We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ and Quality craft beers”
Review of Nickel's Pit BBQ

Nickel's Pit BBQ
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $44
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: We partner with a small, local farm and our menu is updated to reflect availability. Our ribs, chicken, brisket and other meats are so popular that they may sell out during business hours, or not be featured. All of our meats are smoked fresh and smoking is very long, intricate process that cannot be rushed. Give us a call to see what we are offering! We do classic BBQ with an Upstate NY spin and want to give you the best dining experience. We appreciate your understanding, flexibility, and appetites!
Southeastern Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and Quality craft beers”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stopped in for some Homemade Chile, Beef brisket and flat bread pulled pork pizza are were very good. They have 3 types of sauces on the table to add to your entrees. The selection of craft beers is fantastic and you can get a 4 ounce glass sample for $1.75. I tried five in all was impressed with the quality of the brews. Will stop in again if in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingtheUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    100
    36
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great bbq”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is the place to be for great bbq and great beer. The portions are big and the food is finger lickin' good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank maxnmeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
662 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Best of both worlds”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Eating with a vegetarian , it was nice to see a well above average vegetarian option on the menu..

BBQ wasn't stellar but good..

Some of the sides were hit and miss also...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonny_circumvehor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ in Watkins Glen”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Dang! That was some good bbq. Ok, I'm not sure what was going on with the hostess stand/wait tonight (20 minute wait with multiple 4-tops open), but whatever. Sat outside at the bar and had one of the Rooster Fish beers (I highly recommend the Black IPA, and my wife enjoyed the Mysterious Amber).

Our server, Taylor, did a nice job. We ordered 10 of the BBQ wings (split with the kids too), just to get a taste. Man oh man, they are great. The slow smoking before they go in the fryer really gives them a great flavor and crispiness. Highly recommended, and I'd love to try the Buffalo sometime.

Ok, my wife and I each got the 1/4 chicken 1/4 rack dinner. Chicken was nicely cooked, and I tried all the sauces on the table. I like the combo of the spicy bbq and the Carolina bbq the best; the original sauce is a little too sweet. Ribs were out of this world. Dry rub was really flavorful, with a little bit of heat. Ribs themselves were super-meaty and almost no fat. Delicious!

One son had the brisket sandwich, which he loved and devoured. Other son had the 1/2 rack, and those were demolished too. The cole slaw is a bit on the mayonnaise-ey side, but tasty. The bbq baked beans are solid. I was a little disappointed in the curly fries; needed to be a little crispier with more seasoning.

I would go back to Nickel's in a heartbeat. Terrific.

Note: open for dinner every night, but open for lunch only on Sat/Sun.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NantucketRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge portion, great service”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Bummed that they ran put of while chickens and brisket, but we ordered ribs and pulled pork which was amazing. Huge portions (we had enough leftovers for another meal) and our server couldn't have been better. The vibe is great, the kitchen is on full display is and is a finely-tuned engine. It was like watching live theatre.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonandSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickel's Pit BBQ also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Montour Falls, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Nickel's Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing