We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than we thought it would be!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of David Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Better than we thought it would be!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Was a little weary about this property based on the TA reviews and the fact that it was only 3K Starwood points. When making the reservation on the phone with the SPG rep I asked why this was only a category 1 property being that it was a Le Meridien resort at the Dead Sea. They did not offer a firm answer other than it was a way to entice more bookings. The rep also mentioned that we would receive comp breakfast for the two of us, which I thought was a nice idea in theory but doubted it would be honored at a franchise property. We arrived around 10am after taking on Masada, which was just up the road. The clerk was nice enough and was able to communicate in limited English. She told us the room would be ready around 2pm and gave us a card which enabled us to get towel service at the pools which was where we hanged until the room as ready. Went back to the front desk for the keys and was assisted by Michal, she was friendly and spoke English very well. I inquired about the "included" breakfast and got a deer in the headlights look. Mentioned that the SPG rep said it was included, she then asked what level my SPG membership was and I told her Gold and she handed over two passes. Our room was located on the 1st floor which was nice because we could avoid the elevators and was on the same floor as the gym, spa, pool, and breakfast room. The rooms on the 1st floor surround a large banquet area which should be taken into consideration when booking during a weekend as there may be banquets/parties going on.

We only visited the salt water pool which is right near the spa and gym and it has both an indoor and outdoor portion, there is a normal pool that is huge at the other end of the hotel. The gym was great as it has plenty of space, modern equipment, towels, water and an onsite trainer.

As for the public areas and rooms, things were fine. I had to remind myself that (1) this was a franchise property (2) located in an incredibly arid and salty environment. The lobby is nicely well done. Elevators and corridors do show their age, the last time this place had an upgrade was probably about 10 years ago. It could use new carpeting, repainting of the walls and housekeeping could be a little more detailed. The saltwater pool tile could also be refurbished. We were happy with the room, fairly large, big desk, flat screen, coffee area, good size tub w/ separate shower, sitting area and fridge. The patio is larger than most and looked out to the fresh water pool area and sea. No chairs on the patio and hot water in the shower was more along the lines of warm. When we came back from dinner there was a nice fruit plate and bottle of water that was placed in there room while we were out. It was a nice gesture and assume it was done because I am SPG Gold.

The breakfast was GREAT! We went late after a workout which is suggested if you want a calmer/quieter meal. It is buffet style that offers a bunch of different sections which included breakfast items with eggs, pancakes, potatoes, cereals, grains, and yogurts. Pizza station as well which we did not try. The winner for me was the cheese area which offered about 20 different types of cheeses and smoke meats and fish...loved it. Good strong coffee as well.

The hotel also has an area across the street on the shore of the sea, it has a lifeguard and lounge chairs with umbrellas, be sure to get your towels at the hotel as they are not provided down at the beach. The lounge chairs are also tethered to the umbrella which is a pain, but I guess they have had a problem with them being stolen.

Overall we enjoyed our time here for one night and would go back especially if the SPG redemption level stays the same. There is a charge for internet and there is no free wifi. Other than the breakfast we did not try any other dining. Would recommend to others as a good place to stay for couple of nights at the Dead Sea.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms on the ground level as it is near their function space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stadiaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,488
    288
    194
    190
    260
See reviews for
897
757
76
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We did our checkin in a rush hour. Although we were prefered guest and we had a separate checkin line the staff did not force it and we waited the same a a regular line. The lobby was a mess. Finally we receive our room keys. We went to the room and instead of having a room with a king bed we received a room with 2 queen beds and a baby bed (!?). We went to the front desk, instead of changing the room at once they started to urgue. after few minutes they gave us the correct room.
The room was not clean and in the bath we had sand on the floor. The room itself is OK, nothing more, it is a little old and need renovation.
We went to dinner, the veriaty was good but nothing was tasty. The Restaurant arrangment is owfull making it hard to navigate to the food and to the table. Parts of the restaurant have a brimstone smell.
The SPA is Good, we spent a day in it, it is not crowded, the treatment were good.
The beach is also good, you need to walk 5 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronari2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We booked our holiday in this hotel because it was recommended by our friends who are travelling a lot and usually are very critical. We read the critical reviews and we don't know what it is about.
Our room was very spacious and clean. The view is outstanding! The hotel is very nicely decorated inside and outside. The regular pool is so large that we could not feel that there are so many people in the hotel and there were enough sun beds all around. There are 2 spa pools with dead sea water: indoor and outdoor. All the pools are crystal clear and clean. The hotel has a private beach, with many sun beds and facilities. What can you ask more?!
There was stuff all over: kind and willing to help. They called us to our room to ask if everything was o.k. and while we were in the pool they made a survey about our satisfaction or any remarks that we had about the hotel. One can see that they take into consideration the reviews and are determined to improve what is needed.
Entertainment: we stayed for 2 nights and every night
there were performance and d.j. We were singing, dancing and enjoying very much with all the people around.
The food is not "gormet" but very tasty. There is a large variety for every taste and for children. The dining room is large and the stuff is cleaning constantly.
We enjoyed our stay very much and we will definitely come again!

Aviva and Eli, Israel

Room Tip: high floor facing the dead sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aviva g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. Our particular group was a day late in arriving and although we were late in the day our rooms were not ready. When we were allowed in they were not cleaned properly with dirty towels left on the floor and streaks on the mirrors. The facilities are very nice though yet somewhat dated and in need of some repair. The Dead Sea access is down the hill and across the road. Not a long walk but not attached to the property. We didn't find the staff very friendly or helpful. The buffet breakfast and dinners were a wonderful mix of really good foods but those serving were not helpful and were very abrupt. We had a mud treatment and the staff did not speak English. They were abrupt and I felt uncomfortable with the whole process. Love the Dead Sea but would definately choose a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blessedt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were on a group tour of the Holy Land that included one night at this hotel. We were upgraded to a nice connecting to a regular room for our kids. The rooms and facilities were extremely nice, and the nicest of our holy land stay. However, I was disappointed overall. We didn't arrive at the hotel until about 5 pm and had only a few minutes to swim in the Dead Sea. We planned to go to the pool afterwards only to find that the pool also closed at sunset. We were disappointed in that. Our meals were included and overall, the buffet was very poor, and lacked taste and presentation.

Service was poor overall. I tried four times to get someone to unlock the connecting door between our room and the kids room I gave up finally and never did get it unlocked.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trintrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We went format here day retreat with plans to hike and bike the area and didn't rely too much on the hotel facilities. However staying in the past at Le meridien Piccadilly I did come to expect a certain level of facility and service.... So here it comes...
The first thing that hits you is the poor evel of maintenance. The place is run down bordering shabby nothing like what you would expect from a five star facility. We arrived and received a room on the tenth floor. The keys did not work so we had to go down again and have the recoded. The hall way was stacked with beds and mattresses which remained there for another 24 hours even though we complained. The shower head leaked and a tap was broken the lock of the room could be used from inside and the remote fr tv was faulty. I called maintenance and they came within 10 minutes and fixed the shower head and replaced the tv remote with a simpler no feature one, the lock and the tap remained faulty till we left. The dinning facility could not cope with the amount of people in the hotel so we ate in. Conference hall hich was made as a dinning area not optimal but ok. Food was mediocre but one could find a dish from the large variety to ones liking. Breakfast in he main dinning hall was less favorable, we were first to come in at seven o'clock food was not all fresh juice machine faulty coffee press ok but cappuccino awfull. And a puddle was forming under the main serving area. We needed a cab so hotel called a service they work with and the charged (or should I say ripped) us 22 euros for a 10 minute 15 km ride, nad we aren't even tourists. We wanted to up a pair f bike in the luggage room only o discover I is always open and th hotel doe not manage it.
The only resin I Eng into such detil is because I beleive that five star service is built in the details the smaller the better.
With all due respect this may have once been a five star facility but I has been run down by neglect and cheap staff only to creat a thin facade of Luxery which is quickly eroded as your stay progresses. In short come with no expectations and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eytan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Again, as prefaced in an earlier review for another Le Meridien property, you can't stay here during the month of August. The hotel is over run by families with young children. It seems clear that Children rule at this property. Do not think of going here during the summer months.
The hotel location was excellent, and that was the only good thing about the property.
Starting in with check in and very rude desk associates, right through to the manger of the property, I was exceedingly disappointed. They could not be more unfriendly, unconcerned and rude. The manager made numerous promises but could not follow through on any of them. There was no where to turn...and I'm being polite in this reveiw.
The rooms were ok, but dirty, and poor layouts.
The spa area and dead sea pool area was very well done, and nice.
The food buffets were in-eatable, food quality was poor, but plentiful.. It seemed that this audience only cared about quantity and not quality.
Not much else to report, as the stay was a huge disappointment in almost every way.

Room Tip: Stay away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FHANDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
2.2 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#2 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#5 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Spa Club Hotel
Spa Club Hotel
#10 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Property: David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#4 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your David Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dead Sea
Le Meridien Ein Bokek
Ein Bokek Le Meridien
Le Meridien Dead Sea
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing