We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Wine Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seneca Lake Wine Trail

Seneca Lake Wine Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,576 reviews
720 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“A Delightful Wine Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The drive around Seneca Lake is about 65 miles with vineyards (and a few breweries) spread out along the way.The climb out of Watkins Glen on both sides of the lake opens up to some spectacular views, especially on a bright, sunny day. The challenge is to find time to taste the wines while enjoying the scenery. It will take two days to do the trip justice although a full day will give you a flavor of the beauty of both place and wine. The best strategy is to choose your vineyard stops with care and take time to enjoy the views. (A designated driver is a must!) The Finger Lakes are well into the process of raising the quality of their wines with established vintners setting the stage for meeting national standards of excellence. However, the whites are still the best with dry Reislings at the top of the list. Semi--sweet and sweet wines are good as well. The reds still need further cultivation to compete with California, Washington and Oregon wines as well as those from abroad. Tasting is the key to choosing so don't be shy about asking before buying. As in all wine areas, the prices are above market so don't be shell-shocked when you buy. You will come back to Seneca Lake!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    90
    17
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
613 reviews
344 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Unexpected large number of wineries and breweries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were in the Finger Lakes to visit the Corning Glass Museum and the Watkins Glen State Park. On our way home we decided to drive north from Watkins Glen on Rt 14 along Senaca Lake. We were astounded to find the huge number of wineries and breweries along the lake. There must be 30-40 on the west side of the lake alone and a similar number on the other side. We stopped to sample a few and we had a enjoyable lunch with our tasting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Radmrjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the 6 hours road trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a great region! People in the Finger Lakes are so welcoming! And the wine is very good (great selection of whites, especially). The winery owners are exceptionally friendly. We will definitely be back. And best of all, most wineries are dog friendly, so your (well- behaved) dog may join you will you are tasting some great wines.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveling-Phoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Now with Beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

My family rented a house on Lake Seneca over the 4th of July 2014. I have been to Napa and Italy, but drink wine occasionally. I liked the laid back feel of the area. A couple of things I noted:

1) The wineries are typically open from 11am to 5pm. Some stay open a little later, but the intent is to get you to a bar or restaurant in the evenings.
2) You can drive from winery to winery easily. So, are very close, but they are every 3-5 miles around the lake. It is a 65 mile round trip around the lake, so plan to work one end or the other. There were also folks who ride bikes, but the roads are only 2 lanes.
3) Some Wineries are right next to the main roads near the lake, but I prefer the ones up the hill that have a amazing views of the lake.
4) It was not too crowded, we could always get a place at the counter even during this peak week.
5) Most of the Wineries focus on sweet/dessert wines. I overhead many people really enjoying the fruity and very sweet wines. Not for me.
6) The best wines that the area can produce based on the climate are Northern European white wines - Reislings and similar (I found after a few tastings of the wines, that I gave up - grossly too sweet).
7) I am a beer guy and really like all the breweries. I was two miles for Climbing Bines and would stop their before they closed to fill up a growler each day. Beautiful place and kid friendly with Corn Hole and a 9 hole disc golf. Beer was good, the SP2 was our favorite - good summer brew.
8) Abandon Brewery by Penn Yann was in a converted barn - great beer especially their Belgiums
9) Miles was servering beer from other breweries, nothing that they made themselves

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank bmantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
193 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Relaxing Drive and Gorgeous Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This wine trail is great! Most places were a great experience but the only complaint we have is that they ALL close so early! It's a beautiful July night, the sun is out til 9pm and it was the weekend of the wine festival. Nothing at these places were going on.. some acted like they didn't know about the wine festival and they all closes by 5pm or 6pm. Unreal. They should have had music, specials, excitement!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seneca Lake Wine Trail also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Seneca Lake Wine Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing