We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't beat the location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seneca Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seneca Lodge
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“can't beat the location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Watkins Glen for a weekend of club racing at the track for the second time in the last 8 months, and both times we stayed at the Seneca Lodge because the location is so convenient. The rooms are VERY basic - bed, bathroom, TV, and they could definitely be cleaner! Overall our stay was pleasant though; the staff is friendly, the bar is a little different and fun. We would stay here again simply for the convenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    56
    34
    15
    15
See reviews for
32
61
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Throop, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We Traveled to Seneca Lodge in May of 2012 and had a blast! It was like camping without the tent lol. Of course, I'm kidding we had a lovely stay here! We traveled with another couple and went wine tasting around Seneca Lake for the weekend.

Hotel:
Overall the hotel was a great value! Two bedroom room with television, fridge, and hot water for like 50 bucks a couple for the weekend was great! It has it's rustic charm and certainly a wonderful place to eat and stay. I would totally stay here again next time for the value and steak house!

Room:
Our room was a two bedroom. Very clean and spacious for the value! comfortable beds as well.
We weren't inside much so we only needed a place to sleep.

Service:
Service was excellent :) The owners here know what they're doing :)

Food:
I cannot rave about the steakhouse enough! It was absolutely wonderful. They had a great salad bar, wonderful staff, excellent steak, and tehy even have their own brewery with speciality beers. I seriously devoured everything in front of me the night we ate there.

Bar:
We brought our own alcohol for most of the weekend, but barely needed it due to the wine tasting events we were attending. The brewery in the steakhouse was excellent though!

Activities:
One thing I do remember that I will never forget was the nightly fires we built. I believe after dinner we went up to the front desk and asked for some firewood and they told us like $3 for as much as you could carry. So that made for an interesting game of who could carry the most firewood to the the site. We had a few roaring fires and excellent laughs and smores!

Seneca Lodge is on a great location for the wineries in the area. I would totally recommend staying here to anyone who is looking for great value, family fun, adults only weekend, memories to last a lifetime, and excellent food!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leahdaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Lodge for 3 years during Grapehounds, the Greyhound wine tasting event the end of July on Seneca Lake. Initially, we were concerned about the very "rustic" description, but gave it a try because of convenience, and friends who were staying there. And I have to say, we love it! Granted, we are not fancy hotel people, and have never expected lots of amenities. So Seneca Lodge suits us perfectly---there are pretty much NO amenities. Our cabin is large, clean and comfortable enough for 4 Greyhounds and 2 adults. The first 2 years, the bathroom was pretty scary, kinda like an old camp bathroom when I was a kid. But imagine our surprise and pleasure when we walked in this year and the bathroom had been completely re-done! Wood paneling, clean new shower, vanity sink with storage and good lighting. We were happy campers! For the reasonable price, this is all we ask for for this event, where it's not easy to find convenient, affordable, dog-friendly accommodations. I love the old fashioned atmosphere. You almost expect to see Baby and Johnny from Dirty Dancing, sneaking out of one of the rooms at sunrise. There is a sense of relaxed camaraderie among the guests, who are old, young, from all walks of life. If you can appreciate this, and not expect luxury, your experience here will be memorable. I do wish they had little fridges in the cabins, though! Management is a bit stingy with the ice. Next time, we're bringing our own fridge. Breakfast in the lodge is good, nothing outstanding, and not especially inexpensive. Dinner seems a bit high for what you get, but again, atmosphere elevates the meal somewhat. Be sure and visit the Gorge in the State Park. You can walk in from the top of the park close to the Lodge, and be going DOWN the steps instead of UP. Then have someone pick you up at the bottom to return to the Lodge. The Gorge is an otherworldly experience, not to be missed. In closing, if you don't think you would like Seneca Lodge, you probably won't. If you think it suits you, join the family!

Room Tip: There are newer cabins if you prefer less rustic (read "old"), but they are smaller. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

1st off, the price was better than anyone else in the area. 2nd is the location. Its just up the hill (2 minutes) from the main street in town, so no road traffic all night. 3rd its across the street from the state park you can walk in and avoid the park fee. Entrance to the Gorge isn't far from there, as is the pool.

The room itself is basic, but has what you need. Bed was comfortable and not worn out. Hot water all the time. Sheets were changed everyday. AC worked great (it was over 90 degrees all week). Room was VERY large. Dehumidifer was in the room too, worked fine.

The only minor issue I had was sink/wash area very small and no refridgarator in the room. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCB-511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We hadn't been to the Lodge in 13 years, but we knew we would still love it. You cannot beat the value and location of this gem. Still feels very family run. The food and service in the restaurant is friendly and satisfying. The selections met all of my diverse family needs. Plus, we could bring our dog along for another excellent family vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHajjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

the people had very little personality. our room smelled like it was closed up for a year, very musty and moldy smelling. we heard wonderful reviews about their food and when we tried it, it was not only looked bad but tasted worse. we paid $22 for a ribeye steak that was raw in the middle like they through a frozen steak on the grill burned the outside and the inside was still bloody and cold and covered in black pepper, the fries weren't bad but when we asked the waiter (after we finally got someone's attention) it they could cook it longer, they literally threw it back on the grill (we could tell cause the steak section we had cut open was the exact same as when we left it) it was still under cooked when we got it back and AND they threw our fries BACK IN THE FRYER! to re heat them!
My shrimp scampi I spent $18 was 6 rubbery shrimp and an entire box of noodles that had very little butter and garlic. They dashed what looked like parsely all over the edges of my plate to make it look pretty I'm guessing.
HORRIBLE I have never paid so much for such a bad dinner.
Plus we asked for 3 Different kinds of beer and they were out OF EVERY ONE OF THEM! ranked whatever number sports bar in NY wow not in our book
Never again will we go back there
try and exterminator too, there was a huge spider in our room and for me that was not fun at all

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kicory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Watkins Glen hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Ok let's be honest it's a very rustic bare bones lodge, rooms are musty and old, enough allergens to choke a horse but I go back year after year. This is a good place for a guys base on a motorcycle trip as the roads around are some of the best in North America. Don't expect to be pampered but you will love the quirky bar and the food at the lodge is good and filling after a long day. There is a casual and friendly atmosphere similar to a campground and guest mingle and share a few drinks on the decks outside the rooms, some light campfires in the common area under the trees. Pull up a chair and join in. You may enjoy yourself.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank carguyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watkins Motel
Watkins Motel
#7 of 17 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seneca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Lodge

Property: Seneca Lodge
Address: PO Box 272, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-0272
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Seneca Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing