We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”

Garcias-Mexican-Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 43 Restaurants in Watkins Glen
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Baldwinsville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I go to Watkins Glen every year for our Anniversary. We decided after a long day at the wineries we had to eat something. Mexican is one of my favorite foods so we went there for dinner. The staff was friendly. I ordered a strawberry Margarita. They have different sizes so I tried a medium since I drank wine all day. When it came out it was huge. I told the waitress I would hate to see the large. Very good Margarita , I can't wait to go back and have another one. We tried the combo appetizer. It was very tasty. I had a chicken chimichanga for dinner and my husband had a burrito. Both items were delicious. Big portions for everything, plus they give you chips and salsa when you sit down. I wouldn't say it was gourmet food by any means, but it tasted great and we can't wait to go back this year. The atmosphere could be a little nicer ,but overall very good. I recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweets1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ah! Mazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on another site- I was kind of skeptical about coming here- I am a local- and I have had mixed reviews from word of mouth. My mom and I wanted something different to eat not the usual mom and pop diner but didn't want to drive to Elmira. I have to say I was very impressed! My waitress was an absolute sweetheart! Great service! This being my first time going to a mexican restaurant, I had no idea what to order so she was so sweet and helped me pick out what I would like. My food came out at a timely fashion- and I was so pleased. Yummy food- nice atmosphere, when I read how much the dip was I was a little surprised but after eating it- I would pay $6 for it! It was too die for! All and all it was a great night- I packed up my dip and she gave me a bag of HOMEMADE tortilla chips for the road. Very impressed. I will be coming back! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Colecolunio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkins Glen, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Telemundo”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Unless you want to watch Telemundo while eating "average" Mexican, don't go here. Atmosphere is "off" - not sure what it is, but it just doesn't have the right "Mexican Restaurant" vibe. No music was playing in the background. Food is average, but their margarita's saved the evening.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LynchDome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“garcias”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had very good food here. The price is great for the value too. It is compareable to the other Garcias in Cortland and Ithaca

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank merlinsmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fast and Good but not Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Had a older male waiter who didnt know the menu well and seemed a little impatient. The food came out accurately and tasty. Got a picture of the house margarita which was a good deal for the 3 of us and tasted good. Ambience was pleasant and clean. Parking lot is ridiculously tiny but our big minivan did fit :). Would go again and just hope for a better waiter/waitress.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoyntonMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garcias-Mexican-Restaurant also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Garcias-Mexican-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing