We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Yavne, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Happened to be invited to the hotel. Had great expectations, since this hotel started as part of a world wide premium chain.
Well, the chain is gone, the premium is gone and we found was a mediocre hotel, at best.
The public areas are relatively well kept, but the room was a big disappointment: cracked wash basin, peeling paint, light fixtures not working, torn bedsheets (!) on the bed, and so on.
On top of it: it was very hot but the A/C would only go on heating!
The food in the dining room was OK, the service much less.
Check out was a mess, long ques because incoming guests were served by the same personnel.
Bottom line: certainly not worth the price one is charged! There are many other hotels near by, take another one!

Room Tip: Not worth the price one is charged! There are many other hotels near by, take another one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,598
    307
    211
    209
    276
See reviews for
975
804
87
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The David Spa & Resort (formerly Le Meridien) changed hands at the beginning of january 2014. A luxury hotel with over 600 rooms and an attractive spa offers its guests large well furnished comfortable rooms with mini-bars, free wi-fi and large cupboards with hanging space and drawers for all necessary clothing. The restaurant is spacious, well appointed and serves a sumptious breakfast as well as lunch and dinnere for those interested. Entertainment is provided every evening. There are two outdoor swimming pools, one freshwater and one mineral water, an indoor pool as well as a sauna, massage rooms and a well equipped fitness center. The hotel has everything its guests need. The staff are friendly and helpful and give guest a feeling of being personally cared for. However, the hotel urgently needs renovation in rooms, public areas, spa and surrounding gardens. The new owners will need to invest in extensive repairs in order to restore the hotel to its potential.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the Dead Sea and are quiet. The 6 spacious elevators quick so a room on a high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yaacov K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed here one night. The room needs a lot of work. The carpet was sticky, the chairs were dirty, the douche holder was broken, also the cloth holder in the bathroom. The table lamp was missing, also the kettle cable! The worst was the stained bed lining. But when I asked for clean lining and kettle cable, the service was fast. The room itself was big and the breakfast was real great. The inside pool is open till 19:00 which is great, but they started washing the floor when the guests were in the pool. There is no warm meal in the lobby bar which was very necessary in the cold winter and several items in the menu where sold out!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnina_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel is quite nice, the rooms are big, very confortable, clean and have a nice view of the Dead Sea. The linens were clean, but had some stains and the place looked a little run down, it could use some renovations. The dinner and breakfast were good, offering a big selection.
We didn't use the SPA, but we had if we were staying for more than 1 night.
The only thing that we didn't like, angry people yelling at the receptionists at the entrance; I wanted to put a smiley, but not sure this was funny. Besides, it really lived to our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Florin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Going in, we knew that this hotel has not been renovated in quite a few years so we knew what to expect. The hotel itself is extremely impressive, albeit dated. The lobby was large and welcoming, and we enjoyed the pools very much (especially the indoor dead sea pool) as well as the squash court and spa. Breakfast was extravagant and fantastic, although service was spotty (impossible to flag down a waiter). As a whole, the staff were very courteous and helpful. That being said, the hotel has some issues. 1. dated- the entire hotel begs for a renovation, which I assume it will be getting soon now that the name has changed (I hope). Our room had frayed carpets, nicked furniture, and beds straight out of the 80's! 2. The room wasn't adequately clean, either- there was an empty water bottle left behind and a long hair on the pillowcase. Additionally, the air conditioning didn't work (they told us the whole area had no air conditioning?) When we complained at the front desk, we found the woman there to be rude and unprofessional, begrudgingly willing to send someone up to clean as if it would kill her. 3. Shuttle and lack of information between staff- we waited for over 20 minutes in the sun for the shuttle asking the doormen again and again when the shuttle would finally leave and them reassuring us that it would leave soon. We finally went inside, where we were informed that the driver was on a break and would be back in another half hour! We would have appreciated being told this rather than being forced to wait in the sun for so long. Overall, if one can overlook the details and the service issues, this is a good choice because of the facilities and services offered at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Due to my medical condition I am traveling to the dead sea about twice a year.
I have just got back from Israel, staying at the David hotel, formally known as la Meridian and I was pleasantly surprised.
With its spectacular view and excellent amenities La Mridian was always one of my favorite hotels in the dead sea but now, as David Hotel it is officially my top one on the list.
Customer service was significantly improved, the staff were so pleasant and professional.
Unlike my my previouse visit, my room was perfectly clean and food was way better then I'd remembered.

If you do get there make sure to try the sulfur pool in the hotel spa it will do wonders to your skin!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I went to Le Meridian with a UK travel company which is eponymous with the region and specialized in groups going for psoriasis treatment. Let me say this isn't the best hotel, service isn't great and the rooms are dated but there are single sex solariums (naked) on the roof which is what we went for. There are remarkably few reviews on this topic. I went for two weeks and saw significant improvement in my psoriasis. The treatment was simple and without medical help. A couple of 10 minute dips in the Dead Sea or the Dead Sea water pool a day and then building sunbathing up to about 7 hours a day by the end of the two weeks.

There is however little to do! There are a few more interesting places such as the Lot which has a better and more European feel, we spent quite a lot of time in their bar. But if you want to help your psoriasis take two or three weeks and you should see a massive change.

The facilities are decent and the food is what you expect from a big hotel. I will be going back. If I go on my own I would being a European go to the Lot, but if I go with a group I will go back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenK588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
0.6 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,429 reviews
2.2 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#5 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#9 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Dead Sea
Royal Hotel Dead Sea
#15 of 17 in Ein Bokek
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Property: David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#10 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your David Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dead Sea
Le Meridien Ein Bokek
Ein Bokek Le Meridien
Le Meridien Dead Sea
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing