We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tired hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Carpets filthy; bathroom smelled; furniture scuffed. Staff disinterested. Restaurant food very average and poorly presented ( buffet). Wine list = 1 red and 1 white despite listing presented. Couldn't find a waiter to speak English ( happens in foreign countries). Does have private beach. Avoid if you like nice hotels.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dalvay_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    304
    207
    203
    270
See reviews for
950
798
88
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A modern hotel in a very interesting setting in the middle of the desert at the Dead Sea. The views toward the desert hills were at least as spectacular as the views of the Dead Sea.

The buffet meals were incredibly extensive and the dining room huge. Obviously the hostel caterers to guests for many parts of the world and the selections offered reflects that. The food was good and unlimited but the opportunity to see such a variety of foods offered was itself a cultural travel experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Commadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

How this property can be part of the Le Meridien chain is a mystery. Arrived and my reservation, made months earlier through Starwood, was not on their system. If I didn't have proof of it I might have been to sleep out in the street. Rather than being apologetic, the receptionist blamed the mishap on Starwood as if it were some kind of third party more closely affiliated with me than with them.

The customer service ranges from nonexistent to horrible. Israelis often don't excel in this field but this hotel is on the worse end of the scale. SPG Gold late checkout denied from the get go just because.

This Le Meridien property is operated by Fattal Hotels Israel under some kind of (non)cooperation agreement with Starwood but Fattal is a third rate hotel company with a third world concept of customer service. STAY AWAY!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Yatusabe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Who needs a indoor spa when you have the Dead Sea , but over all a great place to stay its a 5 star luxury comfy and perfect location . The view of the Dead Sea is amazing and all the tour attraction's are wonderful I learned so much more about the Greatest Book ever written , The Bible .

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the Dead Sea :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graybarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My Wife and myself visited this hotel on the 12-13 Apr for the weekend.
Room was spacious and very roomy. View from the Room was fantastic. Hotel was packed and 3 or 4 dinning rooms were needed to serve all during all servings. Pool is excellent and a quite and private can be found. Bathroom is great, has also Shower and also Bath.

Cons: Parking is a big issue since there were so many people.No Double Bed in room - 2 seperate beds.

Room Tip: Try to book the rooms that are far from elevator and more towards the Dead Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A week ago I was staying at the hotel for the weekend, the holiday was incredible. I wanted to especially thank Reuma Lugasi for the personal attention, caring and wonderful service
I wish there were more people like her

Thanks
Ravid Sol

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hartford, CT
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We rented five rooms for three nights using Starwood points. You can tell that this property was once gorgeous, but has sunken into disrepair. The lobby is nice, their dead sea beach is a little far from the hotel but has a sandy bottom without rocks and has some shade umbrellas, and the spa pools and fresh water pools are fine, but the rooms and hallways are horribly filthy. We arrived at about 7 PM on Saturday evening to be told that only two rooms were ready. In addition, despite my request for renovated rooms, we were placed in unrenovated rooms with old beds, filthy old carpets, and sorely in need of paint and repair. Worst of all, the hotel did not place our rooms together - instead scattered us all over three floors, creating a problem for a family group with young children traveling together. We ended up cleaning the floors and counters in the rooms ourselves. We did not eat at the hotel, so cannot evaluate the food. If you stay here on Starwood points and are willing to deal with dirty old rooms and hallways, fine. Otherwise, I would not stay here. It's a pity - the place has great bone structure. All they need to do is replace the carpets, paint, put in new beds, and get a new cleaning staff in place, and the place could easily be a five star hotel again.

Room Tip: demand, and I repeat, demand a renovated room! They said they have some on the 13th - 17th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pragmatist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
0.6 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,368 reviews
2.2 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#9 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Dead Sea
Royal Hotel Dead Sea
#15 of 17 in Ein Bokek
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#13 of 17 in Ein Bokek
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Property: David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#10 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your David Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dead Sea
Le Meridien Ein Bokek
Ein Bokek Le Meridien
Le Meridien Dead Sea
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing