We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down big time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watkins Glen-Corning KOA Camping Resort
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Let down big time!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Let down to say the least. After visiting this KOA we went there with the same expectations. Staff in office not always the friendliest, but doable if you ignore there less then camper charm. Arriving at our cabin we noticed no futon cover on the futon, we went to the desk to be told housekeeping left and it would be difficult to locate a cover. Well this was a lie because we never we brought one and were told by two neighbors they didn't have one either. Assuming housekeeping no longer wanted to clean them so now guests can sit on plastic. Luckily we did not need to use the bathrooms because trip by trip the cleanliness of those bathrooms goes further and further down. Now here is where this KOA completely lost us! Second day we head down to the pool to find it is closed because once a year they empty the pool and this was it. Mind you each campsite was full at this campgrounds, kids everywhere, adults who like to sit in Jacuzzi, and they close the pool?! Unbelievable, of course it took two days for them to fill with hose! And upon us leaving the pool was back open. We asked the girl at the front desk if we were being given a credit towards next stay for the inconvenience and she stated she knew nothing and to write it in the review we would be sent. Having no warning of them emptying the pool was not acceptable! We should have been emailed that during our stay the pool would be unusable. This way we could have changed our dates or looked elsewhere for the accommodations we enjoy. We stay at this KOA minimum of three times a year but next year may not be the same.

Room Tip: May want to get the cabin with bathroom, since the bathrooms are unbearable. Or of course if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodcook1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    55
    29
    22
    20
See reviews for
90
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in a little cabin at this KOA which came with a fully equipped kitchen. There was also a full bath in the cabin. The cabin is compact and cute and kept very clean. The sheets, towels etc were fresh and smelt clean. This cabin sleeps 4 plus a child, there is a queen bed with a smaller bunk bed on top and a sofa bed as well. The mattress on the queen bed was very comfy but the sofa bed wasn't great! The only thing we did not like was that our cabin was right behind the put put golf and we could constantly hear people talking and kids screaming outside. There are cabins near the woods at the back of the camp ground which looked secluded and quiet, I would definitely recommend getting one of those if you intend to stay in a cabin.

This is one of the biggest KOA campgrounds I have seen. They have lots of activities for kids as well, all in all we were happy campers !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svasti g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This being our first time at this campground I was a little nervous as to what awaited. We stayed in the Sunset Acres section, and we absolutely loved it. The campsite was clean and the extra touches of fresh flower baskets adorning your own pedestal light was nice. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Also the fresh baked cookies they send to your site upon arrival was a sweet touch, not to me trio they were yummy. Bought more throughout our stay. There were many different activities to do close by I the town of Watkins Glen. The Captain Bill's dinner cruise was amazing. The food, music, staff and ambiance made for a special night. The falls at Watkins Glen state park are breathtaking. Take your time though, as it is a hike up to the top. We will definitely be back again. Already planning for next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
557 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location near many different sights including Corning and the Finger Lakes. The kabin was nice and clean. Ours had a TV. While I didn't like that "feature" we chose not to use it and dilute our family time. Having the fridge was very helpful. This was the first KOA I've been to where we were not escorted to our kabin. The staff were very unknowledgeable about local sites, etc. My children loved the bouncy pillow and the indoor pool. The mini-golf was another nice feature.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the basic cabins,The welcome was fine, home baked cookies awaited us when we arrived. Sadly,the bed was very uncomfortable. I loved the pool.
My husband will not go back because we were woken at 3am when a stranger walked into our cabin. It was a terrifying experience and because we are fairly local, we left at 4am after we were unable to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've stayed here on two occasions, each time for the big vintage sportscar event in town. Hotels in town are booked for years in advance so friends of mine have been staying here for 10 years. We stay in deluxe cabins with kitchenettes and full bathrooms. While they are not exactly luxurious, they are reasonably clean and offer us what we need for the weekend. Nobody put a mint on my pillow but the staff is friendly and took are of our needs. We've already booked for next year. Closest lodging to the track and very convenient to town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricochet_Rabbit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Staying in a deluxe cabin with a bathroom but no kitchen. Also available are camping cabins and others with kitchens. The cabin seems pretty new, very clean, and as pictured on the website. The mattresses are thin plastic types with no mattress pads so you may want to bring a cover or blanket for under the sheets. When staying here off season heat may be a problem. In October we were given 2 small cube style electric heaters. The cabin was warm enough after about 24 hours but completely unheated when we arrived! There's a wall a/c unit for summer. Each cabin has a nice deck, porch swing, and fire pit. The park itself is in a good location and seems well kept. Overall, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktjnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
10.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
22.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
7.1 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
96 reviews
5.0 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,178 reviews
21.2 mi away
Firelight Camps
Firelight Camps
#1 of 3 in Ithaca
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen-Corning KOA Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen-Corning KOA Camping Resort

Property: Watkins Glen-Corning KOA Camping Resort
Address: 1710 State Route 414, PO Box 228, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9526
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 152
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen-Corning Koa Camping Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing