We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My worse experience ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn

Budget Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Budget Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“My worse experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I made reservations a week ago, and was quoted a price for two nites at $60 per nite, but when we got there the other day, they doubled the price to $120 per nite. This class of hotel is not worth $120 per nite, more like $65 per nite. It's very small, and has no features. Worse of all, all other hotels in the area were full, so I had to stay one nite. The next day I moved 20 miles down to Corning, NY, and found a beautiful place for $130. The manager at the Budget was a horrible [--], and wanted to kick us out for complaining. I wouldn't recommend this Budget Inn to my worse enemy. I have never before been so angry from a bad hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
16
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent one night here while roaming around the area. Property was clean and so were the rooms. There is a fairly new Tops across the street that has a very nice deli. A well stocked package store was next to the Tops. There is also a family restaurant a very short walk up the road. We didn't personally try it but neighbouring rooms had good comments. The property is very close to Watkins Glen State Park which is a must see. Also don"t miss the falls at Montour Falls just a few miles south from the motel.
The motel itself is as the name suggests budget but it fit the bill for that night. It is situated at the south end of town on a fairly busy road so road noise is an issue during the day but we found it was quiet from about 10pm to 5ish the next morning. Being an early riser this was not an issue. We found the staff to be friendly and had no issues at checkin or out. As I mentioned the room was very clean as was the bathroom. Our room had a fridge and microwave while our friends just had a fridge. Luck of the draw perhaps? My only issue and I'm being picky here is you have to go to the lobby for coffee as the rooms had no coffee makers. A bit of a pain for we early birds but not a deal breaker. The breakfast was basic but again enough to get you going in the AM.
In short I would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinerbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was a toss up between Budget and another hotel for a quick getaway in Watkins Glen. Based on my telephone conversation with the Budget front desk alone, I declined to book there. Curt attitude, heavy accent, almost unintelligable, 2 word answers, smoking only rooms, then a rapid-fire phone number followed by "call my cousin next store - he has rooms".

Um, no thanks. Can't underestimate the power of a first impression. Maybe it's unfair to judge based this, but Budgets' management deserves to hear some feedback.

We'll see if the hotel where I did book - with a helpful and friendly first impression over the phone - lives us to their reputation once we stay there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diver4comm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Watkins Glen hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

There is nothing distinctive about this property but the rooms are clean and the owners are pleasant. They offer a limited continental breakfast. We could not get Wi-Fi in our room, but could get it in the office. TV included HBO. There was a fridge in the room.

Watkins Glen is a little town. This hotel is just fine for the area, especially if you are there for a short stay. Short walk to the entrance of the State Park. 10-minute drive to the NASCAR track. Dunkin Donuts down the street. Ice cream parlor next door.Grocery store and a few family-run restaurants nearby..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3booths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, we booked 2 Queen bdrm, extra person charged $10/day which is reasonable. Our room has microwaves & fridge, which we don't need it actually. Hair Dryer is installed in the washroom. The shower stall is pretty new and clean. The parking lot is newly paved, lots of beautiful flower baskets hanging in front of the Inn. The staffs are friendly. Simple breakfast (included for the whole Summer) with some fruit, bread, muffin, mini waffles, coffee, tea bags, & orange juice but no milk. Tops supermarket & gas station just right in front of the Inn. The best part is Watkins Glen State Park is just 700 meter (5 mins walk) from this Inn. It will save you $8 for parking fee. P.S. One thing you might not like it is the house keeper might spray strong air freshener into the room after cleaning. Everything is good to me except the air conditioning, it blows bad smell air.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LYDIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed one night while in Watkins Glen. Nellie at the front desk (maybe the owner) was very friendly and helpful. Our room was small, but very clean. The bathroom was very nice, apparently recently updated. There was no fridge or micro in our room. Our traveling companions did have a fridge and micro in their room. There are hair dryers in the rooms. There is an ice machine. The Wi-Fi is good. The breakfast was good with some fruit and a waffle maker. There is a grocery store across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioDave_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for one night when we found ourselves in town a day early. It was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean. They had Internet service and a little breakfast. They did not have refrigerators but they did have plenty of ice. The locations is very good, an easy walk into town and a few nice restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
10.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#6 of 11 in Horseheads
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Glen Motor Inn
Glen Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
3.2 mi away
Longhouse Lodge Motel
Longhouse Lodge Motel
#6 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
5.9 mi away
Golden Knight Inn and Suites
Golden Knight Inn and Suites
#1 of 2 in Rock Stream
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Property: Budget Inn
Address: 435 S Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1528
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Watkins Glen
Budget Inn Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing