We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The new Herods is pretty and modern but still needs more training for its staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We were there for 4 nights in the executive suite which is a beautiful room with a huge porch overlooking the pools and the Dead Sea front and center. The staff still needs to learn to give even better service. There were many chipped cups and plates in the dining rooms. We actually went to the table next to us to finally find a cup in good condition. The towels at the pool area were very old rough and too thin for outdoor use. We were surprised that the new hotel did not have new plush towels. The nightly entertainment was boring just singers that we're redundant. The food is adequate but not special or elegant enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabygs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed the second week in November - the weather was perfect!
The hotel was ok - nothing out of this world, but it was nice and ticked most of the boxes!

Location - fine but a long walk from any shops
Rooms - had a nice decor and were clean, plus nice sea view
Food - great selection and good standard
Spa - was nice, and was clean
Pool - good size and nice layout
Beach - a plus as they have their own private beach - it was clean and had enough beds, showers etc.
Entertainment/lobby bar - nice decor - but pretty poor entertainment
Service - they did try so you have to give them points for this - but it is difficult anywhere in Israel to get great service

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilarylevy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

First time for me and my husband to stay at Hotel along shore of the dead sea. Arrived at the Hotel we booked the exeutive room , Got a really nice reeom with a bottle of wine and fruits. the room was very nice and clean and had a buitiful view of the the sea - Heaven! , the food was great, the service as well, we tried out the Hammam room and the special pools with sulfor - Great experiance all in all we had a great vacation will defently go there again.

Room Tip: The higer the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yael889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Although wev been in the hotel only one night. it is a charming hotel
Spacious rooms with modern furniture
Dinner varied and delicious, as well as breakfast
Beach accessible, service of all employees at the highest level
Most Recommended

Room Tip: the room whit the privet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank דורית ל
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very good . We stayed in the executive room with a balcony and a small privet pool
A free lounge
The food is great
Stuff was friendly
Most recommended
Warm indoor salty water pool
Breakfast had a lot of options
The privet beach is very organized

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tamar0935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Check and Double Check is about choosing your room. See the info about this below.

This hotel is very good, but the ratings on Tripadvisor are incorrect in comparison to other higher standard hotels in the area. It really depends on what you want for your vacation at the Dead Sea and the deals you can find for the different hotels.

Pros and Cons - details below.

PROS:
Direct beach access to the Dead Sea
Excellent Dining Facilities
Executive staff that seriously cares that you enjoy your stay
Handicap accessible

CONS:
Old hotel that has been renovated
2 Km away from other shopping/restaurant facilities
Some rooms do not have balconies

There are two hotel areas 2 km apart from each other at the Dead Sea: Ein Bokek and Neve Zohar. At the Northern most hotel complex at EIn Bokek there are many more hotels, there are souvenir shops, mini markets, fast food and coffee shops. This means you have other options for buying food other than ordering at your hotel. The shops and activities there also provide other activity options for family members.

However, the newer, modern hotels DO NOT have direct beach access as they are further away from the Dead Sea. You either have go out of the hotel and walk to the beach or take the hotel shuttle.

At the Neve Zohar hotel complex there are only 3 hotels, it is quieter and there are no shopping facilities except for what is in the hotel. You can either drive to the shopping area or walk 2 KM (which is not advisable most of the year, here at the hottest place in Israel and sometimes the hottest place in the world!)

However the food at the Herod's is excellent and you can enjoy yourself without leaving the hotel! They have a huge selection for both breakfast and dinner and all members of our family really, really enjoyed their meals here.

For direct beach access to the Dead Sea, this is the best hotel in the area. When you have direct access to the beach - you really do spend more time floating in the Sea than when it becomes a hassle to walk or take a shuttle.

The hotel provides everyone with bathrobes so you can just walk straight to the beach from your hotel room.

CHOOSING A ROOM:
Despite some reviews on Trip Advisor and other internet sites that say every room has balcony with a view, there are 14 rooms at Herods that do not have balconies. These are used when the hotel is fully booked. Besides not having the option of sitting outside and enjoying the amazing view - you also have no way of drying swimming suits. There is no hairdryer in the room either - so make sure you ask them to bring you one!

So when you reserve a room at this hotel Check and Check again that you are getting a room with a balcony!!!!

If you do order a room with a balcony, I am sure you will have a wonderful stay, eat well and take advantage of having the Dead Sea right outside your door. .

Room Tip: Rooms: make sure you order a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We book this Spa because we was on our way to Eilat and some friends recommend us to make a stop in the Dead Sea from Jerusalem to have a Spa Treatment... Woao what a disappointment!!! Since we walk in to the Spa everything was with a lot of disorganization, the massage was OK, but the facilities are Old, and not so clean... not even a locker near the Spa rooms for your stuff...
We suppose to relax and spend 3 to 4 hours in the place, well after the Treatment (1Hr) my wife and me take the car again and continue our way to Eilat... Without take a shower!!! because there is not Showers at the SPA... you need to have a room to get a Shower!!! AVOID THE SPA... Dont know the quality of the Hotel!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mario K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fattal_Hotel_Chain, Manager at Herods Hotel Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Sir,
I reviewed your comments regarding your Fun Day at the Herods Dead Sea hotel.
I regretted reading you were not satisfied with the spa facilities of the hotel. I would like to point out the spa has undergone renovations and is one of the most popular spas in the Dead Sea region.
I am quite sure had you have referred your comments to one of the spa representatives, they would have done their utmost to assist you in order to meet your requirements.
We would be more than happy to offer you a Fun Day at the hotel as compensation should you be in the area once again. Please do not hesitate to contact me should this offer be to your satisfaction – where I would be more than happy to accompany you personally. Contact me at mobile no. 050-2457555
Best Regards,
Dorit Yogev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
1.6 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,663 reviews
1.5 mi away
Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
#14 of 17 in Ein Bokek
833 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
876 reviews
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#7 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herods Hotel Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herods Hotel Dead Sea

Address: Hamei Zohar Ein Bokek, Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
#3 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ein Bokek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
#4 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range: $208 - $1,432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Herods Hotel Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Herods Hotel Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moriah Plaza Dead Sea Hotel
Neve Zohar Sheraton
Sheraton Neve Zohar
Herods Hotel Dead Sea Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing