We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks, Gorgeous View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gorgeous View Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks, Gorgeous View!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is our first post here on tripadvisor although we rely on reviews here all the time. We are so happy to have found Gorgeous View Motel through this website. To keep it short and simple, Gorgeous View exceeded our expectations. Check-in was simple-- we got an email with our room access code, and we just entered the code, and we were in business. There was a basketball net and ball set up for my boys to decompress after a long ride. Then they were so psyched to find drinks and kid-friendly snacks in the refrigerator.
The name speaks the truth: the view is gorgeous. The rooms are simple and practical, and the beds have the softest sheets ever. Really. We returned from dinner to find that Stephanie and Allen had set up a fire and S'MORES! fixings for us. This experience has inspired my six year old to want to go camping. We're embarrassed to say that we somehow failed to bring the fixings in for the night as requested, but we hope the owners know how much we appreciate their hospitality. The boys were already missing the hotel as we traveled on to Niagara Falls.
In sum: super clean, quiet, family-friendly and comfortable. We hope to get back there!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loretta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Gorgeous View Motel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi Loretta,
Thank you so much. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. No worries about the tote! Boys and camping ... just sort of go together. Have fun. Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    31
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
60
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just perfect place! Got there pretty late and after a long drive this was everything you could ask for. Peaceful, clean, cozy and easy to find. A place I can easily recommend and where I would gladly go again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarnots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Gorgeous View Motel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi,
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Gorgeous View Motel. Especially glad to hear that the rooms feel cozy.
Have a great summer,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Clean, nice view, new facilities, comfortable beds, perfect services with non-person self management. Reasonable price. I'll select and recommend to my friends in the future. Thx Allen & Stephenie :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexMa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Gorgeous View Motel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi Alex,
I'm glad that we were a good fit for you. Many thanks for the recommendations.
Kindly,
Stephanie and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A truly wonderful experience! I love this motel - small (8 rooms), quiet, and family owned. The view of the lake is indeed gorgeous. The rooms are large and spotless. They are equipped with flat screen TV's, small fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. The fridge was stocked with some snacks should you need them.There is a propane grill and a fire pit and sitting areas too. We arrived on a Thursday in October and the weather was beautiful. Thursday evening Alan, the owner, came over & introduced himself and then built us our own personal fire in the fire pit. The deer were out in the clearing. Just magical. If you are ever in Watkins Glen you MUST stay here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The view really is gorgeous. But even better than the view are the owners - Alan and Stephanie are very friendly and welcoming, they make you feel like you truly are their guest and they want you to be as comfortable and happy as possible. The room was very clean, spacious and nice. The bathroom was pretty large and very clean. There were complimentary snacks and juice in the refrigerator. They have a bbq/picnic area, and firepit with chairs (and they'll provide you s'more fixings if you want) for all to enjoy. They have a basketball hoop and ball. We were up early the morning of our departure and Alan was outside already; not long after I saw him our receipt was left on our doorstep with a personal note on the envelope. Many personal touches, very accommodating.........definitely a terrific find! Highly recommend to anyone visitng Watkins Glen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Gorgeous View Motel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Trish,
Alan's grandmother gets the credit for the name! She named it way back in the 1950s. So glad you enjoyed. Next time, I hope you have a s'more.
Alan and Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'm not sure what else I can say that hasn't already been said. A truly wondeful experience. Our room was spotless. Super friendly and caring owners. Great view. Super nice, friendly, personal touches like the personal note on the envelope for our receipt. Microwaves and a small refrigerator in each room. Modern, LCD TV. The fridge even comes stocked with complimentary juice bags, danish, cinnamon buns, fruit and pudding cups. There is a propane grill and a fire pit and sitting areas too. When we pulled up after dinner in town last Friday night, Allan was tending to the fire in the fire pit. A few minutes later he left and several ladies came over and sat around the fire chatting. Stephanie came over and asked them if they wanted make S'mores. That would never happen at a chain hotel. Do yourself a favor, do the local economy a favor, do a local family a favor and stay here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Gorgeous View Motel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Jim and Trish,
Thanks for taking the time to share! We are enjoying the fall season and are glad you had a good stay!
Stephanie and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

After staying at several different motels over the past 12 years we found the gem of Watkins Glen. The view was indeed gorgeous but that is only part of it. The owners Stephanie and Alan treat all of their guests as family. They did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. The rooms are large and spotless. They are equipped flat screen TV's, small fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. The fridge stocked with some snacks should you need them. I told them when we left they are stuck with us now because we will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Gorgeous View Motel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you next time. Have a great fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,180 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#9 of 9 in Watkins Glen
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchor Inn And Marina
Anchor Inn And Marina
#6 of 9 in Watkins Glen
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Motor Inn
Glen Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Watkins Glen
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorgeous View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorgeous View Motel

Property: Gorgeous View Motel
Address: 3355 State Route 14, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9717
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience our amazing view of Seneca Lake, our stellar customer service, and our clean, comfortable, newly renovated rooms. Open all year, the Gorgeous View Motel is only minutes from one of New York's beautiful state parks, local shops, and attractions of Watkins Glen. We offer families, business travelers, wine lovers, race enthusiasts, hunters, fishermen, and nature lovers of all kinds, a truly pleasant lodging experience four seasons a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gorgeous View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing