We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great use of SPG points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We were worried after reading the other reviews but we wanted to use hotel points and it was the only starwood hotel in the area (and there were no hiltons). Overall the service was fine, the person at the front desk spoke english and was very pleasant. There was never anyone at the concierge desk, and no one answered when you called. We had planned our trip before coming so it was not too much of a hindrance but it would definitely be annoying if you needed help.

The rooms were clean and well appointed. Great selection of television channels for watching movies at night.

While it was a walk to the beach it was a very short walk, less than 300m. The information you are handed upon checking in states that there will be a towel station on the beach, there is not so we had to come back up to get towels. Again, a small annoyance but not a big deal. I do appreciate that if you were paying upwards of $250 a night to stay here that would be extremely frustrating but I think our expectations may have been different.

The best thing about this hotel is that you need so few starwood points to stay there! I gave it an 'excellent' on value based on that!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torontome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 2,930 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

The hotel was very attractive and had many nice features. However, the overall experience was disappointing.

Pros
Good views of the Dead Sea (though, you'll see other hotels between you and the Dead Sea).
The rooms are well appointed.
The ambiance is pleasant.
The spa is great - including an indoor, warm, salt water pool.
The buffets were good with multiple stations offering a good variety of food.
Nice selection of onsite stores.

Cons
The most significant negative is the staff's inability to speak English. I was very surprised to find this at a hotel of this category. Literally, I was reduced to pantomime.
Expensive. Too expensive for what you get.
The lounge is poorly laid out and feels disjointed.
The Dead Sea is a bit of a walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TreadingGrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We read the previous reviews before coming regarding the bad service - but we couldn't believe Le Meridien would allow it to be that bad. I am writing this from the hotel room now -as it is so bad - we feel we must warn you!

-No service at check-in. Carry your own bags to the unsecured "luggage room" - then to your room.
-Front desk staff is severly understaffed. It took nearly 45 min and 3 return trips to get the check-in process right.
-As stated in previous reviews - 2 of the pools are under repair. (Note that I specifically asked when making the reservation and was told that all were open.)
-The view from our room is lovely - but we can't enjoy it due to the jack hammer below.
-The phones in the room only work intermittently. Forget about trying to get any service - let alone room service. In fact - I tried to call the manager to complain - and when if finally did get through - it disconnected. I haven't heard back since.
-Electrical sockets are hanging out of the wall.
-The spa is VERY over crowded. The staff is completely incompetent.
-The treatment rooms in the spa are filthy.
-The ladies locker room is horrible - doors are falling off the lockers.

And this is only my review after being here for 5 hours.

Best to avoid this hotel. Such a disappointment - I would consider this a black mark on all Meridien hotels.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

With the prices they charge, it should have been way better. the furniture is not very nice and not always well maintained. Breakfast was good and well presented. Lunch and dinner were kind of hectic - some dishes and salads were good, others were less than average. You just had to guess which is the good one.
The relatively small gym was nice, although the "trainer" was completely useless.
Wi fi in the room has to paid separately - 28 dollars! not a very rational price.
During one of the nights we could clearly hear the party going on in the lobby level. No - we did not want to hear it, we wanted to sleep. BTW - we were on the sixth floor!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmritaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I expected great things based on my previous experiences with Le Meridian and other Starwood properties (Westin, Sheraton) and Israeli hospitality but this place is one of the worst places I have stayed at for quite some time (and I travel a lot for my work..about 100 nights per year). The poor service started right at the beginning with concierge. We arrived slightly early before our rooms were ready and were told at the front desk we could leave our bags with the concierge but the concierge was too busy talking/texting on his phone to even acknowledge us. When we finally got his attention, we were told to put our bags in the corner and he would keep an eye on them...(right, I think someone could have stolen the entire hotel and he would not have noticed!!). Other then a few pleasant looks from the bartender and the clerk in the spa, everyone seemed unable to smile. It was almost as if they were working in a prison and not a luxury hotel!! Next disappointment was the food. The 'restaurant' is on the bottom level. It is a one price (100NIS/person) buffet that is lit up like a new car showroom. While the selection is quite extensive and the salad bar is impressive, the food was 'high school cafeteria bland'. Everything tasted the same...very, very bland. There appeared to be a bar/alcohol station but it appeared to be closed so it was not even possible to 'dampen' the lousy food with some bad wine. The restaurant experience was so bad that we ate there the first night and skipped the rest of the meals. We were able to find food at the coffee shop in the plaza next door. The rooms were comfortable and the views of both the sea from the room and the mountains from the hallway were very nice. Two of the three pools were under, what looked to be' pretty major repairs (no note of that on the hotel website or at the time of reservation beforehand). Our room overlooked the one pool that was open and even though there seemed to be very few guests around the pool, they played very loud obnoxious music. That music plus a continuous jackhammer working on the pool repairs meant that we could not even sit out on the balcony to enjoy the view. My wife an daughter tried a couple of the spa treatments and had no complaints other than the spa area was very crowded. I have no idea what the other hotels in the area are like but they can't be much worse that this one

Room Tip: stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benzimidazolone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Le Meridien Dead Sea Hotel back in 2008 for a weekend. Our stay was disastrous. Its water under the bridge but suffice to say after describing our stay to spg they immediately issued us a full refund. We decided to give them another chance this past summer and what a pleasant surprise, our stay was delightful. Despite it being high sesaon and fully booked the staff were attentive service was great.(ok well as good as you can expect in the middle east... ) The room was new, very comfortable and quite roomy. Room service was prompt and the breakfast was something to write home about. They had a golf cart "shuttle" to the beach that ran about every three minutes around the clock. Overall our stay was a real pleasant treat. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yehudag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The staff lacks any formal training in how to behave with guests. Not once were we greeted properly by any employee of the hotel. We just came back from a cruise and a trip around South America so we were spoiled. But let's forget that, let's talk about the hotel. The rooms were old and finished in a quaint "Motel 6" motif. Dirty carpets, bird discharge all over the porch, AC that didn't work, ice container that leaked, towels that looked like old rags and mislabeled faucets in the bathroom that caused my companion to find herself standing under boiling water when an attempt was made to turn the temperature down by pointing the handle towards blue (C). Yes, it was reversed. The food was presented quite nicely, but lacked variety and taste. They served pizza for breakfast. We look forward to our stays in Israeli Hotel because of their breakfasts, yet we were really disappointed here. The only positive memory I have was Claudia, at the omelet station, that smiled was absolutely charming. Smoking is allowed at the pool, yet not one ashtray is to be found. This resulted in the entire area becoming one giant ashtray. In addition, the hotel seems to be fixing itself up. There are no apologies for "construction under way" but the hallways are full of plasterers, plumbers, painters and masons. As you sit at the pool you face scores of rooms which have had all their furniture and mattresses stacked up on the balconies. Even Motel 6 wouldn't do that. All the doors, carpets and walls in the common areas and hallways were scarred and stained. In short it was ABSOLUTELY not a 5***** property. At $75 or $100 per night it might be bearable, but at $200 to $300 per night is just not justified.

Room Tip: Go to the Crowne Plaza across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
0.6 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#8 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,354 reviews
2.2 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
#14 of 17 in Ein Bokek
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#9 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range: $151 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — David Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your David Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dead Sea
Le Meridien Ein Bokek
Ein Bokek Le Meridien
Le Meridien Dead Sea
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing