We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Marmalade Cat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marmalade Cat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 17 Watkins Glen B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Marmalade Cat!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Marmalade Cat Bed and Breakfast. The B&B was perfect in every way from the rose garden and inviting front porch to the delicious breakfast. Sally, our innkeeper, was friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable, nicely decorated and the perfect size for two people. Breakfast was outstanding every morning and got you through most of the day. The B&B is in a great location for touring the Seneca Lake wineries and neighboring towns. It's also within walking distance to several restaurants, shops and the Seneca Lake waterfront pier which was great after a day of being out and about in the wine region. It's a 5 minute drive, if that, to Watkins Glen state park. Really, The Marmalade Cat, is the best of everything! We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBBrit, Owner at The Marmalade Cat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We certainly enjoyed having you both stay with us and hope you can visit again sometime.
Cheers, Sally and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
62
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is what a bed and breakfast is supposed to be - quaint, charming, and cozy. The house was so cute and decorated perfectly to match the British charm of our warm hostess, Sally. She is the perfect innkeeper - friendly, hospitable, and very informative about the area. Our room (the Rose Room) including the bed, was very comfortable. Located just a few blocks from everything, this was the perfect place for us to stay. After three nights there, we almost hated to say goodbye to Sally. Well done and highly recommended!.

Room Tip: The Rose Room was very nice and located in the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieF51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBBrit, Owner at The Marmalade Cat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Charlie, thank you so much for the fantastic review; very kind of you. We loved having you both and hope that you can come back for another visit sometime. I have one of the best possible jobs, where all our guests are special and arrive as strangers, but leave as new friends.

Cheers, Sally and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My mom and I ventured up to the Watkins Glen area for a relaxing long weekend in April, and found the Marmalade Cat through TripAdvisor. Sally keeps a beautiful house and has decorated wonderfully. The nights got a little chilly in late spring, but there was a "fireplace"/spaceheater in our room that kept things very toasty. Located about a 5-10 minute walk from the main street, there are plenty of dinner options within walking distance (Sally has menus for most local joints, so you can figure out where to go before you head out). Breakfast was absolutely delicious - we stayed three nights and were treated to something different every morning, but everything kept us going straight through lunch to an early dinner, even with all the hiking! Mom and I both had a wonderful time - I can't speak highly enough about our nights here; we'll definitely be back the next time we're in the area!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night while we were on the Deck the Halls Wine trail weekend. It was so beautiful! We stayed in the Rose room and as the name suggests it was decorated in a rose/lace theme, however it was not overwhelming. The king-sized bed was quite comfortable and the "fireplace" gave the room a nice ambiance.
There are two cats that allow guests to stay in their residence. They are friendly, but not bothersome. One even joined us for breakfast, which was fantastic. We were greeted by a bowl of fresh fruit and yogurt. This was followed by a slice of quiche, sausage, and an English muffin. There was homemade marmalade and strawberry jam, along with an assortment of teas and coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited the Finger Lakes and decided to spend two nights at the Marmalade Cat in Watkins Glen based on Tripadvisor reviews. After staying there, we felt compelled to add to the positive reviews!

It's simply impossible to say enough good things about this place. It's on a quiet street in downtown, a quick walk to good restaurants, and very short drive to some of the better wineries by Seneca Lake. The Watkins Glen Gorge (amazing) is also only about a 3 minute drive away.

The B&B itself is fantastic with a lot of character. The other reviews here aren't lying...Sally is a great host with a lot of knowledge of the area and is happy to give recommendations on anything. Her breakfasts are easily some of the best I've ever had. Her quiche is THE best ever.

As the name suggests, they are cat lovers here, but the cats either stay downstairs or outside, so they don't go upstairs to the bedrooms. I'm allergic to cats and had absolutely no problems. That said, my allergies didn't keep me from playing with one of the cats, Missy, who is the most friendly cat ever. She greets you when you come in and is quick to hop on your lap if you want her to, so great!

We're definitely going to visit the Finger Lakes again, and we'll definitely look to come back to the Marmalade Cat!

Room Tip: The Rose Room is the biggest, but the bathroom is admittedly smaller than usual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Temujin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our Wedding Anniversary there. What a great experience. It was the first time we had ever stayed at a BB. Sally did an outstanding job of making you feel at home and what a great breakfast she served each morning. We will return in the future. The Marmalade Cat Bed & Breakfast is within walking distance to Seneca Lake, Watkins Glen State Park and Falls. There is a great Mexican Restaurant across the street, and many more in town for a very short walk. I really enjoyed my coffee each morning on the front porch before breakfast.

We would highly recommend the Marmalade Cat Bed & Breakfast to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Centrally located in the Finger Lakes by being in Watkins Glen, The Marmalade Cat is exactly what you would want in a B&B. Sally makes you feel more like you are visiting an old friend rather than just spending the night somewhere. And it was the best sleep that I have had in years!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
3.0 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watkins Motel
Watkins Motel
#6 of 17 in Watkins Glen
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colonial Inn & Motel
Colonial Inn & Motel
#9 of 17 in Watkins Glen
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmalade Cat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmalade Cat Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Marmalade Cat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 400 E 4th St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1217
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Marmalade Cat Bed And Breakfast
The Marmalade Cat Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing