We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very close to Watkins Glen State Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Budget Inn

Budget Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budget Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
TORONTO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very close to Watkins Glen State Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, we booked 2 Queen bdrm, extra person charged $10/day which is reasonable. Our room has microwaves & fridge, which we don't need it actually. Hair Dryer is installed in the washroom. The shower stall is pretty new and clean. The parking lot is newly paved, lots of beautiful flower baskets hanging in front of the Inn. The staffs are friendly. Simple breakfast (included for the whole Summer) with some fruit, bread, muffin, mini waffles, coffee, tea bags, & orange juice but no milk. Tops supermarket & gas station just right in front of the Inn. The best part is Watkins Glen State Park is just 700 meter (5 mins walk) from this Inn. It will save you $8 for parking fee. P.S. One thing you might not like it is the house keeper might spray strong air freshener into the room after cleaning. Everything is good to me except the air conditioning, it blows bad smell air.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LYDIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed one night while in Watkins Glen. Nellie at the front desk (maybe the owner) was very friendly and helpful. Our room was small, but very clean. The bathroom was very nice, apparently recently updated. There was no fridge or micro in our room. Our traveling companions did have a fridge and micro in their room. There are hair dryers in the rooms. There is an ice machine. The Wi-Fi is good. The breakfast was good with some fruit and a waffle maker. There is a grocery store across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioDave_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for one night when we found ourselves in town a day early. It was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean. They had Internet service and a little breakfast. They did not have refrigerators but they did have plenty of ice. The locations is very good, an easy walk into town and a few nice restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonville, NY
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went to Fingers Lakes for the Wine Festival. Had a reservation in Horseheads until we found it was a good 30 minutes away. We checked a few hotels for same day arrival and found the athe Budget Inn suited our needs. The bed was firm but comfortable, the room was simple with a king bed and private bath and most importantly, it was clean. Our biggest complaint was that the tv often "skipped around" with the picture and sound not so great. The hotel offered a simple continental breakfast with descent coffee to get us on our way in the morning.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the parking lot and the main road going into town. Consider this if you are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMaMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight on a 4 day motorcycle ride. Front desk lady was very friendly and helpful. Room was your regular motel room size, but the appeal here is the extreme cleanliness and impeccable upkeep of the property. Located about 12 blocks from "downtown", it is still close enough to be practical and far enough to offer reasonable rates. When I looked at a number of properties in Watkins Glen, most others were almost double the price. Seeing what i got here, I don't know why I would have spent that much anywhere else. Nice find. Good diner for breakfast right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fearlessbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hubby and I were in town 2 nights for a wedding. The owner and his wife were polite and helpful. We had a pleasant stay. The room, bed and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Loved that the bed was firm and not mushy like some motels. We got a good night sleep. Coffee and a bite to eat in the morning at the office. It's a convenient location. It's an older motel but it is well maintained and the parking lot is well lit. Some might be bothered by the noise because it is on the main road but we didn't seem to notice it when in the room. Other guests were friendly. Has wifi and mini fridge. Hope to come up in the fall to do the wineries and would stay here again. Good value, not overpriced like the 'big' hotel down the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were not expecting a whole lot from this place but we got great value and a pleasant stay. Our room was neat, clean, and comfortable. Excellent shower. Good "expanded continental" breakfast. We found the manager helpful and accommodating. There was some road noise but we weren't bothered by it. Recommended for a simple, clean place to stop on a trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilsonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
10.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watkins Motel
Watkins Motel
#6 of 17 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.2 mi away
Longhouse Lodge Motel
Longhouse Lodge Motel
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonial Inn & Motel
Colonial Inn & Motel
#9 of 17 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Property: Budget Inn
Address: 435 S Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1528
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Watkins Glen
Budget Inn Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing