We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and facilities but average accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and facilities but average accommodation”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at the Herods Resort for 3 nights, using it as our base to visit the sites around the Dead Sea. There was ample parking immediately outside the hotel for our rental car.
With its own beach, indoor and outdoor pools and Jacuzzi, its bathing facilities are excellent. And no need to cross a road, like a lot of other hotels in the area.
Floating in the Dead Sea (which we did several times) is an experience that should not be missed and really quite weird. The water feels oily and sticks to your skin. Whatever you do, avoid splashing or touching your face, because if you get any water in your eyes it really stings. Fortunately, there are showers on the beach. There was also an ample supply of the famous Dead Sea black mud, which is supposed to be good for the skin but if not, still makes for some funny photos!
In general, the staff were helpful but not necessarily as friendly as we found elsewhere in Israel. The exception was Yousef in the restaurant, who was incredibly nice and helpful.
The buffet in the hotel was outstanding, both for breakfast and dinner. Not good for the waist line though, with a huge choice of delicious food to suit all tastes.
Although the rooms were large, they were not what I would call 5 star. They just lacked a certain classiness that you would expect from a hotel charging these prices. And it said that there was an additional charge for Wi-Fi; this turned out not to be true but I only discovered that on the last day.
I suspect that this is the best hotel on the Ein Bokek strip (especially with its direct beach access) but there is some room for improvement.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Harpum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    247
    111
    61
    45
See reviews for
339
529
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I would begin with the fact that the Israel Dead Sea rsort is not modern and comfortable. Many pensioners who come for having SPA treatments.

The hotel is on middle level with the Russian-speaking staff. Well.. Russian stuff is anywhere! The feeling is, that you are back to 25 years ago. The service and communication on very low level. A SPA is not a SPA itself.. just few rooms for procedures... Hotel rooms are quite old with broken doors etc (photos attached).

Food the average..no freshly squeezed juices for a breakfast..
All the parameters are very far from 5 stars.

Thank You Mr Boukaf Halga! You are the only one person in this hotel which service is on the high level! :)

Dont recommend this hotel and resort as well. Just wasting the money without anything good..
Disappointed..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jekaterina_Tallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four nights from the 10th May 2014 and whilst there were some problems the staff did all they could to endeavour that we had a good stay. We had a sun room which was quite large and well positioned with views overlooking the hotels private beach and looking out towards Jordan. The food at the hotel was plentiful prepared well,l with a good selection. A superb outside pool with plenty of beds made a pleasant change. No problem with power sockets which enabled us to keep our phones and iPads fully charged. In the evening entertainment was provided with different artists each night performing a variety of songs.

Room Tip: If you can, I would recommend as Sun Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenslgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I really don't have anything bad to say about this hotel. It has direct access to the Dead Sea with shaded areas in the sea and indoor and outdoor pools. Everything about this hotel is superb.. we had a stunning family room with great views, there is a huge spread of all kinds of delicious food to tickle any taste bud for breakfast and dinner. The lobby is relaxing and inviting and the staff are very helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They say all the rooms have view of the Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We have been guests at this hotel since it was named sheraton which was in 2009. This hotel has never let us down! If you are looking for a hotel with your family with activities and a relaxing stay look no further! This hotel is excellent lobby of high standards and so are the rooms. The food is excellent. The moment you walk into the buffet they greet you with a lovely smile. You can get an activities schedule from the front desk. There are night activities such as shows,singing,dancing something new every night. I really recommend this hotel for your dead sea stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Lovely location.right on the beach.staff needs to be more proficient in English.this is a hotel that caters to an international clientele ,in a very popular tourist destination. In Israel.
If you speak Russian or Hebrew you are okay....
Staff mostly friendly, housekeeping needs to be jacked up...breakfast buffet and dinner great..superb selection....overall a pleasant stay but not 5 stars...

Room Tip: Garden room,has private splash pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank notapearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights with my mother at the Herods Dead Sea hotel last week for the fourth time already and as usual we had the best most wonderful time ever!!! We love this hotel and both agree that without a doubt it is one of the best hotel in Israel!
We had the Executive Sun room with a huge deck balcony on the first floor that was beautifully decorated and very spacious.
The food wad delicious and we do not regret all the weight gained between the meals at the dinning hall and the snacks at the lounge.
The hotel has a beautiful private beach (where I spent most my time) and a big swimming pool (where my mom loved to swim).
The hotel's staff was very professional and attended all our needs and requests.
As you can read I have nothing but good things to write and I cannot wait for my next visit ☺️

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
1.6 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,071 reviews
2.2 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#9 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#13 of 17 in Ein Bokek
769 reviews
1.5 mi away
Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herods Hotel Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herods Hotel Dead Sea

Property: Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Address: Ein Bokek 86910, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ein Bokek
#3 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#4 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Herods Hotel Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Herods Hotel Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moriah Plaza Dead Sea Hotel
Neve Zohar Sheraton
Sheraton Neve Zohar
Herods Hotel Dead Sea Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing