We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New name, new management, not better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New name, new management, not better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We, 2 elderly Israeli couples, stayed at the hotel for 5 days, one week before Pasover (Pesach). The hotel needs renovation or maintenance. Several times one of eight elevators stops working. And when a elevator arrives, you don't know which one and then you have to hurry since the doors stay open for only a few seconds. The waiters in the dining room need some manager totell them what to do. There are always knife or fork or cups missing from the tables, so you have to take from another table. The service is not good. The rooms are not cleaned properly and the beds we needed to rearrange the sheets and covers after it was arranged by the room maid. Sorry, We will not come back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RafiKornfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    293
    196
    197
    266
See reviews for
930
783
81
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We booked a deluxe room (no. 1029), which really needs some renovation, but it wouldnt be a problem for us, if we wouldnt find -and I am sorry to say this- really the dirtiest hotel room I have ever seen. The hotel itself is huge one, but very nicely made, airy and spacious, all rooms have balconies overlooking both the Dead Sea and mountains. For a really good view is good to ask for a room in at least 10th floor.
People on the desk we met were nice and helpfull, food for the breakfast was plentifull, fresh with a big choice of everything.
Location is very good, it takes around 5 minutes walk to the Dead sea beach (if you want to wait a bit, you can use the hotels shuttle), there is a bus station and its not far from the small shopping mall with restaurants (McDonalds, Aroma, Cafe Cafe Kosher leMehadrin).
It could be perfect place to stay but because of the dirty room (bed sheets with stains, cigarette ash on the balcony, not washed tea and coffe facilities, a lot of dust, sticky floor, stains on the chair and on the carpet, uncupped tooth paste in the sink, etc.) we couldnt enjoy even our one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

No 5 star hotel in any term!!!!!!!!!!! we were 4 in a suite , dirty, sofa bed not done, no towels for 4, TV not working, no coffee kit, broken safe in room, no mini bar, no bar at the swimming pool, no umbrellas on beach, lousy breakfast as no coffee, hot water, cocoa, juice, or a stand for omelettes, no waiters to serve you, although the food in itself was fresh and tasty. salads at dinner on the first night was good. We skipped breakfast the day we left as at dinner before hand they served kosher food for Pessah (no bread - just matza) no warning about it (5 days before the seder!).

Room Tip: rooms with view on the pool and sea is better than either of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We spent a night at the David Dead Sea Spa & Resort as part of a tour group in March, 2014. It's just a hotel, nothing special. I understand it recently experienced an ownership change and believe me, the new owners have their work cut out for them. The hotel was clean but is desperately in need of refurbishing - everything. You may not know that the Dead Sea has an oily feel from the minerals in it. The carpet in our room had an oily feel, too, obviously from people tracking it in from the beach area. Yuck! The Wifi was not working most of the time. We complained to the management and were told it was OK but later I heard other people at the desk voicing the same complaint. The hotel did have a good spread of food but the atmosphere in the dining room was totally spoiled by the birds flying around above us. We actually saw a bird on the counter pecking at a dish of corn that was out for guests!! We were given a complimentary glass of wine to make up for some of the deficiencies but it would have taken a lot of wine to make up for that bird! The only redeeming quality I could find was that it is clean and has a good location very near the sea.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohsuzyq10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We booked David resort for one night (Masada suite) , below you can find my comments.
Lobby: when you enter the hotel you think that you entered a 5 stars hotel , Daniel at the front desk was a nice guy , he explained everything to us about the hotel .
Rooms: we booked Masada suite since I heard that deluxe and superior rooms need a lot of renovations, when we reached our room we were really disappointed , the carpet was really dirty, bed sheets looks very old and you can find hair on it, the phone was covered with dust you feel like the room was not cleaned for few months , we said it's ok we will stay for one night only do we changed our clothes and went down to the pool
Pool: big pool maybe the biggest in Dead Sea area , the water was warm , but the pool was not clean like other pools in Israel , it was 15:00 and we were hungry ,and we had kids with us , the cafeteria by the pool was closed so there was nothing to buy to drink or eat .
After spending two hours at the pool we went up to the room . I was thinking how I'm going to sleep in this dirty room , how I'm going to take a shower in this bathtub which has not been clean , so we decided to check out and drive back home ( we paid 250$ for this dirty room :(. We went down to check out marina was work on the front desk she asked me why you checked out since you arrived 3 hours ago , I told her our room is dirty , she said ok have a safe trip back home ) she was very rude and she didn't care.
This hotel must renovate the rooms , I stayed at crown plaza, Daniel and isrotel the rooms are much nicer and cleaner pay extra 20$ and choose a different hotel , or spend the night in your car, this hotel is 2 stars and it's not worth your money , nice lobby and pool but dirty rooms , we stayed at room number 1023.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Tx
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a nice room overlooking the Dead Sea. The location of this hotel is great because you can walk to the Dead Sea, however it would be nice if they would let you go from the back gate and not have to walk around the whole hotel from the front. The spa services closed early so we didn't get to use them, which was very disappointing after a long day touring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were just there for one night but I would definately come back, the rooms are huge and airy and we had the most incredible view of the pool and the Dead Sea. My husband and I could not believe the beautiful sunrise. The food at this hotel was sensational.. We had a lunch and breakfast at this hotel and each meal was wonderful. Concierge are wonderful and helpful, they organized a shuttle back to Tel Aviv and even the shuttle was reliable and a great driver. Thank you David Hotel for helping make our trip to Israel so memorable, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessajoffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
2.2 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#5 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#10 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Spa Club Hotel
Spa Club Hotel
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Property: David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#4 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your David Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dead Sea
Le Meridien Ein Bokek
Ein Bokek Le Meridien
Le Meridien Dead Sea
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing