We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racing weekend accommodations were great”
Review of Seneca Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seneca Lodge
Fairview, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Racing weekend accommodations were great”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We recently stayed in a cabin at Seneca Lodge in Watkins Glen and, after having reading some pretty negative reviews, found our accommodations to be entirely acceptable. Our cabin had a recently renovated bathroom, an air conditioner, and a small gathering space. The cabin was very clean and pest-free, and the two beds were very comfortable. We usually camp for racing weekends at the Glen, but on this trip we were travelling with members of our Miata Club and unable to drag all of the camping gear. We felt that the cost of this cabin was entirely in line with what was being offered. Kudos to Seneca Lodge for keeping prices affordable in a very rustic setting, close to the race track and the state park. They do not pretend to offer high class accommodations; one look at the prices should confirm that. We would definitely recommend staying in the caliber of cabin that we stayed in (we understand that some do not have AC, etc). We would book the same accommodation again. Our one suggestion is for the dining room to open earlier in the morning instead of waiting until 8:00 A.M., or at least making coffee available before the dining room opens for full service.

Room Tip: One couple in our group stayed in a room that was under the bar area and found it to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    35
    16
    15
See reviews for
33
61
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was the best in a long time being rustic and in the woods was what we needed the NEW CABIN was great the inside very clean everything was just right there is no tv, or icebox but we are camping the beds clean but very firm other then that the lodge food was great I wished they opened @7.00 am and not 8.00 am I a wake early we walked across to the state forest and saved parking $ you have to see this place over 19 huge water falls there are no words in my language the can say on the forest I was in aw you most stay here reminder there are older cabins very rustic if you can grab a new one I suggest that and for the price a night o my save save $$$$$$

Room Tip: The new cabin for two friends twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We looked at Seneca lodge when we were sightseeing in the area. When we walked in to ask about rooms; lady at desk told us we really needed to look first before taking one. That they were rustic. Wow! They really need torn down. We were so scared after looking at the first and second one ; we just wanted out of there. They were not even clean rooms. We did Not stay there

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2006rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Watkins Glen hotels

Quinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We travel to Watkins Glen area for the weekend. We stayed in the motel room. The room was very basic, 2 double beds, TV and bathroom. No amenities were in the room. I have to say though it was clean. Didn't see any bugs, like other reviews mentioned. Yes it was outdated, but that is what made it nostalgic. We basically used it to lay our heads down to sleep. We didn't spend much time there. Would I stay there again? I probably would check out other motels and see what else is in the area. If I couldn't find something for the same amount I would stay there again. It was clean and no frills.

Room Tip: Motel rooms seemed OK. The cabins did look run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie19641964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We travel every Thanksgiving to Watkins Glen to enjoy the beautiful scenery and explore the surrounding areas. We've stayed at the Seneca Lodge each time and found the rooms barely acceptable and very outdated. This past year we were told the only available room was a cabin, we thought, gosh, that sounds very homey and should be fun. What a surprise when we went to the "cabin", the entry to the cabin, about 10 feet by 18 feet was obstructed by large tree roots and the door to the cabin wouldn't close completely or lock, The floor of the cabin was not flat, in fact if you put something by the wall it would roll quickly to the center of the cabin, the windows, which we could not open, were encrusted with spiders, spider webs, fly crap and what appeared to be years of dirt and possibly mold. It stank, the bathroom was a mess, the shower looked like someone had washed a load of potatoes in it and couldn't be used. Those cabins should be condemned! The only redeeming part of this Lodge is the dining room with its' great food and ambience and the general location. That was our last visit to the Seneca Lodge, I'm still paranoid thinking about dirt, filth and bugs we didn't see.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, do not choose a cabin, they are filthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magoo819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel and property are right out of the 1960s. Or is it the 1950s? No online reservations, no electronic swip cards. However, it is VERY convenient to Watkins Glen race track. $90/room on Memorial Day weekend and no amenities. I think the price was a bit high but I was willing to accept it for the convenience to WGI. However, the place is still pretty cool. Even if you don't stay on the property, you must check out the bar. Genesee beer on tap. Now, if you aren't from upstate NY, the name Genesee isn't going to mean much but if you are from NY then Genesee is the nectar of the gods. The beer and mixed drink prices are fair. The racing memorabilia is very cool. And they give you your change back in all sorts of crazy denominations, $2 bills, Kennedy half-dollars, dollar coins..... Very rustic setting and rooms but it's all still pretty neat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Watkins Glen for a weekend of club racing at the track for the second time in the last 8 months, and both times we stayed at the Seneca Lodge because the location is so convenient. The rooms are VERY basic - bed, bathroom, TV, and they could definitely be cleaner! Overall our stay was pleasant though; the staff is friendly, the bar is a little different and fun. We would stay here again simply for the convenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watkins Motel
Watkins Motel
#6 of 17 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seneca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Lodge

Property: Seneca Lodge
Address: PO Box 272, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-0272
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Seneca Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing