We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible acccomodation”
Review of Seneca Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seneca Lodge
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We travel every Thanksgiving to Watkins Glen to enjoy the beautiful scenery and explore the surrounding areas. We've stayed at the Seneca Lodge each time and found the rooms barely acceptable and very outdated. This past year we were told the only available room was a cabin, we thought, gosh, that sounds very homey and should be fun. What a surprise when we went to the "cabin", the entry to the cabin, about 10 feet by 18 feet was obstructed by large tree roots and the door to the cabin wouldn't close completely or lock, The floor of the cabin was not flat, in fact if you put something by the wall it would roll quickly to the center of the cabin, the windows, which we could not open, were encrusted with spiders, spider webs, fly crap and what appeared to be years of dirt and possibly mold. It stank, the bathroom was a mess, the shower looked like someone had washed a load of potatoes in it and couldn't be used. Those cabins should be condemned! The only redeeming part of this Lodge is the dining room with its' great food and ambience and the general location. That was our last visit to the Seneca Lodge, I'm still paranoid thinking about dirt, filth and bugs we didn't see.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, do not choose a cabin, they are filthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magoo819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 172 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel and property are right out of the 1960s. Or is it the 1950s? No online reservations, no electronic swip cards. However, it is VERY convenient to Watkins Glen race track. $90/room on Memorial Day weekend and no amenities. I think the price was a bit high but I was willing to accept it for the convenience to WGI. However, the place is still pretty cool. Even if you don't stay on the property, you must check out the bar. Genesee beer on tap. Now, if you aren't from upstate NY, the name Genesee isn't going to mean much but if you are from NY then Genesee is the nectar of the gods. The beer and mixed drink prices are fair. The racing memorabilia is very cool. And they give you your change back in all sorts of crazy denominations, $2 bills, Kennedy half-dollars, dollar coins..... Very rustic setting and rooms but it's all still pretty neat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Watkins Glen for a weekend of club racing at the track for the second time in the last 8 months, and both times we stayed at the Seneca Lodge because the location is so convenient. The rooms are VERY basic - bed, bathroom, TV, and they could definitely be cleaner! Overall our stay was pleasant though; the staff is friendly, the bar is a little different and fun. We would stay here again simply for the convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We Traveled to Seneca Lodge in May of 2012 and had a blast! It was like camping without the tent lol. Of course, I'm kidding we had a lovely stay here! We traveled with another couple and went wine tasting around Seneca Lake for the weekend.

Hotel:
Overall the hotel was a great value! Two bedroom room with television, fridge, and hot water for like 50 bucks a couple for the weekend was great! It has it's rustic charm and certainly a wonderful place to eat and stay. I would totally stay here again next time for the value and steak house!

Room:
Our room was a two bedroom. Very clean and spacious for the value! comfortable beds as well.
We weren't inside much so we only needed a place to sleep.

Service:
Service was excellent :) The owners here know what they're doing :)

Food:
I cannot rave about the steakhouse enough! It was absolutely wonderful. They had a great salad bar, wonderful staff, excellent steak, and tehy even have their own brewery with speciality beers. I seriously devoured everything in front of me the night we ate there.

Bar:
We brought our own alcohol for most of the weekend, but barely needed it due to the wine tasting events we were attending. The brewery in the steakhouse was excellent though!

Activities:
One thing I do remember that I will never forget was the nightly fires we built. I believe after dinner we went up to the front desk and asked for some firewood and they told us like $3 for as much as you could carry. So that made for an interesting game of who could carry the most firewood to the the site. We had a few roaring fires and excellent laughs and smores!

Seneca Lodge is on a great location for the wineries in the area. I would totally recommend staying here to anyone who is looking for great value, family fun, adults only weekend, memories to last a lifetime, and excellent food!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahdaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Lodge for 3 years during Grapehounds, the Greyhound wine tasting event the end of July on Seneca Lake. Initially, we were concerned about the very "rustic" description, but gave it a try because of convenience, and friends who were staying there. And I have to say, we love it! Granted, we are not fancy hotel people, and have never expected lots of amenities. So Seneca Lodge suits us perfectly---there are pretty much NO amenities. Our cabin is large, clean and comfortable enough for 4 Greyhounds and 2 adults. The first 2 years, the bathroom was pretty scary, kinda like an old camp bathroom when I was a kid. But imagine our surprise and pleasure when we walked in this year and the bathroom had been completely re-done! Wood paneling, clean new shower, vanity sink with storage and good lighting. We were happy campers! For the reasonable price, this is all we ask for for this event, where it's not easy to find convenient, affordable, dog-friendly accommodations. I love the old fashioned atmosphere. You almost expect to see Baby and Johnny from Dirty Dancing, sneaking out of one of the rooms at sunrise. There is a sense of relaxed camaraderie among the guests, who are old, young, from all walks of life. If you can appreciate this, and not expect luxury, your experience here will be memorable. I do wish they had little fridges in the cabins, though! Management is a bit stingy with the ice. Next time, we're bringing our own fridge. Breakfast in the lodge is good, nothing outstanding, and not especially inexpensive. Dinner seems a bit high for what you get, but again, atmosphere elevates the meal somewhat. Be sure and visit the Gorge in the State Park. You can walk in from the top of the park close to the Lodge, and be going DOWN the steps instead of UP. Then have someone pick you up at the bottom to return to the Lodge. The Gorge is an otherworldly experience, not to be missed. In closing, if you don't think you would like Seneca Lodge, you probably won't. If you think it suits you, join the family!

Room Tip: There are newer cabins if you prefer less rustic (read "old"), but they are smaller. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

1st off, the price was better than anyone else in the area. 2nd is the location. Its just up the hill (2 minutes) from the main street in town, so no road traffic all night. 3rd its across the street from the state park you can walk in and avoid the park fee. Entrance to the Gorge isn't far from there, as is the pool.

The room itself is basic, but has what you need. Bed was comfortable and not worn out. Hot water all the time. Sheets were changed everyday. AC worked great (it was over 90 degrees all week). Room was VERY large. Dehumidifer was in the room too, worked fine.

The only minor issue I had was sink/wash area very small and no refridgarator in the room. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCB-511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We hadn't been to the Lodge in 13 years, but we knew we would still love it. You cannot beat the value and location of this gem. Still feels very family run. The food and service in the restaurant is friendly and satisfying. The selections met all of my diverse family needs. Plus, we could bring our dog along for another excellent family vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHajjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
3.7 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
146 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#8 of 9 in Watkins Glen
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seneca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Lodge

Address: PO Box 272, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-0272
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Seneca Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing