We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Reviewed March 22, 2008

Yesterday I returned from a weekend stay with my family (five rooms) at Meridien Dead Sea.
We all enjoyed it very much.
Even though it's a huge hotel with lots of guests - you don't "suffer" at meals or other places. The food was great - as ususually I ate too much...
I'm not sure, but I think there were less small children there than at average Israeli hotels (more quiet).
The pool was a bit noisy for my taste (D.J. and activities), so I went to the spa, it was wonderful.Big and professional.
I don't understand the neative reviews this hotel got, they are not true. It'sa really good hotel (and very clean).

Bettina

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maya18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 2,978 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2008

We just left after a 2 day stay here. The location is great, with a private beach just across the road. However, this hotel has many problems. Access to the hotel is via a dark road into an unlit parking lot; not much of a greeting for a hospitality business. The lobby is huge, and spooky. The lobby furniture is old and needs replacement. The room carpet is frayed ( this is on floor 17, which is a club floor). By accident ( happy as it happens) the travel agent did not book dinner for us. Since there are no restaurants in this hotel strip, we paid the 140 NIS per person for a hotel buffet dinner that was mediocre at best. The second night we ate at McDonalds. There were shows each night, but not effort to publicize them. There is a spa, supposedly nice, but no effort at registration or in the room to publicize its features. Our keycard failed twice is 2 days. There was a long line to check out ( why not install TV checkout?) Bed sheets are not fitted, so they pull out in the night, which is really unattractive. Good features are very fast elevators, very large rooms with nice balconies, and comfortable mattresses. On balance, this place needs new management badly.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 886,886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

We stayed at this 'hotel' for two days as part of a 14 day trip in Israel and Jordan. I'm an SPG Platinum member and used points to stay at SPG hotels throughout Israel (5 total), and this was by far the worst hotel at which we stayed.

The service level was criminal from luggage assistance, to check-in, to the switchboard operator, to spa management. For instance, our hotel key did not work on the second day and it took four separate trips to the lobby, two calls to hotel security, and finally complaining to the clueless manager to even get the room unlocked (getting working keys was even more complicated). Hotel staff here was the worst I've seen in not just high end hotels, like the Meridien chain, but worse than hostels, motels, and small 2 star hotels in nowhere middle America.

If you are looking for a relaxing spa hotel go as far from this hotel as possible. Almost completely ruined a two week vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bkwleo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

We stayed at Le Meridien for two nights during an unusual cold spell in Israel. We booked before reading the tripadvisor reviews (five lashes with a wet noodle), and were expecting the worst, but we were pleasantly surprised.

We did not find any sign of a lack of cleanliness alluded to by several previous reviewers -- not in the rooms, public areas or bathrooms. Nor did I find the furnishings shabby. The only place that I found less than appealing was the service room where drinking water and ice were available. This was indeed needy of an overhaul

When we entered the lobby of this 600 room hotel at about 2:45 p.m., it was teeming with people from several group bookings. Despite that, we were able to complete our check-in in a relatively short time with a polite desk clerk. The crowds are most obvious at meals, as during the day the groups generally go on outings. However, if you time your meals correctly, you can avoid most of the crowds. i.e., breakfast before 7:30 or after 8:30, dinner before 7:00.

Our room was spacious and included a minibar, safe and coffee/tea making equipment and supplies (but no herbal tea). The room-darkening drapes actually covered the entire window, which isn't always the case in many hotels. Lighting was very good and there was adequate storage space. The huge bed with it's four pillows was very comfortable. The room also contained a loveseat/sofabed a small dining table with two chairs and some small tables. There is a private balcony overlooking the Dead Sea, with a couple of chairs and a small table.

The bathroom was also large, and contained both a tub, with had-held shower attachment and a stall shower. There was a good supply of large towels and a generous selection of toiletries.

We did not use the large outdoor, heated pools because of the cold weather, but did use the Dead Sea water indoor pool and the two jacuzzis in the spa area. I recommend using the pool before 10:00 a.m. or in early afternoon to avoid the crowds. It was probably more crowded than usual during our stay because more people stayed indoors due to the cold weather. Entrance .to the spa was included in our room price. However, if you wish to use the sulphur pools, it will cost you an additional 50 shekels. We did not take any spa treatments, so I can't report on those. There is a well-equipped gym, but it only opens at 8:00 a.m., which was too late for us, as we prefer exercising before breakfast.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, though two things were missing: real butter (there were three varieties of margarine) and a selection of fresh fruit. (One day there was only canned fruit available, and the next day they added fresh grapefruit.) You can get specialty coffees made to your order, and custom omelets are also available, though there's usually a line waiting for the latter. Unfortunately, there is no herbal tea. The freshly baked breads are to die for! There's even a "healthy corner", with cereals, bran, flax, dried fruit and the like.

The dinner buffet was wonderful, with a large variety of good quality food for every taste, with meat, poultry, fish and vegetarian options. The problem was how to restrain ourselves from overindulging. (We failed at this.).

All in all, if you don't mind a lot of people, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

Formerly the Hyatt, this is one of the best if not the best hotel in the Dead Sea. The spa is first class and the hotel is spacious and beautiful. At first I was confused because I could not find the entrance. It is actually inside and not near the road so your first moment at the hotel and you already start to feel like you are in a secluded area and can't be bothered by the outside world. The hotel's breakfast and meals were excellent and they had activities for kids and adults alike so you there is never a dull moment. The standard rooms are nice especially those that overlook the pool at night.

Below I have listed the official website of the hotel though I have found that you can get much better rates at [--] This is the company that manages the hotel for Le Meridien.

Stayed: January 2003
Thank CityGuy07052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Family vacation November 22 thru 25, 2007. Three rooms full meal plan for five adults and four children. Was told by many that Le Meridien was the best hotel in the Dead Sea. All the negatives mentioned in the prior reviews were true. I'll just note additional challenges.
Do not expect porters to be availble for check in and check out, there are too few for the number of rooms.
Front desk, Housekeeping and concierge seldom answer the phone, but the Operator always answers and can solve problems, answer questions, etc.
Laundry picked up on Thursday was forgotten and returned dirty, only after three phone calls and two visits to the front desk.
The rooms are big, but well worn out. The beds are comfortable. I liked that the blankets were covered in a duvet. Although I don't know how often the duvet is changed.
Two of the three rooms smelled of stale cigarettes.
The bathrooms are extra large with enclosed stall shower and oversized bathtub. The seals on all stall showers were broken and water would pour onto the floor.
There is a heated outdoor pool which was great in November.
The spa services: massage, facial were terrific but you need to book ahead as the spa is packed.
The meal plan is all buffet all the time. It looks good to the eyes, but is bland. The table service was non existant. On Friday nite they actually charged me for a cup of tea. Other nites we would have to repeat ask for water pitcher refills. Tables were never bused. We skipped on dinner out of boredom and ate a la carte in the lobby that was expensive but better.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbenjamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

This hotel needs a major renovation! We had heard good things about this hotel, but the rooms and suites need new furniture and televisions, and the housekeeping is quite poor. The location is great, the pool is great and the beach/Dead Sea are a quick walk away, but the overall hotel experience was really a disappointment.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UWSfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
0.6 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,627 reviews
2.2 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
#14 of 17 in Ein Bokek
818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#8 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#9 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range: $152 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — David Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your David Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dead Sea
Le Meridien Ein Bokek
Ein Bokek Le Meridien
Le Meridien Dead Sea
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing