We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great BBQ!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nickel's Pit BBQ

Nickel's Pit BBQ
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $44
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nickel's Pit BBQ will be closing for the season on Saturday, November 5, 2016! Visit our website and social media to learn more about our off-season BBQ weekends starting in late November/early December. We partner with a small, local farm and our menu is updated to reflect availability. Our ribs, chicken, brisket and other meats are so popular that they may sell out during business hours, or not be featured. All of our meats are smoked fresh and smoking is very long, intricate process that cannot be rushed. Give us a call to see what we are offering! We do classic BBQ with an Upstate NY spin and want to give you the best dining experience. We appreciate your understanding, flexibility, and appetites!
Blasdell, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stopped by here after hiking the Glen on a Sunday afternoon. Very friendly service. GREAT beers (all Roosterfish brewery) and tasty food! My husband had the puuled pork, I had the Kilbasa. Both excellent! Being from Buffalo, it was nice to see that a native Buffalonian was the owner and operator of this restaurant! Great food..would def go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    97
    34
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Mordor, NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We passed this place our first day of vacation, and my daughter decided she wanted to eat there. We went in only to be stopped and told they were only serving wings and fries. So we went elsewhere. Next day we decided to try them for lunch, but no! They were open but not serving. This time the person at the door told us that they are only open Wednesday-Sunday for actual meals, and they are either not open or serving only chicken wings and fries the rest of the week (or maybe only at dinner time, or maybe only on alternate Tuesdays--I can't keep their story straight). I think this place can't make up its mind whether it wants to be a restaurant or a sports bar.

By this time we were determined to have a meal there, so we managed to show up at dinner time on Wednesday. This time they were serving food but they had no chicken. As other reviewers have mentioned, you order at the counter and they bring your food to you. It's not sauced when it comes. There are squeeze bottles on the table of 4 kinds of sauce and you add that yourself. The meats, sides and cornbread were all fairly average. Of the things we tried, the pulled pork and baked beans were the best. They sell beer but it's all from this one local microbrewery, and I didn't care for it.

There is another BBQ place in town but we weren't there long enough to try that one. Personally I wouldn't return to Nickel's. There's nothing really wrong with it, but not much right either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kitchenwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Never got a chance to eat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

So several people recommended this place, and several others said don't even think about it. In the ghost town of Watkins Glen, there are not many choices, so we decided to give it a try. We were previously told that its not a typical restaurant and you order and pay for your food at a counter...no big deal, we were expecting gourmet in this area. We were also told that they only open on weekends..not sure if this is true.
Went for lunch one day at noon...and they were closed. Went for dinner the next night at 8:00pm and when we walked in they told us no more ribs and no more chicken. What type of BBQ place has "no more ribs!" Ok, after 10 more minutes of looking at the menu, we decided to order the meatloaf and brisket. One in our party of 4 ordered the meatloaf, and they promptly announced "that's the last of the meatloaf." At that point we walked out ...but prior to that we were told by the guy at the door that they open at noon (obviously not the day we went) but not all the food is out of the smoker at noon so if coming for lunch we would be better off waiting until 1-2:00pm. Okey dokey dude!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JC4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top quality BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here on 8/14/2013, and thoroughly enjoyed it. You are given a menu when you walk in, and you can stand there and decide what you want, or take it to a table and decide. Then you have to go to the cashier to place your order. It worked well, as the place was not busy, but I wonder how it works when they are busy. Servers bring your food, and it arrived quickly. Servers return to see that all is well. They have 12 draft beers from the neighboring micro brewery, in the $5-8 range for a pint.
All food was very good. The brisket and the ribs were especially tender and tasty. My sandwich of kielbasa, pulled pork and bacon was interesting, if not outstanding; I expected a jucier, tastier kielbasa. Bacon was thick-cut and excellent. Accompanying sides (we had potato salad, cole slaw, and baked beans) appeared to have been made on premises, and were excellent. We will definitely return there for dinner when we return to Watkins Glen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice open air pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was impressed with this little place nestled in storefronts with their open air concept. Bar/pub like atmosphere with live music and outdoor seating with propane towers for warmth. The only complaint i can say is that you have to go to the bar to order but they did deliver the food to our table. I had the pulled pork sandwich with curly fries. Sandwich was excellent, the fries a little too well done. Men in our group were disappointed that they do not sell the common beers, I do think they are a brewery so that makes sense. They want people to drink their beers, no problem with that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunloverfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickel's Pit BBQ also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Nickel's Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing