We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Kissimmee, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our family stayed in 3 of the cozy cabins available at Lakeside Resort for a great week in July. Tony, the owner, was a kind, gracious host providing clean accommodations; lovely breakfast room with a great view of Seneca Lake; access to firewood and fire-pit we used to roast hot-dogs and smores; a HUGE beautiful field area perfect for our dogs to run and great for a peaceful stroll or playing frisbee. Our dogs were greeted by Tony's friendly dog, Jimmy.
Lorena, who provides clean rooms and towels daily is very friendly and helpful; she has done a great job with the gardens and flower pots around the resort which are so beautiful!
If you are looking for a warm, affordable, clean, family vacation spot, with a great view, lovely grounds and kind owner - then this is the place for you. We plan to return again in the future!

Room Tip: the Cabins vary in sizes and types of accommodations and are private (e.g. King bed or 2 queens) som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Tony is a wonderful and warm host, always making sure that we had everything we need. This included access to his fire pit for smores, endless coffee and breakfast foods, use of many picnic areas, basketball and Frisbee! Lorena helped to make each day fresh and fun. She keeps the gardens blooming and is very friendly. We will definitely visit again! Thanks so much for a great week.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in room 12. The resort is located just 5 minutes north of Watkins Glen. Tony was a great host. When I called to confirm that I could take my dog along, he replied with an enthusiastic "of course, dogs are welcome!" The continental breakfast is self serve in dining area, and includes coffee, tea, orange juice, hot choc, hard-boiled eggs and an assortment of muffins & toast/bagels. Rm. 12 had small fridge, microwave, and coffee machine. His white lab Jimmy was friendly towards guests and their dogs as well. Beautiful view of the lake includes sight of Hector waterfalls on the opposite side. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DawnLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

For the price this is a nice place to stay. At $89 it's a bargain compared to the average $139 room. The owner, Tony, lives on the premises and the office is in the walk-out basement of his home. There are no thrills here. The continental breakfast is just that, a continental breakfast. It is a good place to get a cup of coffee and enjoy the view. Our room did not have a coffee maker, but a short stroll (100 ft) to the breakfast area took care of that. Our room (Room 10) was tight with two queen beds and a small table with two chairs. Some other rooms looked more spacious. The beds are VERY firm.The towels are thin but the quaintness, views and Tony's politeness overcame the shortcomings. There is not much in the way of fitness equipment. We did not have wireless, nor did we ask about it. I believe there is access closer to the office.

All in all my wife and I were pleased and would stay here again. If you are looking for all the amenities of a larger motel, or the plushness of a B&B, stay in one of those. If you are looking for a quiet, clean and affordable room to sleep, this may be your place...

Room Tip: For best lake views ask for an east facing rooms. The cabins are the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sauer1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

When we arrived, the owner actually told us that he was too busy to check us in and that he had lots of other things to do. After a little pleading, based on our time schedule, he agreed, but was not happy about it. When we walked into our room, it reminded us of the 60s. The furniture was extremely outdated and the smell was very musty. I did see one of the cabin rooms, which was nicer than ours. The beds were quite uncomfortable, almost like laying on a piece of cardboard. Overall, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Creek, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have visited Seneca Lake two times in the past five years, both times we ended up staying at Lakeside Resorts. The first time we were very disappointed with our accomodations that we booked at another location, so we were frantically looking for a place to stay and that's how we met Tony at Lakeside Resorts. He was able to get us a king size cabin at a great rate. Years later we were headed up to the area again to go to a concert in Ithaca and decided to stay a few nights. Upon calling to confirm our reservations at another location I was notified that we were booked in June instead of May! Arg! I was very frustrated, but once again Tony to the rescue, I called and he was able to get us a king size cabin with a kitchen area for all the nights we requested. Actually, he gave us a better deal than at the place I originally booked, we were able to stay 3 nights, for the cost of 2 at the other cabin rental location. Tony is accomodating, friendly and professional. We once again enjoyed our stay and have learned our lesson, Lakeside Resort is a great place for a little getaway. It's inexpensive, quaint, and clean. Thank you for another great stay :)

Room Tip: The cabin we stayed in I think it was 15 was really great king size had a mini fridge and a sink wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife & I chose Lakeside Resort after reviewing AAA & Trip Advisor. Stayed 5 days to hike and cruise through wine country. You can't go wrong. Tony is the most accommodating & friendly motel owner we've met. His "pride of ownership" is obvious & well deserved. His rooms are extremely reasonable, clean and up-to-date with TV, iron, mini-fridge & microwave. He adds to this with a continental breakfast in a dining area with beautiful views. If you wish to stay in a motel that is run by a small businessman who is friendly, gracious and genuinely cares about making your visit a pleasant experience, this is the place for you. And if you are a "dog person", Tony's Lab, Jimmy is a delight. We won't think of staying any place else when we return to Watkins Glen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
17.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
2.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longhouse Lodge Motel
Longhouse Lodge Motel
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Resort

Property: Lakeside Resort
Address: 3812 State Route 14, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing