We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend for Dead Sea Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Club Dead Sea Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My wife and two children stayed at this hotel recently as part of a two week visit to Israel. We chose this hotel because it has a private beach on the Dead Sea (and my wife loves the Dead Sea mud). It should be noted that there are two different Tulip hotels in Ein Bokek (one is this one - The Golden Tulip - it's an all inclusive hotel that includes all meals INCLUDING unlimited alchohol). The other one is the Tulip Inn (which I know nothing about).

There were several problems with our stay.

First, when we arrived, we were informed that our reservation (for a family room) did not include the price for the children. We were changed an extra $150 / night for the kids. I had certainly reserved the family room for two adults & two children; something was wrong with the reservation process on their website. I thought this was an exorbitant additional cost, but there was nothing I could do.

Second, there was no mud to apply at the beach. We used to live in Israel in the 1990s, and my wife fell in love with the self applied mud treatments that one can do at the Ein Gedi Spa. Our hotel did not have any "vats" of mud next to the beach. I asked the reception desk about this, and she said we could buy it at the gift store (so much for the All inclusive hotel). Anyway, we ended up having to drive to the spa at Ein Gedi to get the mud. So, the main purpose of staying at this location (the private dead sea beach) was negated.

Also, considering we paid so much for the room, the accomodations were quite spartan. It was the worst appointed room of all five of the places we stayed during our Israel visit (and it was the most expensive - even more than our Suite at the Hilton in Eilat).

The food (as I mentioned as being all inclusive) was pretty good. The breakfasts and dinners were both fine although nothing spectacular.

We checked in to this hotel on a Friday (weekend day) and checked out on Sunday (week day in Israel). It was packed on Friday/Saturday, but almost empty on Sunday. It seems this is a popular weekend destination for the Israelis. Some of the things (like the game room) were closed on Sunday. Also, they didn't have the kids food options (nuggets, hot dogs) out on Sunday, but they were available when we asked.

The location (Ein Bokek) was fine. It is about 20minutes from Masada and 30minutes from Ein Gedi.

I definitely would NOT stay at this hotel again. It ended up being extremely expensive, and we did not even get the dead sea mud that my wife desired. If we were to plan this visit again, I would have stayed at the Kibbutz at Ein Gedi and just used the Spa at Ein Gedi (included in the Kibbutz rate) that we ended up using anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2008

I stayed here during my recent visit to Israel, and was travelling with a group (as part of a Holyland tour). We stayed for 1 night and I find the hotel to be pretty good. It's an all inclusive resort, with very decent room (I stayed at a double room on the 3rd floor) - which is spacious, clean and nicely decorated. It has a balcony overlooking the pool. The food was also acceptable. Breakfast was quite enjoyable really. The beach was clean (way better that the dead sea on Jordan side..hehehe) and the spa, though not at all 'glamorous' was a fun treat, I suppose. All and all it was a good place to stay in :)

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mondaychild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

I was there over Passover as part of a large group. The food, the facilities, the rooms were all OK/average; the service, however, was outstanding. No matter what the request (extra cot, broken air conditioner, more pillows), the response time was super fast. On the other hand, the spa was no great shakes; I've had better in the Dead Sea and certainly in other places in Israel. The all-inclusiveness was nice, mostly for the free-flowing soft drinks, but I'd rather pay less for half board (full board is just too much food). I'd go back if I got a great price but there are better hotels in the Dead Sea.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

we have stayed at that hotel for family vacations several times.
we haven't been there for two years, and we are right now after a long weekend at that hotel.
it seems that they have kept an ongoing improvements, and we have enjoyed very much the vacation.
they have added new attraction for the kids, the "all included" around the swimming pool is better, and the service was quick and polite.
we felt that we recieved a full reward, and certainley will come again with our kids.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank avi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2006

I arranged a workshop for 30 people in February 2005 at this hotel.

1. I had asked in advance that a certain number of electrical outlets be
placed around the tables for notebook connections. When we arrived, nothing
was set up.

2. We had asked in advance for wireless access to the Internet and were assured
numerous times that access would be provided free of charge. When we arrived
we found out that wireless access is run by an external company and that the Magic
Nirvana staff had no idea how to use it or provide its access.

3. Bottled water at the tables was provided once at the beginning of the day
and not refilled or replaced.

4. The air-conditioning was shut off by a preset clock and even in February, the
room became stifling hot. Finding a hotel staff member to turn the A/C back on
took an hour.

5. Papers left on the tables during breaks were removed by the hotel staff and
thrown in the garbage.

In general the hotel is run-down and looking to cut costs at every chance it
has. If you want a cheap weekend at a hotel at the Dead Sea and don't care much
about service - then this is the place to go.

6  Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Предпочтительны высокие этажи. При возможности с видом на море.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gennady K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amit d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
0.5 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Dead Sea
2.1 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#8 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Club Dead Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Club Dead Sea Hotel

Address: Ein Bokek 84960, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ein Bokek
#6 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range: $226 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Club Dead Sea Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Leonardo Club Dead Sea, you will enjoy an an "all inclusive" experience at the exclusive deluxe level. You will enjoy a private beach, luxurious pool, lavish spa treatments and all that will make your vacation an enthralling experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Club Dead Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ein Bokek Golden Tulip
Leonardo Club Dead Sea Hotel Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing