommodation but it seemed crazy to pay more for a bed in a hotel or kibbutz as the nearest other accommodation is a good 15 minutes drive away and as we wanted to do the dawn climb we had to be on the snake path for 450 am.

Staying here allows you to do the climb experience and explore the site at the top of masada then climb back down or take the 1st cable car back at 8 am and be back in time for breakfast

Don't expect frills .. We didn't bother with the dinner which was school cafeteria style , accompanied by about 100+ school kids and the associated noise, but we did attempt breakfast after walking back down the snake path. Happily by then the school kids had left and the food was plentiful and tasty if still cafeteria style.

Room Tip: Provided pool refurbished and open choose one beside the pool as have good views of Dead Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A friend and I stayed here one night for a morning walk up to Masada. Its a nice guesthouse with a good breakfast. Room was dull, and the bathroom was not very clean - long hair was everywhere. We enjoyed a solid breakfast after the walk to Masada - eggs, humus, salat and more was served. We found the price quite high compared to the other places we stayed at in Israel, but for some reason it is very expensive to stay near the dead sea, and this hostel is no exception. A car is essential as the hostel is very isolated. We drove to the Kibbutz for dinner, where an excellent buffet is served every night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerFromDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Bokek
7.8 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,292 reviews
7.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#7 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,446 reviews
8 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ein Gedi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ein Gedi
452 reviews
9.6 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,374 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masada Hostel

Address: Ein Bokek, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Number of rooms: 211
Also Known As:
The Masada Hotel Ein Bokek
Masada Hostel Ein Bokek
The Masada Hostel Dead Sea, Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing